34% Reviews
replied to
80% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


26 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Bedford Specialist Cars
Leave a review

26 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Bedford Specialist Cars
Leave a review
"Excellent professional company!"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

We have just traded in our VW polo for a later model from Bedford Specialist Cars. The whole experience was a pleasure, thanks to Leigh and his team. The car was exactly as described and the trade in was made having driven from the Forest of Dean to Bedford. The new Polo was shown to us and we had as much time as needed to examine it. I cannot recommend this company highly enough. A small frindly company who put customer care FIRST. Many thanks Leigh Regards Sara & Peter

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+3 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Very Highly Recommended"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I live in the far North of Scotland, a distance of 600m miles from Bedford. I did a google search on the Monday evening looking for a car which has been on my wife’s list for nearly three years, I could not believe my eyes, there was a top of the range model and one of only 96 ever made listed on the Bedford Specialist Cars website. I contacted Leigh on the Tuesday morning and he could not have be more helpful. The car had 5 months current MOT, but he had no hesitation in offering to get a fresh MOT covering the car for a full 12 months. I was unable to travel down to Bedford until the end of the week, so was extremely anxious not to miss out on the car, It was then explained that I could reserve first refusal of the car by paying a very small deposit which was refundable if the car was not as specified, so I immediately took advantage of this offer. I was assuming I would have to sell my wife’s present car privately, but Leigh made me an offer I could not refuse. I made arrangements that I would drive down to near Bedford on the Friday and then call in at his premises on the Saturday to do the transaction. I was making extremely good progress on the Friday and realised it would be possible to reach Bedford by mid-afternoon, so I gave Leigh a call and he was very happy to bring our appointment forward. When I saw the car, it was exactly as specified and I immediately knew it had my wife’s name on it. I drove the car North on the Saturday and my wife is over the moon with it. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in giving Leigh and his business a full five stars, it was a real pleasure dealing with him and it was certainly worth my 1200 miles round trip.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful

leigh hoffman from Bedford Specialist Cars in response to Very Highly Recommended

Jim it was such a pleasure to meet you and I am so happy your wife is happy with the car.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"I couldn't recommend this company. "
2.6 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

After a few days of negotiating with Bedford Specialist cars with emails going back and forth I certainly believed that we had successfully negotiated a deal at least in principle on a particular car, I had been searching for this make, model and spec for quite some time so you can imagine how happy I was to finally see an end to my search and all that remained was to go and view the car and if it checked out hand over the cash, they didn't ask for a deposit? But I would have happily paid one if they had asked me to do so Unfortunately in the interim of me arranging a time off work and transport to view the car so a couple of days...they sold the car to someone else! As far as I was concerned I am a man of my word and there would be no reason for a courtesy call from them to ask me if I was still interested in the car, but if they were for any reason unsure of my commitment then of course they were very welcome to call me and ask me to confirm but unfortunately that didn't happen? No text, no email no nothing they just flat out sold the car to someone else, this in my opinion was at the very least discourteous and very unprofessional! I don't see why it says "we have a reputation for quality customer service" on their website, because that certainly doesn't seem to be accurate in this case, they don't seem to be interested in looking after their clients or at least it doesn't feel that way and as you may imagine I certainly don't feel important to them and instead I am left feeling bitterly disappointed such a waste of my time and so completely unnecessary, I have appealed to them about this but I have not yet received any reply.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+3 Found this review helpful

Leigh Hoffman from Bedford Specialist Cars in response to I couldn't recommend this company.

Hi Robert, I am blown away you have made a poor review on my business. The true facts are as follows which are all documented should you try to challenge them. 14/12/2018: Initial sales inquiry. via Autotrader (we respond with any questions within 2 mins) 16/12/2018: We follow your inquiry up again 2 days later to advise you the advert has produced a lot of interest so if you are interest to act quickly. 21/12/2018: You offer £13k for the car which is up for £14995 so clearly we decline. 27/12/2018: Your email confirms the spec isnt what you are looking for as its not a SEL but a standard spec and welcome me to keep in touch if i get desperate to sell the car for a big discount. 01/01/2019: You send a email upping your offer to £13750 which we declined. 02/01/2019: You offer £13995 which i welcome you to make a viewing to see what your thoughts are on the car and suggest we go from there once you have test driven and inspected the car. 03/01/2019: Even after you making several offers you are still emailing for lots more info on the car which we supply (even though we are not open for business and you confirm how amazed you are you got a response out of working hours) , this makes us unsure if you are a serious buyer because surely you wouldnt make a serious offer if you have no idea what the cars spec,history is etc ..... you would have thought you would have asked all of this info prior to making a serious offer. 04/01/2019: You agreed to view the car on the 5th January. 05/01/2019: You didnt turn up for your appointment and didnt call,email or text to say you were not going to make the appt ( we asked you to confirm if you need to cancel or change the appt) so we sold it to the other customer who was also interested in buying the car. 06/01/2019: We received a text saying you were ill and couldnt make the appt (if you were so serious about buying the car why didnt you call/text/email to tell me you couldnt make it so this would have given us confidence you were still serious (because i am afraid we get lots of people saying they are going to buy a car then go on the missing list when they dont arrive for their appt) and we confirmed we had to sell the car because of the high interest. 08/01/2019: You text with a pretty nasty text saying how unhappy you are and why we didnt put the car aside for you even though your previous correspondence as listed above gave us no confidence you were actually going to go ahead and buy the car. I hope the info i have listed above will clarify BSC have tried our best to help Mr Robert Trickett the best we can but we would not pressurise a customer to put a deposit down unless its offered but we did make him clear over a month ago the car has produced a lot of interest so not to hang around in making a decision.

