0% Reviews
replied to
63% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


36 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for CarShop Doncaster

Click on the stars to start your review

36 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for CarShop Doncaster
Click on the stars to start your review
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Try to sell you a returned faulty car "
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

As 1 star is the lowest rating I can give, otherwise ZERO or a negative rating will be given. Please stay away from CarShop (Doncaster) branch and never ever do business with them. They will do anything to sell you a car that has previous been returned by a customer and then sell it on at a even higher price with the fault not being fixed!!! This is my long story: On 21/07/2018 (Sat), I decided to buy a car so me and my family went into CarShop (Doncaster) to take a look. After having spoke to the sales person named MARTIN IRWIN, I was shown a car that matched my requirements, we was also told the car is quite dirty as it has only just come in. As the car was a bit over our budget we decided to leave but the Mr Martin Irwin was very pushy and kept on telling us to take a test drive. To be polite we did. After we told Mr Irwin we need to go for lunch as my 5 year old son was getting impatient and hungry, Mr Martin Irwin did not want us to leave and tried to make us sit down to discuss the finance options available. After 10 minutes of persuasion we managed to leave. During lunch we googled information about the car and we did some research on the Mercedes website. We then looked at the advertisement placed on the CarShop website and the specs listed matched those of Mercedes. After some discussion, me and my husband decided we liked the car and decided to go back to see the types of finance options available. We noticed there wasn't one inside the car (which was listed in the specs) so we made note to ask Mr Martin Irwin later. When we went back, we took another look at the car and asked about the ignition push/start button and keyless entry, Mr Martin Irwin told us he has NEVER heard of an ignition push/start button and the only way to start, open and lock the car was with the key. We was shown the finance options available by Mr Martin Irwin's head. They asked for my personal info and did a credit rating score, the result came back to be excellent. They then told me with my credit score, the lowest APR they can offer me was 13.9%!!! That was absolutely ridiculous I can get around 6.9% with my own bank, because of this we decided to leave. Then Mr Martin Irwin joined us and both him and his head both told us that 13.9% APR is a very good and we will definitely not be able to get an APR lower than that anywhere else!! As we was very firm, they then said they can the lower the APR to 12.9%, then to 10.9% and finally to 6.9%!!! So guys please be aware, the APR they give you must be negotiated, otherwise they will trick you and tell you that is the lowest APR they can offer with your credit rating. We then told Mr Martin Irwin we will come back on Monday as we wanted to do some research and sort out insurance first. Mr Martin Irwin then told us, we do not need to worry about insurance as they can provide us with a 5 DAYS FREE CAR INSURANCE so we can drive away today after the financial side has been sorted. As this was quite tempting plus we have another car to P/X, we decided to go ahead with the purchase. Before even the sales was completed Mr Martin Irwin told me to write a 5 star review for him in trust pilot, mentioning his name and also the good job he has done. Mr Martin Irwin was so keen he offered to type in the website for me on my phone!!! Luckily there was a problem with the network and my review wasn't uploaded, this is also the main reason why I am always mentioning his full name in this review!!! I was then taken to another room to sort out my finance. My finance and insurance was handled by a lady called Ms Katarzyna Zajac. In the end, finance couldn't be completed on the same day as it was already 5pm on a Saturday so we was told to come back again tomorrow at 11am. That night like all other people, we did more research on the car. We noticed the ignition push/start button and keyless entry was a standard spec for that car model and both these specs was listed on the car advertisement on CarShop website. Therefore my husband told me I must query on this point tomorrow as he was not coming with me to sort out the car. On 22/07/2018 (Sun) at 11am, me and my son both arrived at CarShop to complete the purchase of the car. The finance side went smoothly but was then told the 5 days free car insurance cannot be given. Mr Martin Irwin then said it was not their responsibility to sort out insurance and it was only subject to T&Cs and a matter of goodwill from CarShop that it may be given!!! They then told me I will have to take the car home and sort out insurance myself, in other words, take the car and bugger off!!! Mr Martin Irwin NEVER mentioned the T&Cs to me and NEVER mention one word that car insurance may not be given!! The main reason why I