3% Reviews
replied to
48% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


31 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Oakwood Specialist Cars
Leave a review

31 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Oakwood Specialist Cars
Leave a review
"DO NOT BUY A CAR FROM OAKWOOD"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I saw a BMW X6 registration number MF09 UPJ advertised on the Autotrader website on 14 May 2022 and was interested in purchasing the vehicle which was advertised with a mileage reading of 96,100 miles and having a valid MOT with no issues. On 16 May 2022, I visited the dealer Oakwood Specialist cars in Whitley Bay to view the vehicle. I was satisfied with the vehicle and paid a £300.00 deposit in good faith based on the mileage of 96,100 and a valid MOT. As the existing MOT was due to expire on 03 July 2022,I requested a new MOT should be carried out prior to collection of the vehicle. Prior to leaving the garage I was told that the vehicle would be sent for a new MOT on Monday 16 May. On Wednesday 18 May, having had no call or email from the garage, I called Dave the Sales Manager who I had met on Saturday 14 May to enquire about the results of the MOT. He told me that the vehicle had failed the MOT with some wear and tear issue and that these would be repaired immediately. As I was feeling anxious, I checked the Gov.uk website regarding the MOT failure. I was shocked to discover that : 1. The vehicle was failed in TWO DANGEROUS DEFECTS which were the front and offside lower suspension joints were likely to become detached, There was also another major defect regarding the Nearside Front Outer Drive shaft joint which needed immediate repair. 2. The mileage recorded on the failed MOT certificate carried out on 16 May was 104,648 miles. How could this be possible when on Saturday 14 May the mileage was recorded as 96,100 on my invoice? When I called Dave about the mileage discrepancy, I was told that this was human error. When I expressed my concerns about proceeding with the sale, I was told that my £300.00 deposit would not be returned as the money covered advertising costs for the vehicle. On Friday 20 May, I checked the Gov.uk website as I wanted to check the new MOT was ok. Imagine my surprise to discover that the mileage on the new MOT carried out on 20 May was now recorded as 96,334 MILES. HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT TWO MOT'S CARRIED OUT IN THE SPACE OF 4 DAYS SHOW TWO DIFFERENT MILEAGE READINGS AND ON THE NEW MOT THE MILEAGE HAD DECREASED BY 8000 MILES? By this stage, I was having major doubts about the honesty of Oakwood Specialist Cars. While rechecking the advert on Autotrader I decided to read a couple of the car dealer reviews left by recent customers. I was truly alarmed to read the customer reviews as detailed below: Scott B, March 2022 "Horrendous " 1 out of 5 stars Dealer's knowledgeable Vehicle cleanliness Value for money Resolving issues Worst experience ever buying a car regret it so much. Oakwood have had my car a dodgy MOT with dangerous and major failures passed with no advisories! Also an oil leak that was supposed to have been sorted amongst other things. Now ignoring emails and calls. Never heard so many lies. Absolute joke of a company. They look the part online but that’s about it. Zero credibility. Conning swines claiming now it’s over six months nothing can be done when we’ve been hounding them since 2 days after buying the car. All details and dialogue now being passed on to trading standard and VOSA. Absolute headache start to finish. Ryan, March 2022 "Not to be trusted" 1 out of 5 stars Dealer's knowledgeable Vehicle cleanliness Value for money Resolving issues Selling cars that have various faults under the pretense that they will cover the cost of any work done. Once They have your deposit they do not complete any work 'until' full payment received then give you the car without said repairs. Scam artists, should be shut down Sean, September 2021 "Do not buy cars from this company" 1 out of 5 stars Dealer's knowledgeable Vehicle cleanliness Value for money Resolving issues After paying a deposit for a BMW with low miles, i had to delay my original 4 weeks time frame to pick car up to 6 + at the time of sale the earliest was 4 weeks and darren said it was ok if this ran over, it did run over and they said it that i could have my deposit paid in good faith... returned ...( this was mentioned on 3 times that this was no issue by darren ) this was because they had resold the car, i was given an option to buy another BMW but this had very high mileage , so i decided on the refund since the car had sold, now told on the 4th phone call to Darren .... that this bloke called mike has put a stop to the refund.... they are clearly not men of their words so i would never ever buy nor recommend this company to anyone, family company or no family company, if this is how they run,..!.. why would you bother, as what ever they say is clearly worth nothing. What goes around comes around ...! A disappointing and expensive experience" 1.6 out of 5 stars Dealer's knowledgeable Vehicle cleanliness Value for money Resolving issues I paid a £300 deposit on a 2005 £5,000 Audi A4 Cabriolet Quattro on the 2nd of June 2021. Expensive but as a 1 owner car with 72000 on the clock it seemed reasonable. I used compare the market.com to source insurance only to find out that the companies offering insurance would not accept my 10 years + no claims discount as it had been earned on a motorhome. As the alternatives offered were too expensive I phoned Oakwood and ask them to hold delivery. I was able to phone back later that day having sourced affordable insurance but had missed my delivery slot. Fair enough. I waited to hear when the car could be delivered but heard nothing. Sunday's later I phoned and was told that there was a fault with the air conditioning and that a part had been ordered and would be be a few minutes job to fit. After a lengthy wait I phoned to ask what was happening and was told there was a problem obtaining the part. Several phone calls later I was told the air conditioning had been fixed but that a road test had shown other problems and that the car was going to be put through auction rather than sold to me. I was offered a refund or a choice of two other cars at a discounted price. These went acceptable and on the the 9th or 10th of August I've phoned to agree to have my deposit refunded. The sales person with whom I had been dealing, Dave, said that he was with a customer and would phone me back. Today day, the 13th, I phoned again to ask for my deposit. This brings me to my main complaint about Oakwood Specialist Cars. I have lost count of the number of times I have phoned only to be told to expect a call back which never happened. This to me is discourteous and unprofessional and I would not recommend this company to anyone. On the basis that Oakwood Specialist are clearly unprofessional, unreliable and untrustworthy, I will be seeking a full refund of my deposit as the advert was clearly misleading and there are major questions regarding the odometer readings. I will be taking the following action: 1. Contact the DVSA regarding the MOT mileage 2. Contact the RAC regarding how such an unprofessional business has approved dealer status. 3. Contact the Trading Standards Officer for the Local Council to investigate ALL the customer complaints against Oakwood Specialist

