60% Reviews
replied to
86% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


30 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Chequers Motor Company
Leave a review

30 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Chequers Motor Company
Leave a review
"One of the best dealers out there!"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

One word - brilliant. I would not hesitate in recommending Jonathan and Chequers to anyone. Jonathan is a rare kind of dealer who seems to actually enjoy all aspects of running a fantastic car dealership, he is not just after a sale and the whole buying experience was very laid back - there was no pressure to buy at any point. He provides a fantastic experience for his customers. The vehicle was reasonably priced and decided to part exchange by current vehicle at the same time, completely hassle free. I went to view the car - it had a small dent and failed the MOT on one front shock which I was made aware of. Jonathan had already booked the car in to get the dent sorted and discussed replacing both shocks with the garage, most other dealers would have taken the cheaper option of replacing just one. I will certainly be back when we look to change cars again, and have already recommended Chequers to a few friends. 10/10!

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Jonathan May from Chequers Motor Company in response to One of the best dealers out there!

Thank you Steve for our 5 star review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the Chequers experience. The Golf ATC is an awesome car and will service you well. Thank you for taking the time to review our business and for the friend recommendations.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Highly Recommended, Family Business 5*"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a car from Chequers Motor Company in November and wanted to wait to see what the car and their service was like. I called and dealt with the owner Jonathan and he sent me a personal video of the car I was interested in. In the video Jonathan pointed out things, he thought I may be concerned about. Being happy with the vehicle I then arranged to click and collect the car from the Chequers office in Four Marks a few days later. Jonathan arranged a contactless collection for me and the car was very clean and better in reality than in the video. Before speaking to Chequers I was amazed by so many excellent reviews over such a long period, I had a good feeling these guys were good eggs! and I was right. I work as a carer and with current times being very stressful these guys made it stress-free to change my car and the reliability of my car is really important. It’s a great car I love it! and I will be back to Chequers. Thank you :)

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Jonathan May from Chequers Motor Company in response to Highly Recommended, Family Business 5*

Sean, It was lovely to meet you and to have the pleasure of your business. Thank you so much for our 5 Star Review and kind words, In these difficult times with social distancing and keeping things as contactless as possible we are glad you enjoyed the experience and the car. Stay safe Kind regards Jonathan May

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Had to go to Court to get my money back"
2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

After collecting the car, I reported all five faults within 24hours. Jonathan agreed to pay for all of them but then chose to avoid paying for the expensive repair once it was done. Went to court 8-months later and I got back all my repair and court costs plus interest (around £860). Although the judge agreed with me fully, so much aggro could have been avoided if Chequers fulfilled their legal obligations from the outset but I guess Jonathan thought I wouldn't have taken it that far. My advice to anyone dealing with this company is to keep all correspondence handy as I had to rely on all of it when we went to court. SID

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful

Jonathan May from Chequers Motor Company in response to Had to go to Court to get my money back

Thank you for reviewing our business from your purchase in 2019. We are disappointed that you have decided to leave such a negative review and that you've not been either fair or factual about what actually happened. Accordingly, I would like to correct some of your points. Mr Dajani purchased a Chrysler Voyager 2012 from Chequers Motor Company in November 2019. He did not, as stated in the review, collect the car from our offices; rather, my wife and I personally delivered the car to Mr Dajani at his home in Andover. Two days later, Mr Dajani emailed me to complain about three items: a chip in the windscreen, which I assured him had been repaired and he accepted; a loose trim, which Mr Dajani volunteered to glue; and a non-functioning lane departure warning light, which came on a door mirror. The fault was due to the driver's mirror having been replaced with a standard mirror (i.e. a mirror without departure warning) and would have cost £590 to replace. I gave the option to Mr Dajani to return the car and receive a refund. Instead, without checking with me first, Mr Dajani authorised a garage to replace the mirror with one fitted with lane departure warning technology, and sent me the invoice. I declined to pay the invoice on the grounds that I had not authorised the work to be done. Mr Dajani subsequently raised a small claim in February 2020. Mr Dajani's claim was for £741.91, including all court costs. It was approved by the court ONLY on the basis that the car had been incorrectly listed as featuring “lane departure warning”. The delay in obtaining judgement was not due to any inaction on my part but by Covid shutting down business during lockdown and the court deferring the hearing until August 2020. I paid the agreed amount in full within 24 hours of the small claims court judgement being issued. This file - less any GDPR sensitive information - is available to any customer who wishes to look at it backing up my statement. Since I started Chequers 10 years ago, my ethos has always remained the same: be transparent, be honest and be fair. I have always stuck by these core beliefs. I understand that I’m not always going to keep every customer 100% happy but we really do try -- and the number of five star reviews on this and other customer review sites are testament to that. Even during a pandemic, we have jumped through hoops to keep our customers satisfied and our family business alive. In this case, a customer has been fully compensated for an incorrect advert description, and measures have been put in place to prevent this happening again. Jonathan May Propietor

