66% Reviews
replied to
79% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


24 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for First4car.com
Leave a review

24 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for First4car.com
Leave a review
"3rd car from here in 10 years"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I'd like to thank Richard for my car. Thank you for your patience with me finding a car that was right for me with my mobility issues. Your garage and staff go above and beyond. Hopefully I'm not too old to be able to buy another car in a couple of years! many thanks Jean

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Sally from First4car.com in response to 3rd car from here in 10 years

Thank you Jean for taking the time to leave a review. It was a pleasure seeing you again. Thank you for once again putting your trust in First4car.com. Good luck with your forthcoming operation.

"First4Cars"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Clear description and comprehensive picture gallery. Car exactly as described. Luke was amazingly helpful. He had a thorough knowledge of the car. Nothing was too much trouble. From beginning to end of purchase it was seem less and Luke’s communication made everything so strsightforward

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

S Leeming from First4car.com in response to First4Cars

Thank you Cheryl for leaving a great review. It's always great to hear our customers say great things about our staff as they work really hard and really care about each and every customers' experience. Thank you for choosing First4car and we hope we'll see you again in the future.

"Great service"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

The guy was lovely and incredibly helpful and helped us with all we needed

S Leeming from First4car.com in response to Great service

Thank you Tim for taking the time to leave a review. We wish you all the best.

"Friendly "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Great, friendly place, highly recommended. Nothing too much trouble and great coffee!!

Sally from First4car.com in response to Friendly

Thank you for your recommendation.

"Nice garage, staff and cars"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

recently bought a car from here. The service was great from ben. the car i bought is just what i was looking for and they turned it around in 48 hours for me as i needed it fast, the price was good aswell. thanks again for everything ill be sure to be back when i need a new one

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Sally from First4car.com in response to Nice garage, staff and cars

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review we will be giving Ben a big pat on the back he allways goes above and beond to make buying your next car a simple and pleasant experiance. Enjoy you new car and we hope to see you again when you are looking for your next car.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"A terrible experience"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

OverviewReviewsPhotosUpdatesAbout Reviews from the web Car Dealer Reviews 4/5 18 reviews Auto Trader 4.9/5 1,037 votes CarGurus 4.7/5 84 reviews Google review summary 4.4 (155) Google reviews All pressure 11 garage 10 communication 9 company 8 +6 Sort by Most relevant Newest Highest Lowest Andrew Stubbs Andrew Stubbs 10 reviews·5 photos 3 minutes agoNEW A terrible experience. Prior to travelling 100 miles to collect the car, I asked for a personalised video of the car and whether there were any issues with the bodywork and was told there wasn't. I had run checks before collecting the vehicle and noticed it failed an MOT despite only doing 12k miles and being a 2018 reg, however the reasons for the failure did not seem significant. We collected the vehicle and were not informed of the failed MOT, I queried it. We checked the vehicle conditon and there were marks on the interior (crack on the windscreen and deep mark on the driver's side interior) which were not mentioned. The car was sold with an almost empty tank which is a nice touch! We were unable to tax the vehicle online and had to go to the post office to do so which I found odd. The reasons why we couldn't tax it online will become clear below. We drove the car home. As it was black, it wasn't easy to spot the damage on inspection but we later noticed significant damage on the rear panel and bumper. The rear panel had a large dent, lots of dings and a blebbed painted wheel arch reflected an obvious bodge job repair. This was not disclosed, Ben later acknowledged that it should've been. They must have seen the damage as when cleaning the car you would feel it! Yes, its not new so we expected signs of wear but this went beyond that, this was damage not mentioned to us. I took a test drive of the car (gf drove it home). As I had a Mercedes and having driven other GLA's, I was shocked by the car's handling. The steering was not very responsive. I sought a professional opinion and they said it seems like it has hit something. This also explained why the front nearside tyre (on same side as the damage) was worn, despite only doing 12k miles. It sounds like the tracking had been out which caused excessive wear. After checking the paperwork, we realised the car was bought at auction and was listed as "below average condition" and that the vehicle had been a "fleet vehicle". The garage listing said that the car had been "well maintained" with "1 private owner", clearly untrue. The garage denied that it was a fleet vehicle however, the DVLA confirmed it HAD been a fleet vehicle for Motability UK. This explained why the tax could not be done online due to disabled tax. This was also not disclosed. The garage accepted the return so we drove 100 miles the following day, paid for fuel in my car to travel down first time, fuel in the car that was purchased and fuel in the car the next day to return it. A full refund (-£200) was provided. The garage kept £200 until we got the V5 back from the DVLA which took over a month!! We then had to post the V5 back to the garage recorded delivery as requested by the garage (and yes we paid for that too and it wasn't reimbursed!). We saw that it had arrived and had to chase them to provide the refund as they said it would be done "immediately". We had to wait for the DVLA to provide us with the £155 tax back, and eventually fought for it back. The garage is only prepared to offer an apology. They will not reimburse you for fuel, insurance change fees, loss of tax etc, all costs resulting from their dishonesty. I exchanged numerous emails with the garage and they continue to deny that they had not hidden anything from us, much to my amazement! However, I see similar experiences about this garage where motorists have collected a vehicle and it has not been accurately described. Also they have threatened legal action if I left a review, very professional indeed. I am entitled to leave an honest review which is supported with evidence. We noticed that, 5 hours after having returned the vehicle, the car had been relisted for an additional £750 - bearing in mind, the faults/damage could not have possibly been fixed in that time. There were far too many red flags with the vehicle and garage, the failure to disclose damage on the vehicle, the failure to disclose that it was a fleet vehicle, the failure to admit they had hidden information from us, the failure to reimburse additional costs etc.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Sally Leeming from First4car.com in response to A terrible experience

