21% Reviews
replied to
68% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


69 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Dace Motor Company
Leave a review

69 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Dace Motor Company
Leave a review
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Great customer service"
4.8 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I purchased the car remotely (Jaguar XF), never done this before. Dace provided lots of photos and Dan was good enough to do me a walk around video of the car. i did the same for my Part Ex, had the car dropped off and my car picked up as we were in lockdown and I couldn't travel to pick the car up and I live quite a distance away from the showroom. it arrived bang on time as agreed. there were a couple of issue with the car but Dan always answered his phone when I called and he dealt with any query quickly. I have read some of the other reviews and I honestly cant say i have experienced any of these issues. Overall I cant fault Dan's or the company of how they have dealt me from the initial sale to the post sales process. I probably wouldn't use a drop off service again, but that's just me as I'm sure Dace would have sorted the small issue before it arrived on my drive if I had seen the car in the flesh and had pointed them out. Defiantly would recommend Dace for a future purchase.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
"Not great customer service "
2.8 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I went looking at a car (Skoda Octavia) a couple of weeks ago and was eager to do a deal on the day. The sales man didn’t at all seem interested in selling the car. Found the experience awkward. Would have made a purchase otherwise. Ended up buying the car from a different place.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Dace Motor Company from Dace Motor Company in response to Not great customer service

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we’re sorry that you felt that your experience was a negative one. You came to view a stunning Octavia, which you agreed was immaculate. It was also the best priced Octavia in the country. We had several customers all wishing to view the car and so we declined your request to reduce the car further. That you put yourself in the position where you wouldn’t buy it unless we discounted it further, was the only reason your situation felt awkward to you. After you left, the car was sold by the same sales executive less than 3 hours later. This is now the second negative review you have posted about your experience and that fact alone should tell any readers more about you than it will about us. It just seems a little like sour grapes from someone who didn’t get his way? Also, you posted this 2 weeks after your experience during a National Crisis? We hope that you find your toys and successfully return them to where you threw them from soon.

"Great service "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Dear Jason & Mike Costumer care ready good,returned my car after three days for some scratches on the outside of the roof,no ifs or buts it my fault. Dace just carried out the work within in one hour Great service and thanks again Thanks Malcolm

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Poor Buying Experience"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Overall - proceed with caution here. I recently purchased a car from Dace Motor Company in Stockport and had it shipped to Ireland. I was unable to see the car due to COVID-19 and there in lies my first mistake. The car was not as advertised. When the car arrived I noticed bodywork damage and that it had been involved in an accident. Unfortunately for Dace, they left in the car, an auction condition document stating its condition as “below average”. None of this was disclosed to me in their advertisement or interaction with the sales team. The car now needs repairs costing £1000 which I am doing and paying for myself as Dace Motor Company won't take responsibility for. I did get the car inspected prior to purchase in really bad weather and the inspector missed the damage. Mistake number 2. I have had multiple discussions with Dace and we go around in circles with no conclusion. Overall, a poor experience and not at all customer focused and no they are not interested in reaching a compromise. Again, proceed with caution on purchasing here. I do not recommend. Do not expect to have good after purchase care and expect to argue over any post sales issues.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful

Dace Motor Company from Dace Motor Company in response to Poor Buying Experience

Thank you for taking the time to leave the negative review that you threatened us with if we didn’t paint your car. You missed out mistake number 3. That when you leave an unjust negative review, the Dealership has the right of response and can inform anyone reading of the truth. You paid for a company of your own choosing to come and appraise the car before you purchased it. They, like us thought it was a lovely car for its age and mileage and reported this back to you. How on earth have we done anything wrong? The fact that you choose to have completely unnecessary cosmetic enhancements is your decision. Ultimately the blame for the situation is yours. Surely you know yourself better than anyone else does? It can’t have been a surprise to realise that your own expectations were ridiculously unreasonable? You knew this about yourself before you employed a company to examine the car? You should have either bought a car based on your own viewing or ensured that you employed an inspector from a company called ‘absurd expectations are us’ or something similar. We pride ourselves in the very things that you choose criticise, but unfortunately no attentive or helpful level of aftercare would not see your car repainted.