Sultan Dajani in response to Had to go to Court to get my money back

I asked Mr May for a refund or a repair and he agreed to all repairs including the blind spot assist. At first Mr May denied he knew the car was advertised with Park Assist (had to forward him his own advert), then on the 29th Nov. 2019 he said it was non-repairable. 29.11.19 (by email): "Thank you for your email Sid, I have looked into your concerns and the windscreen has had a repair byautoglass. I have looked at the Bindspot message online and it appears that there is a lot of concerns on thissystem failing due to water damage in the control panel which is behind the front bumper. As it is a waterdamaged component it is not repairable." Finally, on asking for a refund. He agreed for a garage to look at and repair on the malfunctioning heating system, the faulty rear windscreen wiper and the broken Blind Spot Assist. The garage also had to put on a new back seat flap as it could not get glued on. 11.12.19 (email) "Thank you for your email, yes happy for you to book the car with Hendy’s to look into the items listed below.please get them to call me once they have looked at the vehicle." Works were agreed and My May asked me to source a convenient garage near me which was an extra burden to me even though he' agreed to settle the repairs (all on email). Unfortunately the main garage emailed they couldn't get a spare part and so I sourced it from another garage. The judge ruled, it didn't matter about involving the second garage, Mr May had a duty to sell the car as advertised. During this whole dispute I asked for refunds, even during my course of 'Letters Before Action'. But he never acknowledged my request. And although the car works fine now, the rigmarole and then the court action should have been avoided. My advice remains - keep all your emails and correspondences filed and stored safely. It's prudent and if I didn't I'd be out of pocket and with a duff car.

"Great Service "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Very professional and complete service. They really went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable with my car. Totally happy. I had some issues with my BMW i3 after purchase, which they were more than happy to help and advise in any way they could. They really went out of their way to help me through all of the issues. More than happy to make my next car purchase through them!

"A pleasant experience very professional "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I brought a mini cooper s in lockdown and in this difficult time I still received a very professional service and was well looked after. Many thanks to Johnathan and his team.

"Outstanding service & professionalism"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I recently sold a car through Chequers Motor Company and can't say enough good things about them. Jonathan, the owner/manager is incredibly helpful and easy to deal with. He is the polar opposite of what some people might think of when they think about a used car dealer -- he's highly professional, knowledgeable, fair-minded and attentive, and he makes the process of selling a car as easy, efficient and, dare I say it, enjoyable as possible. Jonathan and his wife, Vicky, who also works at Chequers, are also absolutely honest to a fault. I don't often leave reviews but having read a poor review below felt compelled to write one in this case. Based on my own experience, I can't recommend Chequers highly enough. If you're thinking of getting a new car, or exchanging or selling your own, do give them a ring and see for yourself. They will restore your faith in car dealers :)