Robert in response to I couldn't recommend this company.

I have to say Leigh your communication was indeed very good for the most part which leads me to question why all of a sudden it was too much trouble to contact me and let me know that you intended to sell the car to someone else?? The car that I was very clearly interested in buying?? I just cannot get my head around that?? Was it a better offer or something? I see you have been busy reading through your emails but you’re a little bit off on one or two things and if you’ll just allow me to clarify: Ok so firstly I certainly didn’t say “I welcome you to get back in touch if you get desperate to sell the car for a big discount! Perhaps you were talking to someone else? Or perhaps you made an assumption about me either way this is certainly not accurate Secondly, you said “I welcome you to make a viewing to see what your thoughts are on the car and suggest we go from there once you have test driven and inspected the car” You and I never had that conversation so again you must be confusing me with another client So after making no less than three offers including my final offer on the car which you seemed to be happy with I then asked you for just the service history and the registration number so that I can do a history check, your listing already stated that there was a service history so the paper work simply confirms everything, a history check is a chargeable service so not really much point in doing that unless you are actually seriously going to buy a car, so with that in mind I can see no reason why you would assume that I was not interested in buying the car based on all of that?? I certainly did not make any appointment to view the car on any date I said that I was looking into train times and that I would get back to you and confirm a date and hopefully it would be at the weekend but at no time was any appointment confirmed and you certainly did not ask me if I wanted to cancel any appointment at any time? I was indeed very unwell on this particular weekend and I did send you a text out of courtesy just to explain why I never got back to you, so your version of events is again inaccurate I’ll assume that this is simply some kind of confusion about this? And if in fact that was the case why on earth didn’t you just ask me if I still wanted to buy the car, was that really so much to ask? You after all are providing the quality customer service? You had 10 seconds of your time to loose and a big fat pay out for your trouble so that’s a pretty good return on investment for one phone call! So let’s talk about the so called nasty text? I’ll type it here word for word so that the readers can judge for themselves just how completely nasty I am: “Leigh I don’t really understand why you took someone else’s deposit when we had already agreed a price on the car? And in my mind it was just a formality to go see the car and pay for it, I cannot see why you would be unsure of my intentions but if you were why didn’t you just send me a text to ask me before taking a deposit from someone else? That would only have taken a minute of your time We had already agreed a deal on this but then you still take enquiries from other people? It should be them waiting for me to pick the car up and not the other way around? If you wanted a deposit why didn’t you just ask me for one and make it clear that you would still take offers on the car if I didn’t pay a deposit, I made an offer that you were happy with so I have to say I really shouldn’t be in this position” If I offended please then please do accept my apologies?

"Great service prompt payment"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Would highly recommend Bedford Specialist Cars if you have a low mileage car you are looking to sell.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful

leigh hoffman from Bedford Specialist Cars in response to Great service prompt payment

Thank you Melanie for the recommendation. All the best Leigh

"volvo s60 t6"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Very pleased with my purchase from Bedford Specialist Cars. Worth the distance travelled. straightforward with no pressure. would recommend to friends and family. Keith was a pleasure to do business with. many thanks. Kris.

leigh hoffman from Bedford Specialist Cars in response to volvo s60 t6

Thank you for your business , glad you are pleased with the Volvo and the service you have received. All the best Leigh and Keith

"Car"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Fantastic seller great car. Very helpful seller would definitely use again thanks for a great car Leigh very pleased.

LEIGH HOFFMAN from Bedford Specialist Cars in response to Car

Thankyou for the kind review and your business John. Happy New year.