Barry McCarthy in response to Poor Buying Experience

Jason, as always, in any situation there can be interpretation of the facts and then there is the truth. Anyone reading your response and tone can make their own assessment and decide if they feel it’s customer service centric. I will simply restate my point of view - for any prospective buyer, proceed with caution and expect this type of interaction post purchase if you have a problem and do not expect resolution.

John Di Paolo in response to Poor Buying Experience

Just bought a car from Dace car supermarket today & can throughly recommend both the service I received from the sales team & also the vehicle that I purchased which was competitively priced compared to other dealers nationwide John Bexhill East Sussex

"be careful when buying"
1.8 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

my experience in buying a car was not that good, anyone who is going to buy from them, check the car out fully, i purchased the car a few weeks ago and drove off happy, after getting home i realized the radio needed to be coded,so i looked for the owners manual to see if the code was in there, and no it wasn't ,also never used parking sensors on test,and now find those dont work, loads of calls to dace, only thing they paid for was radio code, so i have to pay to sort out the 2 other problems READ THEIR WARRANTY to see what is [AND NOT] covered spend you time checking everything works,it will save you time and money once you drive away,its much harder to get things done,

Dace Motor Company from Dace Motor Company in response to be careful when buying

Thank you for leaving a review KR. We are sorry you feel that your experience with us wasn’t a very good one. After looking through our systems we are struggling to find anyone with the name or initials KR, because of this it will be difficult for us to do a detailed response of your visit to us. Please do get in touch with myself directly to discuss your concerns. I would like to comment on a couple of things though. We give our customers enough time to go through the vehicle and check everything is in there and working to your satisfaction, this way we are able to rectify anything you may have picked up on before your collection date, even customers who are driving away the same day have plenty of time to go through all of this and raise any queries with their salesman, before driving off. Regarding the Warranty, when the paperwork is being signed a Warranty booklet is provided for you to be able to see what is and what is not covered under our Warranty. Kind Regards, Jason Birch, General Manager

"Tracy"
1.4 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Would not recommend! My daughter saw a car she liked they said she couldn't pass for finance but then came back with a more expensive car and high finance, due to her lack of experience she signed high monthly payments £385 a month and now after 2 yrs she cannot exchange car or get a cheaper monthly payment with Dace. 🤬

Dace Motor Company from Dace Motor Company in response to Tracy

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Tracy. You are correct your daughter did buy a car from us back in 2018 and unfortunately due to her poor credit rating at the time, she was passed with one of our sub prime lenders who do charge higher interest rates because they are financing a higher risk customer. Your daughter has again applied with us recently and unfortunately her credit report this time was worse meaning the finance company had asked for a parental guarantor (yourself) however due to your own poor credit rating that subsequently weakened the finance application and we now have no other options for obtaining finance. We would invite yourself and your daughter to check with a credit reference agency, either Experian or Equifax and they should be able to guide you both in repairing your poor credit file moving forward. Thank you again, Dean Norcliffe, Sales Manager, Dace German Car Centre

"Avoid this company "
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

We bought a Vauxhall mokka which had problems from the start ,they did provide a courtesy car ,car went into their garage but was then worse , it was then condemned as unrepairable, we then swapped it for a Vauxhall Astra from dace but that also had problems with the clutch ,we are now left with a possible hefty bill from Vauxhall themselves as local garages won’t deal with it, we have been very let down and will not deal with this company again AVOiD

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+4 Found this review helpful

Dace Motor Company from Dace Motor Company in response to Avoid this company

Firstly, thank you so much for leaving a review, although not entirely positive. Your review does highlight the fact that we provided you with a courtesy car , we then attempted to fix the vehicle, unfortunately the repair wasn’t in the interest of both parties due to the diagnosed fault. Because of this we offered you a change of car, which you’ve had a few minor issues going forward, i would like to state that we did resolve these in a timely fashion. Please may I offer my sincere apologies on behalf of Dace Car Supermarket. Sometimes things can go wrong but as you can appreciate, it is how you put things right. Christian Turner Sales & Finance Manager

"Avoid this seller "
1.6 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

We had an agreement for a car,they made me put 500£deposit assuring me that is fully refundable(Mike agent) They ask me to sign agreement and they didn't explain cause and terms .In the mean time my car finance company they didn't accept the car conditions(many mileage). Jack -manager told me he will look for an another lender...after theyr own finnace company they refuse to accpept my EU driving licence(really shall we talk about rasism now??) .More then 72 hours after ,i have no proposal for finnance even they said they will propose me something ,,im asking for a refund ..they refuse to do it.The manager even dont wana call me i ask to speak with him couple of times. Total Cowboys..They create a situation to have a reason not to refund my deposit... Never trust them !!!