"Awful experience. Never again"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Beware of these guys. They are rouge traders to say the least. Dealing with Chequers Motor Company was one of the worst nightmares of my life. I bought a Ford S-Max from them and wish I had never done so. When test driving the car I noticed a slight jerking sensation in the automatic gearbox and asked the sales person if the gearbox oil had been changed recently. The answer was "I don't know". He did in fact not know a lot about the car at all. I told him that I would have the car inspected if I'd go ahead with the purchase. Salesman Sam Gunther then assured me twice that I don't take any risk at all, since I had the legal right to return the car within 28 days if there was a technical fault with it. After this assurance I went ahead with the purchase and payed a slightly reduced asking price. One week later I had a full health check undertaken with a reputable Ford Dealer. They changed the gearbox oil and commented that it probably had never been changed before. He informed me that because of the insufficient amount and extremely poor quality of the oil the gearbox had already taken some serious damage and could fail at any time. The expected repair bill was something in the range between £ 3500.00-5000.00. They advised me to get rid of the car a.s.a.p. Confronted with this evidence Mr. May changed his tune instantly. As far as he was concerned, there was nothing wrong with the car and he would therefore not take it back. His way of arguing was rude and impolite, he tried to talk over me and used a very poor language to say the least. After a few more mails his reasoning became even more ridiculous and primitive. Even my English colleagues had problems to understand his illiterate use of the English language. I had no alternative to seek legal advice from a lawyer but it turned out to be too expensive to take the case to court, even though I was legally in the right as the customer under the Consumer Rights Act. I saw myself forced to sell the car with the loss of thousands of pounds. Please be aware of the crooked tactics of the so-called family business of Chequers Motor Company. Their assurances and promises are not worth the paper they are written on. They even managed to fiddle with the government MOT document, something that might be of interest of the office of Fair Trading. Avoid them like the plague and don't fall for their lies.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+9 Found this review helpful

Jonathan May from Chequers Motor Company in response to Awful experience. Never again

On the 16th May 2019 Mr H booked an appointment to view and test drive our Ford SMax Auto a 2013 car with around 50,000 miles on the clock. He and his wife arrived at our office and duly test drive the car and inspected the condition, upon looking at paperwork Mr H asked if the gearbox oil had been changed as he was advised it needs changing every 4 years. We showed him the service book and said we could not confirm if this has or has not happened and said he would need to make his own enquires, to if the gearbox oil has been changed. The car NJ13LDU drove well with no issues hand had an MOT test at an independent garage in February 2019 (3 months prior to selling the vehicle). On that mot test the car passed but there were some advisories which were, both rear trailing arms bushes starting to separate, o/s r, n/s/r & n/s f tyres all were near legal limit (3mm). Mr and Mrs H decided to buy the car as they were going to get the gearbox oil changed themselves and completed the paperwork and drove the car away. A week later Mr H called me and said the car had gone to his local Ford dealer in Oxford for a gearbox oil changed, they have carried out the oil change and upon moving the car from the workshop noticed a “possible noise” from the gearbox. They stated that the car now needs a new gearbox as the reliability could not be relied upon. Mr H wanted to return the car, I have included my response to his solicitor with private info removed. (Our response)   3rd July 2019   Your Ref No.No.xxxxxx Our Ref NJ13LDU   Dear Sirs   Thank you for your letter dated 25th June 2019 with reference to Mr & Mrs H claim for breach of contract on the purchase of Ford S Max NJ13LDU.  Apologies for the delay in responding I have just returned from annual leave on 2nd July.   I can confirm the vehicle was advertised with a fresh service which was done at 50136 miles on 13.3.2019 (Invoice enclosed).  During Mr & Mrs H looking at the stamped service book they asked whether at what points the vehicle has had a gearbox oil change.  We said that it could not be confirmed when the vehicle has or ever had a gearbox oil change, of which Mr H made an enquiry to see what the cost of such oil change would cost.   He came back to say that the cost would be around £300/£400 and that he will get that done himself once he had ownership of the vehicle.  There were no contractual stipulations made as part of the sale as we were unable to confirm a gearbox oil change at point of sale.  The vehicle has had an AA approved inspection (supplied to the customer) detailing no faults and our independent garage also inspected the car at the point of service, also no faults except a comment of N/S/F tyre worn on inside edge and therefore no faults can be disclosed as none existed.  Our customers attention is drawn to the seller’s declaration for their signature.   As explained to Mr H, in my previous correspondence, the Ford Dealer would note a better performance of the gearbox since a fluid/filter change, as they also upgrade the software too.  However, if the technician was unhappy with the sound of the gearbox, why would he carry out an oil change before notifying the customer and wasting £349.96 of the customers money? Saying that there is a possible issue, which is not a confirmed issue, after completing the work and then stating he noticed a possible noise.  The car is functioning as it should and part of my purchase contract with an Assured car, is should there have been a fault upon my purchase, they take the car back and then sell it with a declared fault, upon the report. Hence we only buy cars with these reports (of which we pay extra for). (Report enclosed).   We are not in breach of contract nor has the vehicle been sold with a fault and any claim for refund will not be accepted by us. Any further correspondence from you will now be passed to our legal firm to fully defend.     Yours Sincerely Jonathan May Proprietor  Conclusion If there was a case of breach of contact then Mr H would have been advised to proceed to court, as I would have had to bear all his and my costs on settlement. However this was not a breach of contract nor a fault in supply of vehicle. It can also be seen that when Mr H sold the vehicle another garage has re-MOT’d the car at 51,794 miles in November 2019 with No Advisories. If anyone has a issue with the way MOT’s are approved the named garage can be reported to VOSA to be inspected, we do not own a MOT licence nor would anyone that does be foolish enough to deliberately approve an MOT knowing that their licence can be revoked. We as a company remain to be transparent, open and honest with our customers and take feedback very seriously, I am satisfied that we did all we could in this situation. Jonathan