decided to go ahead with the purchase was because Mr Martin Irwin told me I can drive the car away on the same day without having to worry about insurance as CarShop with provide me with a free 5 day car insurance. I told Mr Irwin I will not sign for the transfer of the car until the car insurance has been sorted. Ms Katarzyna Zajac asked us to settle this matter outside her room as it was not in her area. I then asked Mr Martin Irwin about the ignition push/start button and keyless entry function and again he told me the same thing. Mr Martin Irwin then asked his head to come over as he too owns a Mercedes. It was then proven the car does have the keyless entry function but he also said he has NEVER heard of an ignition push/start button AND HE OWNS A MERCEDES HIMSELF. I then asked him then why is the spec listed on the CarShop website? His reply was the people who write up the specs made a mistake and it should not be there!!!! I then showed him a video on youtube showing the existence of the button but he just didn't want to know. After 20 minutes of arguments, I told them I did not want the car until the insurance and button has been sorted. I was then told they cannot make a decision and was told to come back tomorrow. They then told me it was their day off and they will pass my details to the member of staff who will deal with my case and I should expect a call before noon. Off course, no calls was received and I had to call CarShop myself. My details was never passed on and no messages was left to for the staff to contact me. Again on 23/07/2018 (Mon), we made our way back to CarShop and spoke to the staff in charge. He then arranged our 5 days free car insurance and gave us the ignition push/start button. On 23/07/2018 we drove the car away. The nightmare hasn't finished!!! On 29/07/2018 (Sun), my husband was cleaning the car and to our horror when looked at the car under direct sunlight, we can see the passenger side doors has both been repaired. The passenger roof rails were full of micro bubbles, there is a large amount of primer inside the passenger side door shuts, an over spray on the black gloss panels between the passenger doors, excessive amount of fillers in the passenger doors and bad smart repair made to the rear offside bumper corner. You can imagine how we felt, as we just paid over £20,000 for a car. We sent an email to CarShop immediately asking them to either rectify this fault or give us a full refund. This was done within the 7 days and 30 days period. I spoke to a lady called Lauren Storey and was advised she has received my complaint within the stated period and my case will be forwarded to the Customer Service Manager, Ms Natalie Deere. A message will be sent to Ms Deere and I should expect a call from her on Monday. That night, my husband was speaking to the people on Mercedes forum, with people who also owns a car like the one I purchased, to our horror we ended up speaking to a gentleman who had previously purchased the same car from Carshop (Doncaster) with the same issues!!! He informed us after many weeks of arguments he finally received a full refund for the car just a few weeks ago. The gentleman sent me over pictures of the faults (which is identical to mine) and also a receipt of purchase as proof. Therefore, CarShop (Doncaster) took the returned vehicle and continued to sell it on without rectifying the problems!! They even sold the car to me at a higher price!!! On 30/07/2018 (Mon) morning, I took the car to Mercedes and another body repair specialist for them to inspect the paintwork, both had advised me the job done was not acceptable. Too many fillers has been used and has not been sanded down properly. The micro bubbles in the paint will crack when the cold weather comes and the spray job is done unprofessionally. Later that afternoon, I had to call CarShop to speak to Ms Natalie Deere as again they did not contact me. I was advised to take the car in for her to inspect as the photos of the faults was unclear. Ms Natalie Deere advised us she will show the faults to the prep department and inform me of the outcome. A few days later, Ms Natalie Deere called to inform me a specialist will come over to inspect the car and will give a report to the prep department. On the arranged date, the specialist did not turn up and again another date was arranged. When the specialist came, again we was advised it was an unprofessional job. On 14/08/2018, I received an email from Ms Natalie Deere informing me she will speak to the Head of Business Mr Huw Read on the day about my case and will let me know of the outcome. Of course no contact was made. I called CarShop (Doncaster) every week and left messages for Ms Natalie Deere to return my calls NEVER did she once call me. On 21/09/2018, I called CarShop (Doncaster) and was told Ms Natalie Deere was on holiday, therefore I emailed her asking her whether she has forgotten my case? I received an email back telling me she tried to call me on 01/09/2018 to inform me the they will not accept responsibility for the paintwork. I really would like to know, being a Customer Service Manager, is this the way to end your clients complaints?!!