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful
"Horrendous "
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Worst experience ever buying a car regret it so much. Oakwood have had my car a dodgy MOT with dangerous and major failures passed with no advisories! Also an oil leak that was supposed to have been sorted amongst other things. Now ignoring emails and calls. Never heard so many lies. Absolute joke of a company. They look the part online but that’s about it. Zero credibility. Conning swines claiming now it’s over six months nothing can be done when we’ve been hounding them since 2 days after buying the car. All details and dialogue now being passed on to trading standard and VOSA. Absolute headache start to finish.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Not to be trusted"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Selling cars that have various faults under the pretense that they will cover the cost of any work done. Once They have your deposit they do not complete any work 'until' full payment received then give you the car without said repairs. Scam artists, should be shut down

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+3 Found this review helpful
"Do not buy cars from this company"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

After paying a deposit for a BMW with low miles, i had to delay my original 4 weeks time frame to pick car up to 6 + at the time of sale the earliest was 4 weeks and darren said it was ok if this ran over, it did run over and they said it that i could have my deposit paid in good faith... returned ...( this was mentioned on 3 times that this was no issue by darren ) this was because they had resold the car, i was given an option to buy another BMW but this had very high mileage , so i decided on the refund since the car had sold, now told on the 4th phone call to Darren .... that this bloke called mike has put a stop to the refund.... they are clearly not men of their words so i would never ever buy nor recommend this company to anyone, family company or no family company, if this is how they run,..!.. why would you bother, as what ever they say is clearly worth nothing. What goes around comes around ...!

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+3 Found this review helpful

