65% Reviews
replied to
58% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


168 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Eddie Wright Car Supermarket
Leave a review

168 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Eddie Wright Car Supermarket
Leave a review
"brilliant from start to finish"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Brilliant stock of cars salesman stuart very helpful, found car bought car reasonable payments

"Brilliant Experience"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Top notch again 5th car from Eddies always easy to deal with and as always fantastic prices, keep up the good work guys and thank you to Mark who made the whole process like clockwork 5*

Aysia Gazi-Wright from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Brilliant Experience

Hi Steve, Thankyou so much for leaving us such a great review! Customer satisfaction is really important to us, so it’s good to see we are getting it right! Enjoy your new car!

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Full of lies"
2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

If you don't want to be lied to on every step dealing with this company, avoid it like a fire. One of the worst companies I have ever dealt with in the UK (if not in my whole life). I would strongly advise anyone against buying anything from them. I passed my test in 2016 and was going to buy a car. My colleague advised me to buy one from Eddie Wright as that business had something to do with his father, so he told me he would help me to get a better deal. And I regret it so much. Having entered the building at first it looked like a nice atmosphere and friendly staff inside, but later you realise that the company is completely filled with lies. It's just soaked with lies from its core and you can discover lying in every small detail of this company. A salesman approached me and helped me to choose the car, after that we discussed the deal and my colleague managed to get a low interest rate with them for me. Next week I called them to ask when I could pick the car. That same salesman said he was going to give me a callback a bit later. I waited for quite a while, then called back myself, he said he tried to call me back but wasn't able to reach me. He obviously lied, but it didn't bother me that much at that point. So I bought train tickets from Liverpool to Scunthorpe and went to pay the deposit and get my car. After arriving there and reading through the documents I discovered that they raised the interest rate there. I asked: "Didn't we agree on X?.." (don't remember the exact number now), "No, we agreed on Y, nice and low" that salesman said (telling me a number that is quite a bit higher than what we had previously agreed on). It still wasn't a bad interest rate per se, but i just find that disgusting that we agreed on one thing, and now that i'd travelled 100 miles he tells me it was something different, as if I was a fool with a bad memory. I still accepted that (shouldn't have done really, but I really wanted that car, and after having travelled all the way to Scunthorpe i decided to just go for that). Also, as I remember, that salesman told me that the car had a cruise control which it didn't. My name was spelled wrong in the documents, I told him about that and he said, never mind they already fixed that (turned out they just spelled it wrong again, just in a different way. They didn't even bother trying to spell it correctly). I asked them about vehicle manual. That same salesman told me that the car doesn't have a manual because this is all online now. Which I don't think is true, as MINI later offered me a manual, meaning that there should have been the manual when i purchased the car. He also told me the vehicle was taxed when I asked him so I could just drive it home. Turned out it wasn't taxed (the tax is actually free for the vehicle, but i still had to tax it on the DVLA website, otherwise it's not classified as taxed). Maybe he misunderstood me or didn't check it carefully, but I find that really bad as it could get me in trouble. I called them a few times clarifying the things about the car, as it was my first purchase and I didn't understand how these things work in the UK. Once when I called them they actually laughed at me on the phone (another salesman -- probably forgot to mute the microphone). I'd also bought gardx from them, but unfortunately forgot my pack on the desk. I called them and asked about that, that original salesman I was dealing with all the time told me it's not a problem -- they will send it to me by post. Obviously after all of that I didn't really expect they would xD and they didn't. That salesman is probably the greatest liar I've ever met. Honestly he was the perfect example of a liar. Everything he was saying was a lie. Me and my brother are still joking about him -- when something is about a lie we say that he must be involved in that. Few of my relatives bought a car after that and if Eddie Wright wasn't a company that doesn't care about the customers, I might have considered buying a car from, but obviously I wouldn't consider that after all the lies i've gone through. To be fair to the company I still have to say that the car was probably a good value for money and was sold to me in good/clean conditions. The interest rate was also quite good, but not what i was originally promised by the company -- which i think was really unfair to me... Changing the detail we previously agreed on right before the purchase. So because of all these lies surrounding me everywhere while i was dealing with them, i would never recommend this company to anyone

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Aysia Gazi-Wright from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Full of lies

Good Afternoon, After reading this review it has come to our attention that it has also been posted by yourself on Facebook, Google and twice on Autotrader. Your car was purchased in 2016, so unfortunately 4 years later this review is extremely outdated and does not reflect the company correctly now (2020). Please refrain from posting your review anymore or again on other sites, otherwise we will have to take further action. Thank-you.