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
"Bloody terrible "
2.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

CarShop Doncaster didn’t explain anything to me and surprised me when I had signed paperwork with extra costs, cornered me into buying the car when I wanted to call my partner up. Lost the second key for the car, put absolutely 0 fuel in the car. A suggestion would be to supply the same amount of fuel as you give with your part-ex car.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Carshop Doncaster - Absolutely shocking"
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Well, 1 star just is too good for Carshop Doncaster. Where do i start. I have had my car from this store for 2.5 months now. - After week 1, the car started to vibrate on idle - The car is fuelling lean at idle - The vacuum levels in the car are very low at idle - The MPG is very poor So i return the car under the "No quibbles warranty". Heres an email i sent first off the first time i wasnt happy. "Couple of things I would just like to bring to your attention around how the issue and process has developed so far. I’m sure you are aware from probably the conversation we had that so far, I’m not too satisfied. - Car was brought into the shop last Monday for a “Diagnostic”, I left the car for around 1.5 hours from 16.00-17.30. Through that time I left the building and was informed I would receive a call to inform me of the outcome. The call never came and by the time I arrived back at the shop, the mechanics had left. A sticky note was left with the diagnosis on, “possible throttle position sensor”. Possible being the key word - I was then booked in for the following wednesday (9 days later) into the workshop to fix the diagnosis. - I arrived at 9.05 yesterday and the car was booked in, I tried to relay the issues to firstly a gent on the customer service desk, who’s first question before asking anything else, name included was “how long have you had the car”, now I know about the warranty length, but if he would have engaged me by firstly asking my name and history with CS so far, he wouldn’t have needed to ask a question which plainly comes across as “if it’s out of warranty we won’t help”, now that may be an interpretation but that’s how it felt - Anyway, car booked in and keys left with a lady who I tried to leave some information with to help the mechanics further, to which the reply was “we’ve got the information from last week”. Which when we read on, clearly wasn’t the case - Car left at 9.15, with the view that I would be kept up to date of what is happening so I can arrange collection - remembering I live a 50 mile round trip so this does need organising - I left it until 2pm to call - 1st call to another lady on CS, was told they will find out the status and call back, they didn’t. - I called again at 3pm, another lady told me the car was “on the ramps” and she will know more in 1/2 hour, I asked if I should call back, she said “no I’ll call you” - she didn’t - I then called back at 4.15, slightly more helpful as the lady tried to find out what was happening, at around 4.30 I got on the phone to a mechanic, who basically said he had just received the car and hasn’t found out what’s wrong yet and he finishes at 5. So it wasnt on the ramps as above then - This part is frustrating as if the previous Monday was indeed a “diagnostic” they wouldn’t have needed to find out what was wrong. At this point I’m feeling like I’ve wasted a week of both time & effort! - The mechanic was decent and did explain he’s just got the car (it had been with you for 7.5 hours) and he hadn’t had the chance to assess with workload etc etc, we did talk through the issues, analysis and logs I have provided a week ago and did seem keen to get it sorted (apologies if I was teaching to suck eggs) although he was receptive - He said he will pick the car up first job this morning and work through some of the information I have given him to work towards a fix (obviously confidence is low that this will happen at this point) - That’s about how the day went, we then spoke around 5.30 I would appreciate to be kept well informed today on proceedings, when the work has been started, what the “new or first diagnostic” has shown and what the mechanics have done, ultimately to rectify this today with a solution You mentioned the capability to drop the car off and refuel with my loss for the multiple trips so far with zero outcome, this also would be good to be communicated today if possible please -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I then rebooked again, to be told they have found a split it a turbo pipe and the lead time for order would be 3 days. This