20% Reviews
replied to
80% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


5 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for AB Car Sales Ltd

Click on the stars to start your review

5 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for AB Car Sales Ltd
Click on the stars to start your review
"Bought various cars"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Ive bought many cars from here. I have had some minor faults with the vehicles ,but John (sales manager)in fairness has always booked the car into there garage and done his best to sort the problems obviously as a sale based position (probably commission based )I wouldn’t think he or the owner of a independent car sales business would not try there best to sort a problem. WHY WOULD THEY if they sell me a bad car and not help, I would tell my FRIENDS and FAMILY how bad they were, or they could on the other hand Be more than helpful and honest and we, the RETURNING CUSTOMERS, recommend them and purchases MORE CARS .

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
"Excellent "
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

myself, my son, my daughter, my mum, and mother in law have purchased many vehicle and have had a great experience thanks Ab

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful
"Great Cars For Everyone"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I have been using AB Car Sales for buying cars since 2006. My family and I have bought 6 cars in total from them. I find them honest nice people and I've always been happy with the service. Thanks

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+3 Found this review helpful
"PLEASE DO NOT BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE!!!!!"
1.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

PLEASE DO NOT BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE. AVOID!!!!! Please read all of this! I say this because I bought a van from them in September 2017, I write this in February 2018. On the phone they were courteous and friendly and even made a deal with me to drop the price slightly and include road tax. They did state that they don't usually deal in trade vehicles (vans etc) but found this to be a quality van for its mileage and got it from a dealer, to further reassure me of its quality. HOWEVER! Ever since the day after I drove it all the way home to Devon from Barry in Wales, I have had problem after problem. So far it's had wheel bearings on both front wheels replacing as well as one of the hubs for said wheel bearing. Yes, this could be down to wear and tear but myself and my mechanics feel strongly that they put in the cheapest bearings that they could find, knowing that they would soon wear out. After many phone calls to sort this out via the warranty they resolved to send me some money towards the cost of replacing it with a decent bearing so that I wouldn't have to haul it all the way up to them for them to replace it with another cheap bearing again. They clearly avoid cost wherever they can so long as they can get their cars or vans off the lot. After that they couldn't care less and I say this with CONFIDENCE now, because of the next event. The temperature gauge has been going up and down and all over since bringing it home and the heaters subsequently haven't been working at all. I found that all the water had been leaking somewhere from the coolant system so thought it would be a simple fix. But no! It turns out that this van has had NO THERMOSTAT in the engine all along. It had been cut out and therefore bypassed in order to avoid cost of replacing it. This has led to exhaust fumes leaking into the coolant system which has subsequently rusted out parts of the system, blocking pipes and overheating the engine. My mechanic is now having to take the whole engine apart to replace parts and test and check that everything is running as it should. Without this van I cannot run my gardening business and simply don't have the money to replace it or invest in a better one. I had to borrow from family just to buy this van from A B Car sales. So I am now left between a rock and a very, very hard place. Saves yourselves the trouble and DO NOT BOTHER WITH THESE PEOPLE.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+4 Found this review helpful

Antony Beard from AB Car Sales Ltd in response to PLEASE DO NOT BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE!!!!!

Hi Peter I'm sorry to hear you have had issues with the van you purchased from us. I would like however like to point out and raise a couple of questions if you would like to reply. After picking up the van from us you rang us to say that you believe the wheel bearings needed replacing. We offered to book it in and have a look at it for you. Due to the fact you lived in Devon you asked if we would just send up the wheel bearings as a MATE owns a garage and he will fit them for you. We agreed and sent them up. In response to your cheap bearings remark they were obviously brand new and came with a 12 month warranty from the manufacturer. You also said he was going to check the van over at the same time. From that time in September we have not heard from you since until this negative review. The first time we heard of an issue with the temperature gauge is through your review some 6 months later. I have to admit it seems quite ironic that you say it was there from point of sale given the time you have had the van is 6 months and that you have managed to do over 6000 miles in it since purchase!!! You state there was no thermostat in the engine which I find highly unlikely , surely if this was the case your MATE who you took it to check over would have noticed that when checking it over??? You have now added to your review saying you believe the main cause of all your problems was the head gasket being cracked and that the thermostat was removed to hide this. With the greatest respect I have never heard such rubbish being written. If the head gasket was cracked at point of sale you wouldn't have got half way back to Devon and you most certainly wouldn't have covered 6000 miles in the van. The engine would have blown up. Feel free to ask any fitter or anyone with basic mechanical knowledge and they will confirm it. My last question for you is that when your MATE checked the van after you purchased it why wasn't it picked up that it had no thermostat or that the head gasket was cracked. The only reason I can come up with is that the head gasket wasn't cracked and the thermostat was indeed on the van. I feel that your review is totally unfounded and would ask people to read my reply and make there own mind up. If you would like to contact me to discuss further you are more than welcome. Antony Beard

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"MikeP"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Good, friendly service

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

With over 65 years experience within car sales; AB Car Sales Ltd in Barry are not only knowledgeable when it comes to selling cars, but will always provide you with a fair price. The cars that AB Car Sales Ltd sell are fully inspected in their workshop before going on sale and are HPI checked checked.

With stock of over 100 cars including Audi, Ford and Toyota to name a few, you can be sure to drive away in a well priced and safe new vehicle. 

 

Manufacturers: Audi, Ford, Toyota
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
5 reviews4.4 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
4
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

AB Car Sales Ltd
Cardiff Road
Barry
South Glamorgan
CF63 2NW

Get in touch

01446 735555
http://www.abcarsalesltd.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

80%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
20%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About AB Car Sales Ltd

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information