Vitalij in response to Full of lies

Hi Aysia Gazi-Wright. Thanks for your reply. i wanted to post the reviews few years back, but struggled to find the time for it. And I did specify in this review that I bought the car back in 2016, so the readers can see that the review is out of date now. However what I wrote it's still the truth about what i was dealing with in 2016 when i bought the car. And by saying that i won't get any compensation as the purchase was made 4 years ago, you admitted that what I wrote was true. So I don't think I did anything wrong by telling about my experience. I also mentioned the good things about Eddie Wright, like vehicle cleanliness and that it was quite a good value for money, I was also happy about the interest, but I am unhappy that it was changed in the last moment when I was to sign the contract, and about other lies I was told. I really hope that the service has now improved. If you want, I can make it more clear in my review that it applies to 2016 rather than current time.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Excellent service, no pressure. "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Have just purchased a car from this dealership & have nothing but praise for the whole experience. Our questions were answered professionally by Mark H & at no time did we feel under any sort of pressure or stress. A totally enjoyable experience. Mark was beyond helpful, so easy to chat to & any issues we had were dealt with professionally & pleasantly.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
"Would not recommend terrible after sales"
1.2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I purchased a car from the scunthorpe branch sorted the finance etc. It was agreed and planned that I would collect the following Saturday, when collecting I asked whether the SD card had been put back in for the sat nav and was told this would be locked away by the service department and they were not in on a Saturday and that this would be posted out to me assured it would be with me by the Wednesday. The service book had also not been stamped following them servicing this as part of the sale. There had been a week to arrange all of this and yet not everything was ready I was asked to return to have my service book updated the following Saturday- which I did and yet although this is what Stefan the sales rep had arranged with myself they were unable to stamp the service book as there was no one there to do so I was given a print out of what had been done, asked about the SD card again and Stefan acted surprised we had not received this said it would be chased. Now several weeks have passed, numerous phone calls have been made and emails sent to chase this up with them each time we were lied to that this had been posted and was on its way, they would post another as it had not. My husband then spoke with the Manager and told him he was coming in to collect this, which he did this is a further 50 mile round trip again for something that should have been ready in the first place, as I was at work with the car we purchased when we both returned home we tried the SD card and it did not work!!, I do not expect to pay almost 18,000 for a car and not have a working sat nav - Still unresolved!!!! The car was Serviced and MOTd at the branch prior to collection and it appears the locking wheel nut was not put back onto the front drivers wheel. I also feel that it would have been beneficial to have a sales rep who knows about cars as I would have been able to question features of the vehicle Stefan openly admitted he knew little about cars - Its evident that they push for a quick sale as they did with us the usual - this APR will only be available today (to later find the overall APR was 7% not 3.8) and that what happens once you leave the forecourt is of little interest to them. It has always been my experience when purchasing a vehicle that the sales rep was required to read through the optional extras and had to make you aware of what they entailed to ensure that if you refuse to take these out what the implications are and that there is a set period you have to consider this information and this was not done either. I will not be revisiting when I purchase my next vehicle and can imagine that they do not have many return customers. I am really disappointed by the hassle that this has been and continues to be.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Aysia Gazi-Wright from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Would not recommend terrible after sales

Good Afternoon Laura, Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to your review. If you wouldn’t mind contacting aysia.gazi-wright@eddiewright.co.uk with your contact number and email, we shall endeavour to resolve this situation for you. Many Thanks