"Excellent buying experience"
4.6 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Met Leigh, and his wife exactly, at the agreed time and found them both extremely polite and professional. We agreed a mutually satisfactory part exchange for my vehicle and concluded the deal in a most satisfactory manner. Since then, Leigh has responded to minor queries with the same professionalism. Whilst I have only had the new car for a few days, I have no doubt he will support me with any issues that may arise. Should this not be the case then I would expect to deal with him directly, before posting any further review/comments.

"Great service! Great cars!"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Travelled all the way from Leeds to purchase my new car from Leigh at Bedford Specialist Cars and wasn't disappointed. The car was waiting for us and in immaculate condition ready for when myself and my father arrived so we took it for a quick test drive and decided to buy the car. Leigh was honest, friendly and made the whole experience easy as can be...even after a two and a half hour drive! Still, that gave me chance to get to know the new car on the way home!

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful
"Steven"
3.8 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I am happy enough with the car I purchased but the dealer wasn't truthful about a couple of points; On the phone I asked what condition the tyres were on the car and whether they were matching brands. Response was same brand premium tyre all round with great tread. The reality was 2 premium on rear and 2 budget brand on front - one of which had gouges out the sidewall. I also asked if there was service paperwork to back up the stamps in the service book. Response was all paperwork/invoices present for the services - reality was only one receipt present. None for the other 5 services. Minor points and not exactly a deal-breaker, but when I'm travelling nearly 500 miles to view I want to be told the whole truth before deciding to travel.

Leigh Hoffman from Bedford Specialist Cars in response to Steven

Hi Steven, I am very sorry about the misunderstanding regarding the tyres and service invoices this was honestly not intentional and i wish you had of shown me prior to you taking delivery so we may have been able to sort something out. My independent vehicle report suggests the front tyres are brand new virtually and rear tyres have above 4mm of tread, in regards to the service history the car does have a fully stamped service history as promised and i am sure we can obtain a copy of the invoices if you would be kind enough to send me copy of the booklet. Please call if you have any further queries. Kind regards Leigh.

steven in response to Steven

Just a quick update. I took the dealer up on his offer to try to salvage some paperwork for me, sent him a copy of the stamped book. Had ZERO response back from the trader. I didn't notice the different branded tyres until I got home, but yes I would have raised the issue with you there and then. I don't know how it could have been a miss understanding - you were walking round the car whilst I was on the phone to you, I specifically asked if the tryes were matching brands - you said yes. Your independent mechanic report? You showed no evidence of that to me. Yes the service book was stamped, no report present. When I checked the oil it certainly didn't look like it had been freshly changed. So I'll be paying for a new service and two new tyres. Not what I expect after only owning the car a month, I'd expect that with buying a car privately, but not from a trader.

Leigh Hoffman from Bedford Specialist Cars in response to Steven

Hi Steven The car was serviced in April 2016 by Castle Hill Garage so unsure why you are getting it done again, but surely before you get the car serviced and spend any money all you need to do is call the number in the service book stamp and they will clarify it was done. I have asked all of the service stations to email you a copy of the invoice or some kind of confirmation that the services have been completed as the service book suggests so i apologise if you havent received this yet and i will chase them up for you. It was a misunderstanding regarding the tyres i do not remember you asking specifically about brands i recall talking about what wear they had but if you did i am sorry but i cannot recall this. As i say if you need any clarification of what we have done to help resolve your questions please dont hesitate to call 01234 213335.

"Keith"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Excellent from start to finish nothing was to much trouble. Very knowledgable about the car and its history, leigh was honest and dealt with me in a very professional manner. Looking at other vehicles in his stock they were all prepared to a very high standard something I can't say about ever dealership I have visited. I would definitely us this dealer again and highly recommend it.

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

Selling some of the most sought after car makes and models including Fiat, Ford and Audi; Bedford Specialist Cars are a family run business that have a big variety on offer. As well as having plenty of cars in stock, they also have the options for finance, part exchange and extended warranties too.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
26 reviews4.6 out of 5 stars — Rated Excellent
Excellent
21
Very Good
2
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Bedford Specialist Cars
Unit 8 Bedford Business Centre Mile Road
Bedford
Bedfordshire
MK42 9TW

Get in touch

01234 213335
http://www.bedfordspecialistcars.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

80%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
34%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Bedford Specialist Cars

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information

Working with Car Dealer Reviews

Your business page on Car Dealer Reviews presents your business with the ideal opportunity to establish trust with your potential customers who are researching what people are saying about you.

Give your potential customers what they are looking for by working with Car Dealer Reviews who will collect reviews on your behalf. 

Find out more