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+4 Found this review helpful

Dace Motor Company from Dace Motor Company in response to Avoid this seller

Thank you for taking the time to leave a negative review Adrian. I just want to clear a few things up. Firstly, we never forced you or any customer to leave a £500 non-refundable deposit, we ask for this once the customer confirms they want to purchase the car. We also have a copy of the signed invoice which states very clear that once the car is invoiced off that deposits are non-refundable. For you to comment on racism, well this is something I strongly disagree with, I just stated a fact that the finance company I tried with won’t accept EU driving license, in fact the new car you have bought using car finance is actually illegal if you haven’t now got a UK driving license. I wish you all the best with your new car purchase but it wasn’t something I was willing to risk our high reputation by breaking the law just to sell one more car. Jake Clark, Business manager.

"Appalling....Stay well away!"
1.4 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Well! I thought I'd found a car dealership I could trust, I was wrong. Having initially bought a BMW Z4 with a lovely 3 month warranty in late December from salesman Simon, a pleasant, easy car buying experience which left me with the feeling that these guys are customer focused and I'd even started recommending them to friends and colleagues. Fast forward to February and the Engine Management Light comes on so I phoned Dace and as Simon wasn't available I spoke to a colleague of his who's name, regrettably, I didn't record. I was pleasantly informed that I could take the car to a local mechanic to save the drive to Stockport and get it diagnosed and then report back to Dace as I was within the warranty period. Unfortunately as we know, the coronavirus situation and lockdown took hold so I wasn't able to get it diagnosed until June. Having got the diagnostics and the repair quotes I phoned Jason ,who I believe is the manager, for advice on the next steps. Jason informed me that it was eligible for a warranty repair as the issue was logged within 3 months but without proof of the initial fault being raised it'd be difficult to go forward, alluded to my claim being dishonest but that they record all of their phone calls so It could be investigated. Perfect I thought, I can get the exact time and date of my initial phone call from my mobile phone provider so emailed Jason with all the information proving the call took place because of course all calls are recorded by Dace. Unfortunately Daces recording of this phone call mysteriously vanished into thin air/got deleted, even though I had proof I'd phoned them on 19th Feb and Simon was pushed into the firing line to explain this to me and seemed embarrassed about having to awkwardly peddle the tale of the missing phone records. Of course, no phone record, no warranty to pay for the work to the car. I know times have been hard and financial targets need to be met but this just left me feeling disgusted in a company I had badly misjudged to be a decent one for the sake of a repair bill. I actually told my partner that this would happen, she said don't be so cynical. Well I can only advise that cynicism is the best way to approach this used car sales outfit. At best incompetent, and worst fraudulent.

Dace Motor Company from Dace Motor Company in response to Appalling....Stay well away!

Thank you for your review. I am not based at the branch that you have been dealing with, so must apologise that this reply is formed largely from the information contained within your review. Firstly, I’ll be honest, an alarm did ring when I read that you claimed to have reported a fault on the 19th February, but cited a lockdown that was not imposed until the 23rd of March as the reason you didn’t act until June. However, then I recalled our last month, prior to lockdown. We began restricting movements and services and we were operating, like everyone, under a constant cloud of worry. I completely understand why Management at Reddish sought further proof of your phone call, but on reflection, I also understand why you did not act sooner to have your car fixed under warranty. May I also add, that as with every phone recording system I have ever encountered, we do have breaks in reception and recordings. These can be down to system breaks with our service provider, internet efficiency and we also have a manual override which pauses recordings while sensitive information such as payment details are taken. Any of these are plausible reasons that your call was not recorded and I am satisfied that this happened in your case. As such, I believe that you called to make a claim while your car was under warranty and I believe that we should have attended to you accordingly. To this end, please accept our apologies and if you would like to recontact your Salesman at the Reddish branch, he will either organise your repair, or reimburse you for any work you have had carried out, that we should have attended to ourselves.

Michael in response to Appalling....Stay well away!

