50% Reviews
replied to
50% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


12 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Dunwell Motor Company
Leave a review

12 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Dunwell Motor Company
Leave a review
"Great service & staff"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I heard about Dunwell Motor Group from a friend who bought a car from there and had a great experience and I was not disappointed! I found my dream car there and the staff were friendly, helpful and answered all my questions honestly. I took finance out on the car and they talked me through the whole process and I had many questions as it my first time financing a car and they were great through out the whole process. I have since been back to get my car maintained by them (MOTs etc) and they are brilliant. Will definitely buy from them again!

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
"Oil leaks"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

After nearly a year of persistent trouble with oil leaks, a replacement rocker cover (due to old one being glued back together after engine failure a month into having the car.. depolution issues..abs/esp issues...have had to obtain an independent engineering report to sort this at the cost of 180 quid...to take this further. How on earth Dunwell Motor Company can sleep at night is beyond me...this car has cost me hundreds of pounds!!! And still issues to be sorted out.

Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Oil leaks

Sam bought her car back at the start of novemeber 2017. She did have a problem with her car unfortunately, her timing chain had jumped at no fault to anyone. It was an unfortunate event on a 9 year old used car. However this happened on boxing day when we were shut and she emailed us telling us her car had broke down and was distraught. Myself came in during xmas to meet her at our garage where the car was recovered and gave her a courtesy car to get her through the festive period and down to england to see her mum. The car was inspected and confirmed jumped timing chain, although out of warranty we worked with the finance company and sam and had the engine stripped and rebuilt which the cost was split between us, the finance comany and Sam at a cost of £150. She picked the vehicle up and was asked to return the vehicle after 500 miles. We never seen Sam again. Now recently she has come to us to blame an oil leak on the "engine rebuilt" a year later. She had a engineer report carried out on her own back which came back to be a leak from the banjo joint on the oil feed pipe feeding the turbo which was written down in the report to have nothing to do with us. The oil feed pipe is actually a very common problem on the 1.6 turbo petrol engines and is a simple seal that leaks. We now have Sam writting emails and reveiws demanding for us to repair this oil leak which has been backed up on our behalf by the scotia report and the finance comapany. This problem has nothing to do with us and even though Sam had a problem at the start we bent over backwards and helped her. The bulk of Sam's review is coorect however the details are missed out.

"Distance no object?"
2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

We were downsizing from a two vehicle household to one. I have had one car for fifteen years, my husband has had fifteen vehicles in that time. We eventually decided on a compromise and after being pipped at the post in Inverness we found our dream vehicle in Haddington. Between us we asked all the right questions and were given suitable answers. Payment transfer was easy, sorting out tax and insurance was easy with guidance. Date set and despite awful weather conditions hubby went to collect the car. There was a new MoT on the vehicle, but on arrival home (300miles) there was an issue with steering and the engine management light was on. Phoned the garage to be told it should go back to them for repair, but as we had warranty it could go to local garage for repair. Our local garage was shocked that the car had passed an MoT and although he managed to reset the tracking there was still an issue with the stop/start due to the additive not working properly. This could only be resolved by a Peugeot dealer (80 miles away). Next day the car broke down again and was taken to Peugeot dealership. They had it for a week putting things right during which time we had to pull out of the sale of my previous car as due to disabilities we could not be without a vehicle. The breakdown company were reluctant to take the car that far away but I explained the fault could not be fixed locally. When I spoke to Dunwell they said the car should have gone back to them, but there was no way of getting it there. To add insult to injury the warranty would not pay out because they had not been consulted first. I put my complaint in writing with backup receipts but have so far received no reply, despite the fact the letter was sent recorded delivery and had been signed for. I truly wish I had never heard of this company. The outlay to put it roadworthy has been £1,000 over the £3,000 cost of the car. I have no confidence in it any more and there is now a clonking noise on starting nobody can put a finger on what it is........more anxiety until that gets fixed. The documents came home and the "Two careful owners we have sold the car to"......turned out to be four owners....one of whom was AVIS rent a car, The full service history was a farce too....the pages had been torn out of the service book and Peugeot said it only had a limited service history because of its original owner...AVIS.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+3 Found this review helpful

Meg in response to Distance no object?

Despite a letter and a few phone calls the owner has still refused to address the issues. His salesman is most apologetic and keeps saying he will ask the owner to call or write a reply. Not good customer relations, to the point of rudeness on the owners part.

Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Distance no object?