was a Thursday so Tuesday would be right. Tuesday came, no call upto 3pm so i call them again "The part has arrived but we cant book you in so it will have to be the following Thursday (today) Having had enough by now i just give in and accept it. So i take my car in today for the issue to be FIXED! Guess what, i get the car home, driving symptoms are the same, i check the vacuum and the fuel trims and guess what, they are the same. So in short after 4 weeks since i booked the car in for their crap warranty service its still not rectified and if im honest, they actually do not care The fuel re-imbursement, well it went in with between a 1/4 and empty on fuel, it came back on the last line so practically empty so not only did they not re-imburse, they actually used some more of my fuel! They dont respond to email They fabricate about work being carried out when it hasnt They cant organise lead times They book cars back in when they have free slots in their workshop and basically pass the wait and hassle onto the customer They dont fix the cause of any issues and just hope you will go away They are not interested in having the mechanics speak to you so they can fob you off with the usual customer service jargon This is a branch and possibly a business that is absolutely not to be trusted, do not buy a car from here if you expect you may need some aftercare, it doesn't exist. I shall now be taking this car to a local specialist to do the job properly as carshop cannot do that at all and im not prepared to wait for them any longer. I will also seek advice from trading standards as they cannot be let to get away with such poor service when all a customer is trying to do is protect his 9k asset that clearly does not function as it should. VERY VERY POOR ALL ROUND.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"avoid "
1.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Go somewhere else, once CarShop Doncaster have your money, they're not interested. Bad experience from start to finish.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Be careful "
1.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Don't get gardx, don't get finance with CarShop Doncaster and check the car carefully do a vehicle check.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"wouldn't recommend"
2.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I am happy with the car i bought and happy with the price i paid. The salesman was a bit of a billy but most of them iv ever met anywhere are. The car has had a couple of minor problems which they were happy to sort out. That was three months ago and 5 trips there and back and im still having to ring them up because they have not done what they said they would, they have also lost my wheel nut covers and caused minor damage to my alloy. On my third time back i went to pick it up and asked them what they had done, they told me they have put a new Tyre on and re-balanced the other front wheel which has sorted the steering wheel judder out. It went in for an engine management light. Oh they said. We haven't done that. They were very sorry and to make amends they would drop it off at my house in a couple of days. 8 days later they rang and said the car was ready, i asked about dropping it off they said that would be another 4 days till someone could drop it off. So iv picked it up. Lovely staff member sorted me out, got in the car and half the trim was hanging off. Got em to sort that, only took 5 mins. Got back on the M1 and at 70mph the steering wheel judders. So they haven't sorted it again. I wouldn't mind but they keep being so nice and saying everything is sorted and promising all sorts but there actions say different. At one point i was promised new number plates as the ones that are on are faded and have white lines. I never got them. So id say yes use these but make sure you hold them to what they say. Glad i got that off me chest.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Car shop doncaster"
1.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a car from them, couldnt take it home sunday as there was something to do with finance showing on my car, which was not on my car it was a private plate that used to be on my car. Came back monday to pick up at 3pm, was messed about with paying for the car. Then once paid for was sat in the waiting area for 20 minutes waiting to sign the logbook and get the paperwork. Then sat back in the waiting room for over half an hour waiting for the car to be valeted when they knew i was coming for it.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"AVOID - Plenty of other Car dealerships"
1.4 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