We are sorry to read your negative review Andrew. Unfortunately with second hand cars there will at times be a discrepancy in individuals' belief of what is a satisfactory condition for a cars age and mileage. You came to the garage with your partner and were left to appraise the vehicle, as well a 40 minute test drive unaccompanied. Its unfortunate that you didn't raise any of the issues you state here at that point prior to you deciding to purchase. The vehicle was purchased from an auction that we use regularly. The condition of the car at auction may have been below average but we have workshops in which an required parts are replaced and the vehicle is professionally cleaned and assessed by our vehicle technicians. After driving home you requested a full refund which was given within 24 hours. Your deposit left for the V5 was again refunded immediately. Unfortuantely, we couldn't manage to refund this within the 2 hour window you allowed us once the V5 was signed for at our premises. It was however refunded later the sameday. The time it took for the DVLA to return your V5 is out of our control. Once the car was returned by you it was taken to Mercedes where they gave it a clean bill of health. The car was revalued and did increase in price due to a shortage of cars post pandemic, all cars have increased in price. The car sold very quickly after and the customer was happy with the condition of the car accepting the car was priced well and the condition was in line with its age. Once again we are sorry for the experience you had and wish you well.

A Stubbs in response to A terrible experience

The simple facts are, this car was sold as "well maintained condition" and you're referring to "satisfactory condition" and acknowledging that the car was "below average condition" so how on Earth was it "well maintained condition", the advert was misleading, no way had that car been well looked after especially when parts had to be replaced. So these professional cleaners and technicians didn't notice the significant damage? Yes the time it takes for the DVLA is not under your control but you promised I would receive 100% of the tax back which was not the case and you were dishonest in relation to the reason the tax could not be done online. Yes, we looked over the car but it should not be for customers to find faults when the garage has "professionally cleaned" it, this should be notified to the buyer and it wasn't and even your colleague said it should've been raised at the point of sale!! Then, the after-treatment from the garage was nothing short of a disgrace with threats. The customer should never lose out because of a garage being dishonest which you were, fact, and you do not compensate for the additional costs incurred by your customer as a result of your failings. You are simply the worst garage we have ever used, not just the vehicle condition, but the way you treat customers and communicate with them, appalling. I'm not surprised you took it to Mercedes "for clean bill of health", it should've went there before you tried to pass it to us. Yes, we managed to purchase a GLA and it was a chalk and cheese compared to this one, and the level of customer service we received.

"Incredible customer service!"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Incredible customer service, fairly priced cars! Would highly recommend this company to my friends and family!

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful

Sally in response to Incredible customer service!

Thank you Billy for your review and recommendation, it really means a lot to hear our customers are happy with their car as well as the service we provide. Thank you for choosing First4car.com.

Sally from First4car.com in response to Incredible customer service!

