12% Reviews
replied to
79% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


24 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Redgate Lodge

Click on the stars to start your review

24 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Redgate Lodge
Click on the stars to start your review
"EXCELLENT SERVICE AS ALWAYS"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I have purchased my last two cars from Redgate Lodge - its hassle free, no pushy salespeople and first class service. It comes as no surprise these guys are an award winning garage.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Fantastic"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Fantastic service again from Redgate Lodge. Bought my daughter's first car here 2 years ago and collected my son's today. Lovely, friendly staff who do that extra mile. Recommended, would definitely come here again. Thank you

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Focus st "
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Purchased focus st from redgate lodge, the car on independent inspection had been in 2 bumps, car was full over body filler, bald tyres, oil leaks under tray missing but stated present on MOT certificate. Legal case started and will be on watchdog also. My personal opinion stay clear and save your money.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

Staff from Redgate Lodge in response to Focus st

Hi Scott. Unfortunately there seem to be a number of facts missing from your review. Despite our requests we are yet to be provided with any evidence from your “independent inspection” that the car has any significant accident damage other than superficial cosmetic repairs which we would expect from a car approaching 10 years old with many thousands of miles. We would of course be grateful if you could furnish us with that information. You declined our request to inspect the vehicle, telling us the car was in Leeds and unsafe to drive (we are in Newcastle). From the pictures you sent to us, it would suggest that there was nothing that would render the car unsafe to drive and to my knowledge. I can confirm that the tyres were absolutely not bald when you took delivery of the vehicle, and we have documented evidence to support this. As our service manager stated, if we had of been made aware that there was an issue with the tyres, we would have done everything in our power to rectify it. You made us aware of the issue AFTER you had purchased new tyres, and months after the event. I can also confirm that the MOT did not mention the presence or absence of a under-tray, nor was there an oil leak present at point of MOT or point of preparation. I would suggest that the oil leak started at some point after you had taken delivery of the vehicle, and as said earlier, this would not be uncommon for a vehicle of its age and mileage. Once again, or service department were more than willing to look at the leak and carry out any remedial work if necessary. These issues have come to light when you tried to sell or part exchange the vehicle to another dealer / car buying service. It is not uncommon for dealers and car buying services to find issues with a car and sometimes exaggerate them to enable them to offer a reduced price, often vastly reduced in some cases. Of course, this may not be the case in this particular instance but based on 15 year’s experience in the motor trade it is not uncommon. We have tried to work with you to seek a resolution but have been met with numerous threats and unreasonable demands from yourself via email to multiple members of our staff. We will of course work with your legal advisers and furnish them with any information and evidence required.

"Fantastic service."
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Purchased three cars from Redgate Lodge, every car has been fantastic. The service is always first class

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Very helpful"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Great range of cars and extremely helpful staff

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Horrendous experience"
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Purchased a Ford Focus ST from Redgate Lodge on 27th April initially paying the £200 deposit. The remaining balance was transfered later that day. On 8th May I was advised that the car was ready for collection - however the immaculate car I originally viewed and paid for, now had an extra 9 miles added to the clock along with two chips out the paint work. Redgate tried a botch up job of repairing the chips which looked utterly horrendous - they refused to have the paint work resprayed or offer any compensation. So effectively I bought a car and was collecting the same car in worse condition!!!! A refund was promptly offered however I needed to chase them up to action the refund numerous times. Awful customer service and fully deservant of 1 star. I did notice the next day they had the car back up for sale for £500 more than I’d paid for it, despite it having new damage!!!!!!! Safe to say I wont be recommending them to anyone.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