Claire Henty in response to Do not buy cars from this company

You are entitled to the deposit back. Contact the Citizens advice bureau

Claire Henty in response to Do not buy cars from this company

You are entitled to the deposit back. Contact the Citizens advice bureau

"A disappointing and expensive experience"
1.6 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I paid a £300 deposit on a 2005 £5,000 Audi A4 Cabriolet Quattro on the 2nd of June 2021. Expensive but as a 1 owner car with 72000 on the clock it seemed reasonable. I used compare the market.com to source insurance only to find out that the companies offering insurance would not accept my 10 years + no claims discount as it had been earned on a motorhome. As the alternatives offered were too expensive I phoned Oakwood and ask them to hold delivery. I was able to phone back later that day having sourced affordable insurance but had missed my delivery slot. Fair enough. I waited to hear when the car could be delivered but heard nothing. Sunday's later I phoned and was told that there was a fault with the air conditioning and that a part had been ordered and would be be a few minutes job to fit. After a lengthy wait I phoned to ask what was happening and was told there was a problem obtaining the part. Several phone calls later I was told the air conditioning had been fixed but that a road test had shown other problems and that the car was going to be put through auction rather than sold to me. I was offered a refund or a choice of two other cars at a discounted price. These went acceptable and on the the 9th or 10th of August I've phoned to agree to have my deposit refunded. The sales person with whom I had been dealing, Dave, said that he was with a customer and would phone me back. Today day, the 13th, I phoned again to ask for my deposit This brings me to my main complaint about Oakwood Specialist Cars. I have lost count of the number of times I have phoned only to be told to expect a call back which never happened. This to me is discourteous and unprofessional and I would not recommend this company to anyone

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful
"Audi A3 S line"
2.4 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Travelled all the way from south wales to get this car, it had just been put through a fresh MOT and service they said ready for sale, and a RAC 82 point check. The front and rear brakes were noway fit for another 12 months, they had put some budget new tyres on the front which is fine, but dident balance the wheels, so there is vibration at speed now. The wrong car Mats were chucked in, at one point it got trapped behind the break pedal and i almost crashed, Otherwise the car is in what seems perfect running order.

"Service was ok but awful vehicle"
2.4 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a jaguar xe from them a week ago, they said the car is running perfect and that they done a full service thats a lot of bullshit as i took the car to my local mechanic an hi said the oil wasn't changed, the wheel bearing is very noisy and the front wheel is buckled plus theres a very bad rattle on idle, they hid all of theese details from me, would not buy a car again from them! Now i have to spend over 1k just in parts to fix the car!

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful
"What a car"
4.8 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Probably bought the lowest mileage 2011 a4 3.0tdi in the country. And what a car. Didn’t want to review straight away I have left it 8 months. Car had full service and was valeted for when I picked it up. No hassle, no bullshit. And the best car I have ever had. Will keep this car until the government tells me otherwise. My experience with these guys was amazing and far better than the Audi dealer up the road.

"Will take your money "
1.6 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Was trying to buy a q3 made a mistake with Mileage on my trade in phoned up and explained try to decrease my value by £400 then asked me me to wind deal down which I did then only refunded me £200 of my £300 deposit only lies out of there mouths would not reccomend or ever use stay clear

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful
"Not happy"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a car off them 6 months ago, so far i have had a turbo pipe blown, a coolant pipe split, a new battery fitted and just discovered the brakes are down to bare metal and have knackered the discs. Now the mot should of shown the pads where low. Get an independent mechanic to check any car from these! I have only used car for commuting. Never again!

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered
Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered

Dealership Information

Oakwood North East Limited or Oakwood Specialist Cars as they are also known, are a family run used car dealership based in Whitley Bay and selling to the wider Tyne and Wear area. Specialising in mainly 4x4, performance diesels and sports models, they have an extensive range of over 100 cars available for sale. As an RAC approved dealership all cars sold come with an RAC warranty and free membership. Part exchanges are welcome, they buy cars for cash and financing options are available if required. Oakwood North East Ltd are open 7 days a week for any customers wishing to visit. Alternative viewing times can be arranged by appointment.

Car Dealer Reviews would love to hear from any previous customers of Oakwood North East Ltd, so please if you have found this page could you take the time to leave a quick review and help any future potential customers. 

Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
31 reviews3.1 out of 5 stars — Rated Average
Excellent
15
Very Good
1
Average
3
Poor
4
Terrible
8

Add Review

  • Submit new information

  • Contact Information

    Address

    Oakwood Specialist Cars
    Oakwood House Foxhunters Road
    Whitley Bay
    Tyne and Wear
    NE25 8UG

    Get in touch

    0191 2523445
    https://www.oakwoodspecialistcars.co.uk/

    Opening times

    Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

    If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

    Dealership Statistics

    48%
    Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
    3%
    Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

    Additional Information About Oakwood Specialist Cars

    Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
    Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
    Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
    Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
    FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
    FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
    Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
    Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
    VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


    Are we missing anything?
    You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

    Submit new information

    Working with Car Dealer Reviews

    We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £99 per month.

    Learn more about how our service works below.

    Find out more