25% Reviews
replied to
91% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


58 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for David Stockton Specialist Cars

Click on the stars to start your review

58 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for David Stockton Specialist Cars
Click on the stars to start your review
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Excellent service"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I recently I wanted a simple way to dispose of my Landrover Discovery but I didn’t want to to advertise it myself. A friend of mine recommended David to me as someone who could help. After a telephone call David pick my car up to prepare it for sale, he cleaned it, repaired it and photograph it before offering my car for sale on his website and social media. A short while later he had someone who wanted to buy it and the money was in my bank, simple. Thank you David Stockton Specialist Cars for excellent service.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Highly recommended"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Thank you David for the lovely Audi. It’s exactly what we were looking for and we are delighted. Also being able to part exchange our old car made things easy for us! Would recommend without hesitation.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"First class"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

David Stockton was great to deal with and great quality car.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Vehcile not as decribed"
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Simply terrible, I had specifically told David Stockton Specialist Cars it would be a family car and I wanted it to be reliable and was told it drives beautifully and he was sure I'd be happy with it! Couldn't be less happy with it! Timeline as: 10/9/18 – Found the car I was after, dealer David Stockton looked and seemed reputable from online investigation 10/9/18 – explained the car was for my family and requested confirmation the car was good – was told “I can however tell you this car drives perfectly and is in beautiful condition. I’m sure you’ll be delighted with it!” 10/9/18 – Explained I had an old Mercedes GL for part exchange that webuyanycar.com showed around £4750 as value but I was happy with £3500 as part exchange, Stockton agreed. 11/9/18 – Requested car come with new MOT which Stockton agreed to and did and charged me £50 for! 12/9/18 – Stockton delivered vehicle and explained the radar controller had failed on the journey and he had decided to continue and deliver to me with the understanding he would pay for it to be resolved. 13/9/18 – after driving the car for less than 100 miles, “drivetrain” error appears and this was reported to Stockton with a request for a full refund if unfixable 13/9/18 – have local garage download error codes for drivetrain and send to Stockton 13/9/18 – Stockton tells me he had attpemted a repair of the radar unit (contrary to what he had told me when he delivered it) and then suggests if I'm unhappy with my purchase I swap for another vehicle 4 years older – explain “Hi David, would just like the 750 rectified. I’m happy to get our local garage to do it but you would need to cover the costs or just refund the whole £22,500 and collect the car?” 13/9/18 – Stockton requests BMW specialist look at car for diagnosis but not to instruct repairs 13/9/18 – Wants me to invoice him the £120 for fault diagnosis so he can claim VAT 14/9/18 – BMW specialists charge me £78 for investigation which I pay 15/9/18 – Specialists reports the hoses need re-fitting correctly as lose in engine and pressure convertors need replacing 17/9/18 £280.01 paid to me towards costs of hose re-fitting 25/9/18 – Stockton arranges Ebay purchase of replacement radar unit delivered to me 25/9/18 Advised Stockton Radar unit supplied as replacement not working and requested £250 contribution 26/9/18 As repair contribution not forthcoming I suggested refund and collect vehicle 26/9/18 Stockton suggests I pay for repairs for trade-in vehicle Mercedes GL then would refund BMW purchase price and collect it! Clearly I have no idea what he has actually spent on the vehicle I part exchanged and he bought as seen 26/9/18 Suggest Stockton collect and refund purchase for vehicle 27/9/18 Stockton suggests he will pay £65+VAT towards BMW Specialist investigation of radar fault 28/9/18 Stockton suggests that “If you can take it there, I'll pay BMW Specialist(hopefully 1 hr), and it should be sorted. If not I'm happy to give you a full refund.” 4/10/18 Advised Stockton that BMW Specialists unable to rectify Radar fault as specialist main dealer equipment required 5/10/18 Stockton advised car booked at main dealers for 30/10/18 for radar fault 9/11/18 Advised Stockton that BMW Main Dealer unable to repair and needs to be sent to another main dealer for repair, requested confirmation Stockton would pay for costs 9/11/18 Car horn fails and sounds each time I turn right in the car - Requested re-imbursement for car horn failure (£263.99) and radar repair (£319.68) 12/11/18 Stockton advised “I hoping you'll understand I cannot agree to pay these bills, particularly taking the GL (part-exchange) situation into account” 13/11/18 Stockton advised he will pay just £144 as contribution for repairs 13/11/18 Requested by me from Stockton “As I have already paid more than that please credit that and let me know your thoughts on the further repairs necessary or just let me know if you want to collect the vehicle and refund me plus £144 plus costs to remove and re-register the number plate?” 13/11/18 Stockton suggests he will pay just £144 as contribution, I reply “No, I require full refund oplus the £144 towards the radar fix that I have already paid and the costs to re register back to its original plate. Let me know when you will do that and I will park the car up ready for your collection.” 16/11/18 Stockton advised me “Morning. I'm hoping to get things resolved ASAP. I'd be happy to send you a payment towards repairs if we can agree on a reasonable figure. Alternatively if you are requesting a refund, in order to proceed please send me a copy of the invoice given to you at the time and also a photo of the odometer reading at today's date. I've requested this from local garage but nothing has arrived.” I do not have the copy of invoice! 16/11/18 I advised Stockton of fuel line failure (Local garage suggests we are lucky the vehicle did not catch fire) – Stockton calls local garage to see if they can just wrap the fuel line!!! Thankfully the local garage refuse as Stockton's suggestion is a dangerous repair. I request the local garage repair with new fuel line. 16/11/18 Invoice paid by me sent to Stockton for fuel line repair (£533.00) - Stockton does not pay 16/11/18 Odometer reading picture sent to Stockton as requested (reading 26,630 miles) 16/11/18 I advise Stockton I do not have copy of Used Car Sales Invoice as Stockton requested (don't believe he left me with one) 19/11/18 Stockton advises: “I'm sorry you're disappointed with the car. I did offer you a refund on the 27th September but it would appear you have carried on driving it since. (he did not offer a full refund) If you would like a refund please return it within the next seven days with no more than 27,000 miles in total. As it has clearly been in regular use, I reserve the right to deduct a reasonable amount to account for the mileage you have accrued since purchase, to be calculated using Glass's Guide or similar. This offer is based on the understanding the vehicle is in the same condition as when you bought it. If it is not, then again a reasonable amount to be deducted to allow for remedial works. I will in addition pay the amount of £140.00 as previously agreed for the coding and calibration works. Your comments are noted regarding the Mercedes GL. As I have already spent almost £4000 on it and it's currently back at the garage requiring more essential repairs then I am obviously not prepared or able to return it to you, but instead will repay the amount allowed for it in the contract. In accordance with my terms and conditions, as previously explained to you I am not prepared to be held liable for the cost of work or repairs you have instructed elsewhere without my knowledge or authorisation. Unless explicitly agreed otherwise (in writing), as clearly stated on your invoice in bold red letters claims for returns or repairs shall only be considered subject to return and assessment by vendor's engineer. Please advise when you intend to return the car. Regards” 19/11/18 I request: “Assuming same condition as when purchased from you, small reduction for mileage allowance, please advise total refund offered subject to the above reductions?” 20/11/18 – Reply from Stockton: I'm sorry you're disappointed with the car. I did offer you a refund on the 27th September but it would appear you have carried on driving it since. If you would like a refund please return it within the next seven days with no more than 27,000 miles in total. As it has clearly been in regular use, I reserve the right to deduct a reasonable amount to account for the mileage you have accrued since purchase, to be calculated using Glass's Guide or similar. This offer is based on the understanding the vehicle is in the same condition as when you bought it. If it is not, then again a reasonable amount to be deducted to allow for remedial works. I will in addition pay the amount of £140.00 as previously agreed for the coding and calibration works. Your comments are noted regarding the Mercedes GL. As I have already spent almost £4000 on it and it's currently back at the garage requiring more essential repairs then I am obviously not prepared or able to return it to you, but instead will repay the amount allowed for it in the contract. In accordance with my terms and conditions, as previously explained to you I am not prepared to be held liable for the cost of work or repairs you have instructed elsewhere without my knowledge or authorisation. Unless explicitly agreed otherwise (in writing), as clearly stated on your invoice in bold red letters claims for returns or repairs shall only be considered subject to return and assessment by vendor's engineer. Please advise when you intend to return the car. Regards 23/11/18 – I request again for the £144 contribution to be paid As yet no reply…