scott sibley from Redgate Lodge in response to Horrendous experience

Richard. I’m Scott the owner of Redgate Lodge. I would like to express how shocked and disappointed I am that you have decided to attack my company in this manner. You have given us a 1 star review on Facebook then have taken the time to copy and paste it onto two other platforms. James has already responded on your Facebook review confirming that the extra 9 miles was due to preparation ie service, mot and road test. He has also clarified that we refunded your payment immediately however held back £200 until you returned with the log book as the car was now in your name, we do this to ensure we get the log book back. As we purchased the Ford Focus from the previous owner we have been able to contact him and investigate further the two stone chips, he has confirmed both stone chips were on the car when he owned it and that he would be happy to send us an email confirming this. We were also aware of them when we bought the car in as all panels are checked. I’m disappointed that the two stone chips hadn’t been touched in by our valeters, they do this as it’s part of our normal process. It is my option that you missed the two tiny stone chips when you originally purchased the car. You asked us to respray the two panels which had the tiny stone chips, and Sam explained we wouldn’t be willing to do this due to the special paint colour as it would mean the full front end of the car would have to be painted along with the full side of the car. We both agreed that we would have our bodyshop touch them in for you. On your return you were not happy with the two touch ins, therefore to make you happy we decided to offer you a full refund, which is something we didn’t have to do, as you had paid for the car in full and you were the new registered owner. I personally would have thought this would be worthy of a 5 star review and not a 1 star on 3 separate platforms. I would be curious to know had we of resprayed 50% of your car for you, getting rid of the stone chip on the front, and on your way home you unfortunately got another stone chip, would you respray the full front end of the car, and continue to do this every time you had a fresh stone chip? Two months ago I personally purchased a new car from Bmw Chester. The car is 18 months old with 16,000 miles at a price of £49,000. The car came with at least 3 small stone chips on the bonnet. My point is there must be a limit as to when to respray a full panel due to stone chips. You are a “Firearms Police Officer” deemed a professional, someone I would like to think I could trust. I would have had no hesitation returning your full deposit and trusting you to return the logbook to us with the extra owner on it. You should have explained the importance of receiving the £200 refund more quickly due to your personal financial situation. James has also confirmed on your Facebook review why the car was re listed at £500 more and in fact sold the same day. The new owner thought the car was stunning and was extremely happy with it. It’s interesting after we gave you a full refund, along with your comments with reference to the awful service, why you would go back onto our website the next day? You clearly were not planning on buying another car from us, therefore it is of my opinion that maybe you had regretted your decision and possibly hoped the car was still available. As we were not willing to “knock” any money off the car due to the two small stone chips, and when you found the car had been resold, your frustration then lead you to attack my company. Managing Director Scott Sibley

"Professional service"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

The team at Redgate Lodge were very nice and care about their customers. i had never bought a car from this dealership before, i was very impressed with all the team and i would like to thank James and all the the team for looking after me so well.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Left standing in the rain."
2.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I was impressed by the video on the Redgate Lodge web site so I went to see and test drive the car I thought I would buy, unfortunately they did not seem bothered that a cash customer was left waiting and waiting and waiting in the rain and that was after I had walked to the showroom and spoke to a salesman, if this is how they treat their prospective clients I dread to think what the after sales might be like.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

scott sibley from Redgate Lodge in response to Left standing in the rain.

We are very sorry about this, we would have been unaware that you were standing in the rain. We don't like to pounce on customers as soon as they walk onto the forecourt and operate a much more relaxed approach. If you are looking for a new car in the future please do come and see us, if you would like to speak with a sales person first then call into the showroom and our team will be happy to help.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Cant fault them at all "
4.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

The team at Redgate Lodge were very nice, genuine people that are very easy to get along with. When I purchased my Mercedes c220, It was a really easy process and was all sorted very quickly. The car was a really good price and I have had no issues with it at all. It was definitely worth making the 420 mile around trip. I am really happy.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"good experience"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I purchased a Nissan Qashqai from here in July. The service was on a really good standard and the car was really clean and in fantastic condition. I have had no issues with the car at all and I would definitely recommend this dealership to my friends and family.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

Redgate Lodge is an Independent dealership that is based in Newcastle Upon Tyne. If you’re the owner or employee of this business, please send us a little bit of information about your dealership and why customers should come and visit.

Alternatively, if you’re a customer and you’ve had an experience at this dealership, please leave a review below.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
24 reviews4.2 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
19
Very Good
0
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
3

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Redgate Lodge
New York Road
West Allotment
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Tyne And Wear
NE27 0ER

Get in touch

01912661081
http://www.redgatelodge.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

79%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
12%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Redgate Lodge

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information