Thank you Billy for your review and recommendation, it really means a lot to hear our customers are happy with their car as well as the service we provide. Thank you for choosing First4car.com.

Sally from First4car.com in response to Incredible customer service!

Thank you Billy for your review and recommendation, it really means a lot to hear our customers are happy with their car as well as the service we provide. Thank you for choosing First4car.com.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Not Happy"
1.8 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

When we went to buy our car, we had to stand out in the cold for 30 minutes because it wasn’t even on site. After getting it home we realised there was a big chunk of the indicator strip, after contacting the dealer, they said he would send one out. 6 weeks later one still hadn’t arrived, and they said they would send one out. Never arrived. 2 weeks later this car broke down on the motorway (only done 20000 miles total, it was a new car) in the outside lane. The garages that looked at it said a lot was wrong, and it wasn’t road worthy. First4car LAUGHED at us and said that we should’ve taken out extended warranty. Statuatory warranty is 3 months.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+7 Found this review helpful

Sally from First4car.com in response to Not Happy

We are sincerely sorry to read you were not happy with the service you received at First4car. I know we have spoken to you regarding this and you accepted our apology and agreed your review was a little unfair. When you purchased your car back in August we were asking customers to remain outside as much as possible in view of the Covid pandemic. As it was a nice day we were not aware this was an issue. The part you mention that was being sent to you, unfortunately was not available immediately hence the delay. We do accept our communication regarding this delay could have been better and procedures have been put in place to ensure this happens if this scenario occurs in the future. Your car did unfortunately break down on the motorway 3 months after your purchase, thankfully in stationary traffic. We refutably deny any member of staff laughing at you not having bought an extended warranty. We worked as quickly as we could liaising with your father to resolve any issues as quickly as possible for you Tom. We do not like to hear of any customers being unhappy and therefore we offered you a full refund, of which you accepted. We wish you well.

tom penny in response to Not Happy

Hi, You said this car would take months to repair, when now it is listed back on your website, for thousands more than it was initially bought for. This is disgusting. And your colleague, Ben, undoubtedly laughed when we rang, he did not put the phone down properly and we heard him discussing it with his colleagues. We took the refund as you said there was no other option as you would not repair it. Now i see that that was a lie, and you thought you would get more money this way.

"Excellent dealership"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Wide selection of stock and the salesman was very knowledgeable at helping me chose my car . I test drove 2 cars in the end and the Citroen I went with was ready for me to drive away just 2 days later , highly recommended

Sally Leeming from First4car.com in response to Excellent dealership

Thank you Lauren for your recommendation, it means a lot. We wish you well. Enjoy your new car and we hope to see you again when it's time for an update.

"Very disappointing experience"
1.4 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

We have had a very poor experience with First4Car.com, leaving us very disappointed. A full refund has been given, but the customer service goes no further than a standard apology, with no regard whatsoever for any associated losses or inconvenience. The experience outlined below is a strong indication that pre-sale attention to the car's condition, both cosmetically and mechanically, leave a lot to be desired. Also, when they'put things right', all they have done is complete a computer reset. The end result is that the garage could or would not repair the car to a saleable state and we have had to opt for a full refund. The pre-collection assessment was to pay, tax and insure the car, meaning that we have lost money and this dealer is entirely unwilling to offer compensation despite being wholely responsible for their inadequate service. Our recommendation following our experience; be very cautious when doing business with First4car.com. We consider that we have had a lucky escape which was partly due to our diligence on collection, but primarily the speed at which the faults were revealed. Discussions with this dealer also eluded to the fact that they charge per mile for any cars returned after 14 days from purchase. We arrived to collect the car after purchasing, taxing and insuring the vehicle, as per confirmed pre-collection arrangements. However, upon arrival and inspection by me, discovered that the car had been damaged in two locations. When I challenged this, we were invited to take the car and book it in for repairs, which we did as we needed the car. However on the journey home (30 minutes) the tyre sensor and the engine the management lights activated, necessitating a timely return of the vehicle. Just under a week later they have stated that the vehicle may be beyond economical repair and have asked that we accept a refund. This is particularly annoying given that the tyre sensor warning activated during the test drive and we were assured it had been repaired. In addition, there were issues with the battery and the diesel particulate filter. Also, as a nice touch, expect the fuel tank to be practically empty on collection.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful

Sally from First4car.com in response to Very disappointing experience

We're sincerely sorry Simon that you felt the service you received from us was inadequate. Unfortunately with any used car faults can occur despite lengthy checks and a full MOT. As soon as you reported a fault with your vehicle you were lent a courtesy car. We attempted to get the car repaired as quickly as possible to cause the least amount of inconvenience to you. When we realised the car wasn't going to be 100% for you we offered a full refund which was paid immediately and we collected our courtesy car from your home. Whilst we appreciate this was not the result any of us wanted we weren't prepared to sell you a vehicle that we weren't happy with. Despite our business appearing from the outside to be 'business as usual' many companies including ourselves are finding difficulties with sourcing parts and staffing shortages due to isolations. Our staff are working under immense pressure whilst trying to provide our usual high level of service. In this circumstance that high level of service was not achieved and for that we are sorry. We wish you all the best Simon.

Sally from First4car.com in response to Very disappointing experience

We're sincerely sorry Simon that you felt the service you received from us was inadequate. Unfortunately with any used car faults can occur despite lengthy checks and a full MOT. As soon as you reported a fault with your vehicle you were lent a courtesy car. We attempted to get the car repaired as quickly as possible to cause the least amount of inconvenience to you. When we realised the car wasn't going to be 100% for you we offered a full refund which was paid immediately and we collected our courtesy car from your home. Whilst we appreciate this was not the result any of us wanted we weren't prepared to sell you a vehicle that we weren't happy with. Despite our business appearing from the outside to be 'business as usual' many companies including ourselves are finding difficulties with sourcing parts and staffing shortages due to isolations. Our staff are working under immense pressure whilst trying to provide our usual high level of service. In this circumstance that high level of service was not achieved and for that we are sorry. We wish you all the best Simon.

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered
Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered

Dealership Information

Each and every member of staff at First4car believes in great customer care and providing the very best service. We're an independent family-run dealership, established for over 20 years. We're dynamic and forward thinking and have moved with the times as the motor industry has evolved. Our premises have expanded over recent years allowing us to provide a wider selection of quality vehicles, dedicated facilities for vehicle preparation, and larger workshops for our in-house motor technicians.

We provide all main dealer facilities but with a more friendly, relaxed atmosphere and a no-pressure approach. We have a free soft search credit check online for those wishing to finance their purchase. The soft search is with no obligation and will not affect your credit score or any future finance applications. Many of our customers say they're surprised just how competitive our finance is.

Our team will guide you every step of the way through your purchase whether you're buying remotely and taking advantage of our home delivery or in person at our showroom, we will ensure you have a straightforward and enjoyable buying experience. Our ways to buy are flexible to fit your needs and lifestyle. You can do as much online or in-person as suits you.

For your reassurance, we have been members of the West Yorkshire Trading Standards Partnership since 2006. We have been presented with various awards for our customer service by organisations such as Trading Standards, CarGurus and Autotrader. For further peace of mind, we have Nationwide warranties available from the award-winning company Autoprotect.

All our cars come with a full MOT (with no advisories), PDI service (where required), free HPI check (ensuring no outstanding finance) and National Mileage Register check, discounted driveaway insurance, free AA breakdown cover, full valet including ozone treatment proven effective to kill viruses including Covid-19, and much much more. Visit our website www.first4car.com for full details.

Deals in: 4x4s, Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
24 reviews4.1 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
18
Very Good
0
Average
1
Poor
3
Terrible
2

Add Review

  • Submit new information
  • View 9 more dealership images

    Contact Information

    Address

    First4car.com
    1 Occupation Lane
    Pudsey
    West Yorkshire
    LS28 8HL

    Get in touch

    0113 257 0000
    http://www.first4car.com

    Opening times
    Mon 09.00 - 18.00
    Tue 09.00 - 18.00
    Wed 09.00 - 18.00
    Thu 09.00 - 19.00
    Fri 09.00 - 18.00
    Sat 09.00 - 17.00
    Sun 10.00 - 16.00

    Dealership Statistics

    79%
    Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
    66%
    Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

    Additional Information About First4car.com

    Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
    Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
    Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
    Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
    FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
    FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
    Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
    Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
    VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


    Are we missing anything?
    You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

    Submit new information

    Working with Car Dealer Reviews

    We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £99 per month.

    Learn more about how our service works below.

    Find out more