25% Reviews
replied to
75% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


12 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Affordable Cars Of Kent
Leave a review

12 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Affordable Cars Of Kent
Leave a review
"Cracking Service!!!"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Very happy with the service I received at Affordable Cars of Kent & loving the new car

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
"Nice staff, terrible business"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Last year i bought a Volvo V50 with Affordable Cars of Kent and I hit a dud, i'm over it, i'm not annoyed at them for selling me a dud, I imagine they are unaware of hidden faults in the cars they are selling... i hope. I'm mainly annoyed about the absolutely useless effort made in after sales support, the rip off warranty they sold which covered not a single problem i had with this car in my brief ownership period of 10months/12000miles, and the fact they lied about having done a full service and mechanical inspection upon purchasing. The Volvo had a list of problems which presented themselves within weeks of purchase. The car required new control arms in the first week. After noticing heavy black smoke upon execration i had to replace a split air intake pipe too. A "throttle sensing" problem causing the car to go into limp mode also appeared around the same time which prompted my garage to take a deeper look. Unfortunately the car was hiding engine codes... they were hidden by what i was told by my garage to be some custom software and tune on the ECU. Unfortunately this software went faulty causing the car to go into limp mode. Upon returning the software to stock wiping the tune i was left with an EGR voltage code problem, i could at now at least drive the car, i would have been lost until this point without the courtesy car my garage supplied (Carpenters Volvo). I then had to have the EGR replaced, upon installing the new EGR it became apparent that there was a blanking plate where the EGR should have been, that explains the codes, how it passed emissions on its MOT upon sale i don't know. All the while i was still getting black smoke upon execration, albeit less after replacing that air intake pipe, and the car was still going into limp mode after long journeys, this ended up relating to a DPF problem which kept popping up intermittently which was not remedied by a DPF clean. In the end, this combined with an intermittent steering column lock fault i had been getting every few weeks since purchasing the car (stopping me from starting the car) forced me to find a way out of it as fixing these faults combined came to more than the cars value at this point. During this process i had asked if the dealership could take the car back at trade value, i owned the car for less than 3 months at this point so i was entitled to much more but no offer to purchase the car back was made. I never got a workable solution from the dealership at any stage and contact was delayed and unhelpful at best. I would have liked at a minimum to have the value of the warranty refunded as it was totally useless. If the dealership wants to rectify this now than they can still get in touch. If you are reading this and do end up buying a car from Affordable Cars of Kent i hope you never need to have a major problem with it, and avoid the warranty, it's useless. Whats the point in paying the dealer premium when you get nothing for it.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Staff from Affordable Cars Of Kent in response to Nice staff, terrible business

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Tom (on yet another site) I’m sorry to hear you have experienced a couple of issues with your vehicle. We feel it is always important to reply to reviews as there is always two sides to every story. I have managed to look at your vehicle purchase and I see you bought a nine year old Volvo, covered just over 130,000 miles. We don’t do any servicing in house. This is all carried out by local garages, but I can assure you that the vehicle was serviced and had a PDI. (I can forward on the relevant paperwork if you have mislaid it) Unfortunately, even servicing and a vehicle inspection can’t prevent unforeseen problems. I can see there have been a couple of emails between yourself and one of my colleagues but I can’t see a reply to our email dated 25th July 2018 in which we set out a couple of ways to try and help you with the issue. I’m afraid that all warranties that you purchase, will only cover certain parts if they have mechanically failed, not if they have just worn. I have spoken to the warranty company and there was a claim issued for a bald tyre, an air intake hose and a couple of vacuum pipes. They also said that the garage put a claim in for an EGR valve but the garage wasn’t sure if it was even faulty! hoses,tyres & pipes are all excluded as per your policy schedule as they are not mechanical working parts. When buying an older car with high mileage, consideration should be taken into costings of wear and tear and consumable items as these will obviously wear quicker the older the car. I’m a little confused though as you have said you were unable to use the car but had still managed to cover 12,000 miles in 10 months! It would of been best all round if you’d replied to our email back in July then this could of been sorted out a lot earlier for you. We work very hard here on our customer service as you can see by our many brilliant reviews on Facebook, Autotrader and Google. Kind Regards, Affordable Cars Of Kent Customer Service Team

"Would definitely recommend this dealer"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Friendly welcoming service. Car clean and reasonably priced. Ready when requested. Paperwork all sorted quickly and efficiently. Car driving great so very happy. Thanks.