"Fantastic service"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

We purchased a Volvo V40 Cross Country off Jonathan at Chequers Motor Company in July this year. The service we received was totally professional, efficient and informative. When I first contacted Chequers regarding the car, Jonathan was on his annual holiday but he had left the company in more than capable hands in Robin, who was kind enough to pick me up and drop me off at the Railway Station, which was a bit of a drive away, when i made the journey over to them for the test drive. When we went to collect the car, Jonathan sorted all the paperwork, transfer and even phoned the tax office on our behalf. The whole process from first contact was smooth, efficient and trouble free and the car is fantastic. I would recommend Jonathan and Chequers to anyone looking for a replacement car, if it isn't on his website, still contact him and he will search one out for you. Absolutely 10 out of 10

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Jonathan May from Chequers Motor Company in response to Fantastic service

Pam, thank you for our 5 star review, the Volvo is a fantastic car and very comfortable to drive. I’m also pleased that Robin aided in the seamless transaction for you while I was away. Enabling me to return from holiday and complete the transaction for you. Take care jonathan

"Excellent Service"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I would happily recommend Johnathan. Very honest and reliable dealer. Johnathan as happy to answer all of our questions and didn't put any pressure on us to buy. He was happy for us to test drive our new car and was very attentive to detail as we went through of process of buying. I would highly recommend Chequers.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
"Excellent Service and knowledge, "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I have just bought my 2nd car from Chequers Motors and I am delighted. The service and knowledge from Jonathan is fantastic and he made the whole process extremely easy and completely stress free for me. I also have peace of mind from buying from Jonathan. I would highly recommend Chequers Motor Company.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered
Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered

Dealership Information

Chequers Motor Company is an Independent dealership that is based in Alton. If you’re the owner or employee of this business, please send us a little bit of information about your dealership and why customers should come and visit.

Alternatively, if you’re a customer and you’ve had an experience at this dealership, please leave a review below.

Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
30 reviews4.6 out of 5 stars — Rated Excellent
Excellent
26
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Add Review

View 3 more dealership images

Contact Information

Address

Chequers Motor Company
61 Winchester Road
Alton
Hampshire
GU34 5HR

Get in touch

01962 734377
https://www.chequersmotorcompany.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

86%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
60%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Chequers Motor Company

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information

Working with Car Dealer Reviews

We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £99 per month.

Learn more about how our service works below.

Find out more