This has to be the worst car dealership we have ever dealt with. We should have learned our lesson last year in January when we bought another car from them with regards to after-sales. The issue that time was not completing servicing and maintenance tasks up to the manufacturers recommendation because "They aren't the manufacturer". More fool us for going back a second time, however we will be seeking out alternative garages for our future purchases. We went into Carshop Doncaster in January 2018 to look for a second car, due to a change in work circumstances, meaning we needed two cars again rather than one. We just wanted to look around the showroom at our leisure but they wanted to know what car we wanted what price etc etc as soon as we walked in. We had no idea what sort of car we wanted, we just wanted to look, but apparently that wasn't allowed. We made it clear we wanted to look alone, to get an idea of the size and design we wanted, so instead of being accompanied, we were closely followed at a distance of around 10 feet. When we wanted to discuss personal financial information, we felt this was a bit invasive. Eventually we found one that we liked, which was a Volvo V40. This met our price and size requirements. We took the car out for a test drive, however it was dark and raining. As soon as we drove the car, the clutch made a loud noise every time it was used. After asking the sales women (also in the car with us) what the noise was, she answered that it was because it's been stood a while and nothing to worry about. When we got back to the showroom we had a very quick look around the car, as we felt very rushed due to the fact that she had 'arranged' for us to speak with a financial member of the team to go over the purchase details, and he was waiting at a desk. We could not really see the full condition on the outside of the car due to it being rather wet outside. On the inside however, we did notice a big rip in the seat pocket and we pointed this out the sales women, who advised they would get this sorted. As we were happy with the car from what I could see at the time and happy that the rip was going to to repaired, we continued with the purchase of the vehicle. They went through all the normal sales process, getting the order in place and asking if we wanted GuardX, which we politely declined. The next day we got an email saying they have paid and we can collect the car. After phoning to check to make sure, we collected the car and drove it away. The car continued to make the same noise all the way when setting off in first gear, and we also noticed that the rip had not been repaired. As it wasn't raining that day, I could easily see 2 big chips on the windscreen, one on the drivers side that looked liked it had been poorly filled in and then another on the passenger side with lots of cracks of it that had not been. I phoned up the next morning to inform CarShop of these issues. After many phone calls backwards and forwards, they couldn't find anything that stated that they had agreed to repair the rip, and their answer was just "The cars are priced Accordingly." That is fine, as long as we had been made aware of this earlier in the sales process. As for the other issues, they said that they would need to take it in for a full diagnostics test first and then they will look what they can do. Initially they wanted to charge me £85 for the privilege, but then back tracked and offered to 'waive it as a good will gesture, as we had only just got the car'. Throughout the whole repair process, however, it was implied they were 'doing us a favour' by fixing the car rather than, as we saw it, repairing the damage that should have been put right before the car was sold. We were given a courtesy car when we took our car in, and they told us 'we do this as a good will gesture; we don't have to give one out'. Later that day, we were told that it would take over a week to repair and that the courtesy car we were using needed to be returned due to the fact that our car was somewhat driveable. Irritated, we returned it to collect ours, to find that when we got there, it was on a ramp with no clutch in it - they had started work and neglected to tell us this. Another 40 mile round trip with a wasted evening, with no apology or fuel provided as they stated "we don't offer that as a company". We appreciate it's a used car (as they kept saying) but if we were told something was going to get repaired prior to purchasing the vehicle we would expect it to be repaired. At the point of collecting the car, after they repaired the clutch, we made it clear that we weren't happy that they had back tracked on what was agreed and asked for this to be sorted. They advised me that an option they could look at is that we could reject the car and choose another one but they would need to unwind all the finance and then go through applying for finance again, waiting days for them to process and impacting searches on credit files as well as hidden fees for milage etc. which makes a mockery of their 'Hassle Free' swap service. Overall I do like the car and if Carshop could change their operating policy to include the same aftercare as they put into their sales experience, they would have got 4 stars from us. The main issue is the attitude after purchase, which feels like 'It's your car now, so it's your problem'.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
"Be careful! "
2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Be careful when buying from this company. Don't buy warranties as you can't read T'S and C's til you've bought them. And the Gardx protection is a waste of money.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Wouldn't go back there..."
2.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I am not happy with my Car. I have had it for a few months and I have had numerous issues with it which Carshop have been useless with. I have had to have the tracking re aligned and I have had issues with the clutch and and the door trims. The service has been very poor and I wouldn't recommend.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Free Car Valuation
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Free Car Valuation

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

CarShop Doncaster is an Franchise dealership that is based in Doncaster. If you’re the owner or employee of this business, please send us a little bit of information about your dealership and why customers should come and visit.

Alternatively, if you’re a customer and you’ve had an experience at this dealership, please leave a review below.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Franchise Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
36 reviews3.5 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
18
Very Good
5
Average
4
Poor
7
Terrible
2

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

CarShop Doncaster
Trax Park Decoy Bank South
Doncaster
South Yorkshire
DN4 5PD

Get in touch

01302 590666
https://www.carshop.co.uk/

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

63%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
61%
Thought the dealer was knowledgeable and helpful
61%
Thought issues were resolved quickly and easily
0%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About CarShop Doncaster

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information