EDITED REVIEW! Due to the response of Dace motors after my initial review I have edited my review to take into account the way my complaint was eventually recognised, investigated and dealt with retrospectively in an efficient and impressive manner. It takes integrity to admit to an error, apologise and find a solution to the issue. Having initially bought a BMW Z4 with a lovely 3 month warranty in late December from salesman Simon, a pleasant, easy car buying experience which left me with the feeling that these guys are customer focused and I'd even started recommending them to friends and colleagues. Fast forward to February and the Engine Management Light comes on so I phoned Dace and as Simon wasn't available I spoke to a colleague of his who's name, regrettably, I didn't record. I was pleasantly informed that I could take the car to a local mechanic to save the drive to Stockport and get it diagnosed and then report back to Dace as I was within the warranty period. Unfortunately as we know, the coronavirus situation and lockdown took hold so I wasn't able to get it diagnosed until June. Having got the diagnostics and the repair quotes I phoned Jason ,who I believe is the manager, for advice on the next steps. Jason informed me that it was eligible for a warranty repair as the issue was logged within 3 months but without proof of the initial fault being raised it'd be difficult to go forward, alluded to my claim being dishonest but that they record all of their phone calls so It could be investigated. Perfect I thought, I can get the exact time and date of my initial phone call from my mobile phone provider so emailed Jason with all the information proving the call took place because of course all calls are recorded by Dace. Unfortunately Daces recording of this phone call mysteriously vanished, even though I had proof I'd phoned them on 19th Feb and Simon was pushed into the firing line to explain this to me and seemed embarrassed about having to the tale of the missing phone records and the fact his hands were now tied regarding paying for the repairs because of this but dealt with the situation with sincerity and consummate professionalism. Of course, no phone record, no warranty to pay for the work to the car. I know times have been hard and financial targets need to be met but this just left me feeling disgusted in a company I had badly misjudged to be a decent one for the sake of a repair bill. I had the repair work done independently and footed the repair bill myself but was surprised to receive an email from higher up the chain of command at Dace saying they'd looked into my claim and believed I was treated unfairly, that takes integrity. I was advised to contact Simon to see what could be done about reimbursing the cost. I'll admit to being slightly cynical at this point, I needn't have been. Simon took the details of my repair work and withing a day or two I received a payment from Dace after some efficient and dedicated behind the scenes work from Simon. My initial review on here wasn't a good one but thanks to that man Simon and the ability of Dace to recognise and apologise for their error, which they weren't obliged to, I've happily edited it to reflect the dramatic change in my opinion.

"Over promise/ under deliver "
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Once you’ve purchased a car from Dace Motor Company and driven it off the forecourt, they couldn’t care less. I’ve had minor issues since purchasing the car including it making a noise when reversing, an engine management light leading to the need to replace a part and a lost tow bar key (sold with the car). Dace haven’t been interested and I’ve ended up having to deal directly with Land Rover to sort out all of the above. Really poor service and I’ve got better things to be doing than chasing sales people several times (James) who over promise and under deliver. Disappointing. Take better care of your customers.

Dace Motor Company from Dace Motor Company in response to Over promise/ under deliver

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I’m sorry your experience has led you to leave a negative one. Having discussed the matter with your Sales Executive, he has shown me numerous messages that he has sent you regarding his attempts to resolve your tow bar key, the most recent you replied to suggesting that you would try going to Landrover. There was certainly no sign of a lack of interest or communication on his part. All the same, we wish you well with your lovely car.

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Car Leasing Deals

Zuto Powered
Car Leasing Deals

Zuto Powered

Dealership Information

Boasting over 500 used cars within their stock at any one time Dace Motor Company are a large used car dealership. Selling cars throughout the Manchester and Stockport area they will have cars from big name brands such as Mini, Lexus, Fiat and Ford within their showroom. Alongside this they also offer part exchange and finance from their premises.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Franchise Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
69 reviews3.7 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
42
Very Good
4
Average
4
Poor
9
Terrible
10

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Dace Motor Company
Greg Street
Stockport
Cheshire
SK5 7BS

Get in touch

01614777056
http://www.dacemotorcompany.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

68%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
21%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Dace Motor Company

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information

Working with Car Dealer Reviews

We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £99 per month.

Learn more about how our service works below.

Find out more