"Great customer service"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

People don’t often post good reviews, you only here about the bad….but I can honestly say I was extremely impressed with affordable cars of kent from the condition of the cars to the after care service ,I found them to be very helpful and friendly through the whole process. I would definitely return to buy another vehicle and recommend them if your looking for a good honest family run business. Thanks guys

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Poor customer service"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Unfortunately it is only good customer service until they receive your money. I was initially really happy with my car, it's an ex motability with very low mileage so I wasn't expecting any issues and the company's 'mechanic' signed it off as in good condition. Within 6 months the exhaust has completely corroded and after emails and calls from myself (and then my partner as I didn't get a reply) the response is "it's standard wear and tear". I've Googled completely corroded exhausts and mine is worse than all the pictures I've found! On the website they highlight they are members of the AA Dealer Promise so they 'honour their obligations under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 to protect your purchase', but clearly this isn't true as it appears I'm not the only person to be ripped off by them!

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful

Staff from Affordable Cars Of Kent in response to Poor customer service

Affordable Cars Of Kent, Dear Nickie, Thank you for taking the time out to leave another review, as previously answered on your facebook review here is our reply to your corroded exhaust after 6 months of ownership........ .I’m sorry to hear you are having an issue with your exhaust. Unfortunately we cannot be held liable for serviceable items such as a corroded exhaust when you have owned the car for 6 Months & covered 5000/6,000 miles. It is the consumers responsibility & changing these should always be taken into consideration when purchasing a second hand car. If you had a major issue with your vehicle we would be more than happy to assist, but tyres & exhausts are wear & tear items & are made worse by the bad weather we have recently had. As you are aware we did try to help by phoning around our suppliers for you to see if we could get it any cheaper but unfortunately the part is a main dealer only part. Below is a copy of the last email we sent you on 24th April as I know you said you didn’t get a reply............ Hi Nickie, Thank you for your email. Sorry for the late reply we have been extremely busy these past few days. Unfortunately when it comes to consumable items like tyres, brakes, exhausts etc it is the car owners responsibility to replace them as and when they are needed. On any second hand car you will have wear and tear on every part. You have also had the car near to 6 months now and have covered approximately 5,000 miles. If you would like any further advice then I would recommend calling Trading Standards. Kind Regards Affordable Cars Of Kent Affordable Cars Of Kent/Ex Motability Direct Website: www.affordablecarsofkent.co.uk Phone: 01634 406835 / 01634 406808 Email: sales@affordablecarsofkent.co.uk We have spoken with the AA about this and they are in fact in full agreement with us on the matter. I would suggest maybe contacting Mitsubishi head office about your complaint, alternatively if you like, we could get our customer services team to contact them on your behalf. If you would like us to do this please call the office or email us at sales@affordablecarsofkent.co.uk Kind Regards Affordable Cars Of Kent Team

"Mini Cooper S"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought my parents a Mini Cooper S over 5 years ago now and not had a single issue with it. They are thinking of changing it soon to keep up with the forever growing car market and will certainly see what Affordable Cars Of Kent have to offer. Very impressed from start to finish and look forward to doing business again in the near future. Thank you, if I could give 6 stars I would!

"Very Happy Customer"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I was recommended Affordable Cars of Keny by a friend & I have to say I found all the staff to be very helpful & friendly. I feel I bought a great car at a great price...Thanks for the coffee :-)

"Mercedes Buyer "
3.2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I bought my Mercedes from here in February. The dealer has been quite helpful. I am currently having an issue with the car but I have misplaced my warranty documents so I'm just waiting for some new ones to be sent over. The car was clean and in good shape when I collected it and it was a good price.

Staff from Affordable Cars Of Kent in response to Mercedes Buyer

Hi There, If you would like to give the office a call we would be more than happy to help you with your misplaced documents. Many Thanks Affordable Cars Of Kent

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Very good overall "
4.4 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I purchased a Vauxhall Zafira from here in January. I have had no major issues with it up to now but I don't think the dealers did all they said they were going to. They were meant to be giving the car a service but when I came to collect it, it was still in exactly the same spot as it was when I came to view it! saying that, I am happy with the car and I would happily recommend this dealership to anyone.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
"Helpful and friendly"
4.2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Part exchanged my BMW for an Audi S4. Went for test drive with George. Got good allowance for my car. So far it's been faultless,with 6 months trouble free motoring. Would recommend Affordable Cars of Kent.

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

Affordable Cars Of Kent is an Independent dealership that is based in Rochester. If you’re the owner or employee of this business, please send us a little bit of information about your dealership and why customers should come and visit.

Alternatively, if you’re a customer and you’ve had an experience at this dealership, please leave a review below.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
12 reviews4 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
9
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
2

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Affordable Cars Of Kent
Castle View Business Centre Gas House Road
Rochester
Kent
ME1 1PB

Get in touch

01634 406835
http://www.affordablecarsofkent.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

75%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
25%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Affordable Cars Of Kent

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information

Working with Car Dealer Reviews

Your business page on Car Dealer Reviews presents your business with the ideal opportunity to establish trust with your potential customers who are researching what people are saying about you.

Give your potential customers what they are looking for by working with Car Dealer Reviews who will collect reviews on your behalf. 

Find out more