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Jay"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Got a range rover from here top class service highly recomended david Stockton cars

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Great car very happy"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

We recently bought a Range Rover evoque from David Stockton , very happy with the service and the car . Would highly recommend

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Honda crv"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Honest and upfront about the vehicle from the start no pressure sale gave us time to decide good price really pleasant transaction would definitely recommend David Stockton Specialist Cars and use again. Thank you.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Great Service from a friendly dealer"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

From the start David Stockton Cars were upfront and told me all about the car, including any defects, scratches etc. The car itself was and is, superb, I love it to bits. Very friendly and straight guy, I would definitely buy from him again, and I would definitely recommend him to anyone I know, knowing they would not be disappointed. It's like a breath of fresh air to deal with a car guy who doesn't try to pull the wool over your eyes, that's why I was also upfront and told him about any defects the car I was trading in too. Top guy, not much more to say than that : )

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Audi A8 4.2Tdi Quattro"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

David Stockton Specialist Cars made buying my new car effortless, from the first phone call to driving away, the vehicle description in the advert was accurate, every question I asked over the phone was honestly answered, such a pleasant, honest and trustworthy chap to deal with, not your usual car salesman!!! I highly recommend David Stockton Cars to everyone, and when the time comes, most likely I’ll buy from him again👍

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
"Awesome!"
4.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

David takes care of the details for the cars and makes sure they are right for you. Communication is amazing.

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

David Stockton Specialist Cars are based in Lytham St Annes and cover the Lancashire area. This independant used car dealership sells cars throughout the different models and makes including Mercedes-Benz and Volvo. This dealership also offer part exchange on your curent vehicle.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
58 reviews4.7 out of 5 stars — Rated Excellent
Excellent
52
Very Good
1
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

David Stockton Specialist Cars
Marine Drive
Lytham St Annes
Lancashire
FY8 1AU

Get in touch

01253 737709
http://www.davidstockton.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

91%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
25%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About David Stockton Specialist Cars

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information