"**THINK TWICE BEFORE HANDING OVER ANY MO"
2.2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I would like to share my experience to prevent anyone else get tricked out of their hard earned money. My wife and I were treating ourselves to a new car after a hard few months working as keyworkers, my wife being a nurse and myself a firefighter. I got a quote from Luke on a car we both loved and placed a deposit pending the sale of my car. I was assured by Luke that this deposit was fully refundable and he even offered to email me a confirmation of this.This was never received - first red flag. Over the next few days, it was very hard to get a hold of Luke - second red flag. After two days I finally got a hold of him very briefly and informed him that I would be down on the Thursday to collect the car, this was on the Saturday. He said this was fine and that he would pick me up from the train station. On the Monday, I had questions about the car however I struggled again to speak to Luke. I left a list with a colleague and asked him to email me the answers. Luke did email, but not with the answers. He emailed me asking what the deal was again as he was unable to get on to the system - third red flag. After two very short emails I had to try and get in contact with him again on the Tuesday confirming the collection date was still going ahead on the Thursday - fourth red flag, I was putting the graft in to buy a car, surely that's his job. I then received an email from Luke stating "it will not be this Thursday" and had sent me a quote which was more that the original quote. The initial deal was with 6.4% APR the new quote was 7% APR - baring in mind I had paid a deposit based on the original quote - fifth red flag. I emailed straight away enquiring why it wouldn't be Thursday as I had arranged to have my car sold on the Wednesday and I needed a car for the weekend. I also asked if not Thursday then when can it be, still waiting for a reply to this - sixth red flag. Eager to find out as I didn't want to sell my car on the Wednesday and be without a car I tried to get in contact with Luke again, I tried phoning him 3 times. Each time I was assured by his colleague that he would have Luke phone me back. This didn't happen. On the Wednesday I tried calling again. Still not available to talk, I was forced to cancel the selling of my car and cancel my train tickets down. Luke phoned me back a good few hours later and I informed him I could not go ahead with this sale as I had to cancel my appointment to sell my car due to his lack of communication and that I wanted my refundable deposit back. He stated this was fine and that he would arrange this, when I asked if he needed anymore information from me to complete this transaction he said all my details would be on the system. 8 days have now passed and I still haven't received my deposit. For the past 5 days I have phoned on average 8 times a day, i have spoken to numerous people who have said they would look into this and would get back to me, I haven't had any contact from them. I have also tried to speak to a manager for the past 2 days, to be told someone would call me. This has not happened. I have been forced to speak with trading standards and the ombudsman as I'm physically unable to speak to anyone as they simple will not speak to me. No one is ever available to talk to me and they have never gotten back to me.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful

Richy C in response to **THINK TWICE BEFORE HANDING OVER ANY MO

Resolved! I had a bad experience with my deposit but after speaking to mark and Matthew this issue was quickly resolved and I was told my deposit will be in my bank on Wednesday. Thanks

"Avoid need investigating "
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Sold me car stating under kia warranty, 3 months after purchsase nitging but problems and not covered under warranty as bit service history missing, went to eddie wright sales manager Steve said he would look into it with Luke who sold me the car, that i WOULD NOT pay nearly 10 grand with no warranty, tried severak times to contact Steve who would not speak to me i went in to customer service Luke doesnt even wirk there so Steve bare face lied, tbey have not taken one but responsibilty for miss selling me a faulty car, they emailed me a copy they had showing car not covered under Kia warranty needless to say i had NEVER that copy. TOTALLY SHOCKING COMPANY THAT SELL CARS BY GIVING FALSE INFORMATION car cost me a fortune within first 5 months off buying it. TOTALY RUDE IGNORANT sales manager. Also on service by Edfie Wright they put wring oil in as confirmed by Kia but again said nothing to do with them even though i had the paperwork to sjow they put wrong oil in, i also had to pay to resolve that aswell, My daughter also bought car same time with full mot stating new tyers, 1 burnt out in fist week garage said put on wrong also exhaust no good had bodge job on it, AGAIn Eddie wright would not take any responsibilty.

Aysia Gazi-Wright from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Avoid need investigating

Good Afternoon Angela, We have read your review and apologise if the situation has caused you stress but we would like to clarify certain points in your feedback so the situation is clear… We never advertised the car with manufacturers warranty, that is why the three month warranty would have been registered to the vehicle. Eddie Wright have a policy in which every customer has the opportunity to extend the warranty, but some customers do choose to decline this. We did not advertise the car with full service history either, it has a very good service history the last service was done at a garage in Gainsborough 2 months before you purchased it. We did check the car over before the sale as it was not due for a service. We hope this does clarify the situation. Many Thanks, The Eddie Wright Team