Hi Meg, Sorry to hear you have been left unsatisfied, We understand you did'nt have a problem until a number of weeks after collecting the vehicle. But being 300 miles away it was difficult for us to do as much as we would have liked to and that is why we paid for a warranty through a company to help if you had a problem. We don't have any say if they accept to pay or not. We spoke to the warranty company and they mentioned the issue you had was a wear and tear item and because the car had just under 100k miles it was not covered. We don't recall the ownership, as this is something that the public can easily access through a quick search and is not something we would hide. If you would like to phone us to discuss we would be happy to talk to you.

"stay well clear...delboys"
1.4 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

bought a top spec car from them with a years MOT. Wasn't top spec at all, half the stuff listed didn't exist. Asked for a refund under the 2005 consumer rights act...was pretty much told where to stick it. Were very nice and friendly until they get your money. Car had been MOT'd the previous day, yet there was a chip in the windscreen. Took to garage and told it should never have passed an MOT..of course they do their own MOT's. Avoid at all costs..

Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to stay well clear...delboys

This customer is a very unhonest person. She bought a car with no issues, she viewed her car TWICE and test drove it. After 3 days of ownership she phoned up to ask why is didnt have cruise control or heated seats. Dunwell explained it didnt have these options, Karen then demanded £300 for not having these options. Dunwell asked her to bring the car back for a refund if she was not happy but she insisted on wanting £300 or she would write a bad review. We have now taken this to our legal advisor as we don't appreciate lies and threatened with blackmail.

"Ist class service always "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

My self and my family have been buying cars from dunwell motor group for several years now And the quality of the cars we have had and the professional service has been 2nd to none keep up the good work guys

"Merc"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Brought this car last week with a promise of new M O T which I got.Once home with car found out the horn wasn't working and the bonnet wouldn't open why then was it given new MOT had it fixed at my own expense of £150 which the company will not pay back.

Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Merc

Hi Paul Thanks for you're review but we would appreciate a bit of honesty. Indeed you phoned up mentioning you're horn faulty and bonnet not opening to which we asked you to bring the car back and these would be covered under warranty. 3 times we spoke and booked you in and you failed to turn up. You then phoned up to say you had you're local garage do it and wanted us to pay the bill, we explained work had to be carried out here for the warranty on many occasions. You bought a very nice car but had a couple small issues which we were happy to fix but unfortunately you didnt work with us to resolve them and have left an un honest review.

"REVIEW"
4 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

THAT'S NOW 5 I HAVE BOUGHT FROM DUNWELL MOTOR COMPANY IN HADDINGTON!

"Fantastic! "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I bought a Mini from Dunwell Motor Company Haddington and it's just fabulous! The staff were so professional and couldn't be more helpful. I highly recommend them.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful
"Not so good..."
1.5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I bought a nice wee car from Dunwell Motor Company Haddington a few months ago and asked about a warranty. The owner advised me that there would be no need for one as the car was great and reliable. They made me pay for the one instead (3 months at an expensive cost). The week after the warranty ran out an injector broke and the car broke down on a dual carriageway. After a very expensive repair I now have a difficult to diagnose fault that makes the car run badly, and have been advised will likely be very expensive to fix. After a few different opinions it seems probable that someone put petrol in the diesel engine prior to me buying it. It's unlucky that it broke just after the warranty ran out, yes, but it is also likely that they new about this at the time of sale.

Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Not so good...

Thank you for you're review but unfortunatley if the wrong fuel had been used in a car it would'nt run, also you ran the car over 3 months with no issues ? so how are we to know if this was the case ? The unfortunate event of it happening outside warranty is the issue you aren't happy with ? as i am sorry this happened but this isn't our fault or to warrant a bad review ?

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"honda civic dunwell motor company"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Since buying my car from Dunwell Motor Company everything has been going well, I did have to go back for the brake discs and pads to be replaced but they did it no problem. They're a good dealer and they took care of me during and after.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+3 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

Dunwell Motor Company in Haddington is one of the two sites that form part this used car dealership who now have over 15 years experience in the industry. They have over 100 cars in stock at any one time and also have on site an MOT and Service centre for any of those tests, checks or repairs that you may need. Some examples of cars that they stock include Toyota Avensis, Vauxhall Corse and Volkswagen Touran.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Franchise Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
12 reviews3.1 out of 5 stars — Rated Average
Excellent
5
Very Good
1
Average
1
Poor
3
Terrible
2

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Dunwell Motor Company
Bye-pass Road
Haddington
East Lothian
EH41 3PH

Get in touch

01620 829878
http://www.dunwellmotorcompany.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

50%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
50%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Dunwell Motor Company

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information

Working with Car Dealer Reviews

Your business page on Car Dealer Reviews presents your business with the ideal opportunity to establish trust with your potential customers who are researching what people are saying about you.

Give your potential customers what they are looking for by working with Car Dealer Reviews who will collect reviews on your behalf. 

Find out more