"Avoid!!"
1.6 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I haven’t even had the car 7 months and driven less than 2 thousand miles, and already I have visited Eddie Wright 4 times regarding problems with my Audi A1. First of all, I was sold the car with good faith and full intentions of it having bluetooth. Once handing over the car, I find out it does not and I had to pay £200 elsewhere for this to be fitted privately. Then, the car started with a clicking noise when braking. I returned to Eddie Wright to sort the problem and I left with even more problems than I initially went with. I called Eddie Wright immediately to book an appointment to come back in, due to my car making more rattling noises and was told a lady would ring me back. I was left for 2 days with no callback until I rang again and demanded another look over the car. Once returning to Eddie Wright, I have now been told the problems with my car are not covered in my warranty and I need to pay them or take it elsewhere to be fixed. The quality of aftercare I have received has been unprofessional, time has been wasted and a lot of running around for nothing, over the past few weeks. I am very disappointed with the service I have received, after putting so much trust in the business at the beginning, to find me the perfect car. I would not recommend buying a car from Eddie Wright or having any association with any of their services. They are very quick to sell you a car and as soon as something goes wrong you are left out of pocket!

Aysia Gazi-Wright from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to Avoid!!

Hi Rio, I believe that someone should have been in contact with you to try and resolve the issues you have been having after seeing this review on a number of different sites. If you do require any further assistance please contact me on the email above. Thankyou

"They don’t like refunding deposits"
2.6 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Having left an overnight holding deposit on a car in March 2020, we are still trying to have it refunded in June. Every time we contacted them for the refund we where assured it would be done immediately, then the lockdown came and the lying was no longer necessary, we are still trying now that they are all back at work. The lesson is, DO NOT LEAVE DEPOSITS WITH EDDIE WRIGHT CARS. I CAN ONLY GUESS WHAT THEIR AFTER SALES SERVICE MAY BE LIKE. Needless to say this one sale they WONT be making.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful

Matthew Spencer from Eddie Wright Car Supermarket in response to They don’t like refunding deposits

Dear Gordon, We are extemley sorry to hear that this is the expereince you had with us at Eddie Wright. This certainly isn't the standard of service we strive to offer and are keen to resolve the situation as soon as possible. I have passed your complaint to our sales team who will be giving you a call as soon as possible. Once again, please accept our apologies. The Eddie Wright Team

Richard in response to They don’t like refunding deposits

Hi I was just wondering if you have had this issue resolved? I am going through a similar situation. I was assured my deposit was 100% refundable and told " we cant keep your money you haven't even seen the car" once I asked for a refund I was told it would be in my bank in 72 hours. Since then I have been phoning 4/5 times a day asking for a sales manager to phone me (as there are always busy) for a week now and I have not had one call!

"Avoid"
2.2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a car in December and got Eddie Wrights to tax the vehicle so we could drive it home (£20) they never sent the logbook to DVLA so in April i found out my wife had been driving the vehicle and it was not taxed and was still in the previous owners name. So i have had to get a new logbook(£25). Sent emails to Eddie Wright and they never got back to me. Also took 6 weeks to get me the parcel shelf for the car which they said had been ordered on 4 different occasions. After looking at other reviews on this site it looks like this is par for the course with Eddie Wrights.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Dealership Information

As a family business we pride ourselves on offering honesty, trust and impeccable standards. We are confident that with up to 700 cars you won't find a greater selection and our Price Promise Guarantee means if you find a car of equal quality or value cheaper elsewhere we'll refund the difference.

Another great benefit is our One Stop Shop Service, this allows you to make one journey and drive away the same day!

The best way to find out more is to come and experience it for yourself, give us a call or visit www.eddiewright.co.uk and see what our customers think and what we have to offer.

 

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
168 reviews3.5 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
87
Very Good
17
Average
16
Poor
26
Terrible
22

Add Review

View 4 more dealership images

Contact Information

Address

Eddie Wright Car Supermarket
Warren Road
Scunthorpe
South Humberside
DN15 6XH

Get in touch

01724 245420
http://www.eddiewright.co.uk

Opening times
Mon 08:30 - 18:30
Tue 08:30 - 18:30
Wed 08:30 - 18:30
Thu 08:30 - 18:30
Fri 08:30 - 18:30
Sat 08:30 - 17:30
Sun 10:00 - 17:00

Dealership Statistics

58%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
65%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Eddie Wright Car Supermarket

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: 2421293
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: 660587
FCAStatus: Authorised
Premises Type: Showroom
Registered Name: Edward P Wright Ltd
VAT Number: 546 504837


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information

Working with Car Dealer Reviews

We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £99 per month.

Learn more about how our service works below.

Find out more