Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader
We bought a car from them August last year 2020. To cut long story short. We were told they would service the car to a high standard unlike other garages. Two month after owning the car I had to jack the car up to look underneath as there was rattling coming from underneath, while looking underneath the car I noticed the oil filter is old, clearly they haven't done what they were supposed to do. I checked the service book they have stamped it. I informed them my finding. They started making excuses saying that the car didn't need serving it had another like 7k before its needing serviced. And I asked why did they stamped the book if they hadn't done the service. Their excuse was it was a mess communication with their mechanic. Aweek after I informed them the service light came on, and the car has only done 800 miles since it got delivered to us. I asked them that if I take the car to a local garage to get it serviced would they pay for the service. They refused that, again them saying that the car didn't need serviced. So we contacted the finance company they contacted the garage. The finance company kept me informed to what was happening over the phone and via emails. The garage offered to service the car but we had to take it back to their garage, we refused the offer as we had to travel 6hrs there and back just to get an oil and oil filter changed. The finance company phoned as again and said that the garage were willing to offer us £20 towards the service £20? What an insult. At the end the finance company had to pay for the service. My advice is to avoid dunwell motors go else where...
Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Wouldn't buy from them again.
Hi Mr Arenas I can only apologise you feel unsatisfied with your experience but I just want to clear a couple things up. I mentioned your car would receive a maintenance service i.e. it would be put on a ramp and inspected out with the MOT and you assumed it was an oil and filter service. We stamped the book to mark that it had a maintenance service as mentioned when you bought the vehicle. We did not carry out an oil and filter as mentioned it had 7k miles left from the previous Suzuki service. I also explained your filter looks old because it is at the bottom of the engine and made from metal so will get rusty over time unfortunately. I am aware you went to the finance company about this and we paid them to service your car to resolve the situation.
Mr arenas in response to Wouldn't buy from them again.
In response to Marcus's response. You told me that you were going to do the oil and oil filter change. Anyways you said and I assumed and all that. If you did the inspections on the vehicle like you said how come I never got a copy of the report. You also said that the vehicle didn't need oil and oil filter change because it had another 7k miles to go before it needed it. then how come the service light came on just after doing 800 miles? And if you really are a good garage like you said yous are then how come you waited till I went to the finance provider. They did all the running round due to your mess up. And what I found very insulting is that you offered us £20 towards the service £20!! Also you mentioned about MOT I don't remember talking about MOT can you pls refresh my memory?
Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Wouldn't buy from them again.
Unfortunately it is not our issue you misunderstood that the vehicle was to receive an inspection. We also find it highly offensive to send a blackmailing email you had sent asking us to pay to service your car or you will leave us a bad review.
Having not bought a used car for some time we approached the matter with some trepidation. So glad we chanced upon Dunwell Motor Company and in particular Mark and Marcus at the Haddington site. They had a Hyundai i10 that ticked all our boxes at a great price. No off putting sales patter or pressure. Just honest, informed answers to any questions we had. The car was MOT'd, serviced and a couple of worn parts replaced before we collected. A couple of minor issues arose post-sale but after a quick call we were assured they would be addressed if we popped back in, no reluctance whatsoever. Back in today and everything was sorted, in fact I would say Mark went beyond the call of duty. Great car, great price and great service. Would definitely recommend.
I must admit that I was slightly concerned when reading some of the reviews on here, after I had seen a car I was interested in at Dunwell Motors in Haddington..... To the point that I felt that I couldn't make a decision without getting a second opinion from my regular Mechanic..... I needn't have worried..... Mark was extremely helpful, and had no problem at all allowing the car to be given the once over, after which I was more than confident to go ahead.... The result is that I have a car I am delighted with, in immaculate condition at an excellent price, and all the service I received from Dunwell was quick, knowledgeable, professional and efficient...... Will definitely recommend and use again!
Travelled down to Dunwell Motoe Company to buy a fiat 500 car had new mot on way home the clutch stuck twice and headlight bulb not working reg plate bulb gone too and boot switch gone called and was give cheque to fix I have since had car in too garage from grinding coming from the back and told now need to replace both rear discs and pads at front and new discs at fro t as the ones on the car have been tried to be cleaned up also the bonnet needs to be adjusted not happy.
Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Terrible
Hi Wayne We are sorry to hear you're unhappy, we apologised to you having a couple of issues in the first month that we happily resolved and paid for repairs at you're local garage. This is the first time us hearing you having issues, i wish you had got in touch to see if we could help, i admit we cannot assist on brakes in some instances due to it being a wear and tear item but we like to assist if possible. Kind Regards
I heard about Dunwell Motor Group from a friend who bought a car from there and had a great experience and I was not disappointed! I found my dream car there and the staff were friendly, helpful and answered all my questions honestly. I took finance out on the car and they talked me through the whole process and I had many questions as it my first time financing a car and they were great through out the whole process. I have since been back to get my car maintained by them (MOTs etc) and they are brilliant. Will definitely buy from them again!
After nearly a year of persistent trouble with oil leaks, a replacement rocker cover (due to old one being glued back together after engine failure a month into having the car.. depolution issues..abs/esp issues...have had to obtain an independent engineering report to sort this at the cost of 180 quid...to take this further. How on earth Dunwell Motor Company can sleep at night is beyond me...this car has cost me hundreds of pounds!!! And still issues to be sorted out.
Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Oil leaks
Sam bought her car back at the start of novemeber 2017. She did have a problem with her car unfortunately, her timing chain had jumped at no fault to anyone. It was an unfortunate event on a 9 year old used car. However this happened on boxing day when we were shut and she emailed us telling us her car had broke down and was distraught. Myself came in during xmas to meet her at our garage where the car was recovered and gave her a courtesy car to get her through the festive period and down to england to see her mum. The car was inspected and confirmed jumped timing chain, although out of warranty we worked with the finance company and sam and had the engine stripped and rebuilt which the cost was split between us, the finance comany and Sam at a cost of £150. She picked the vehicle up and was asked to return the vehicle after 500 miles. We never seen Sam again. Now recently she has come to us to blame an oil leak on the "engine rebuilt" a year later. She had a engineer report carried out on her own back which came back to be a leak from the banjo joint on the oil feed pipe feeding the turbo which was written down in the report to have nothing to do with us. The oil feed pipe is actually a very common problem on the 1.6 turbo petrol engines and is a simple seal that leaks. We now have Sam writting emails and reveiws demanding for us to repair this oil leak which has been backed up on our behalf by the scotia report and the finance comapany. This problem has nothing to do with us and even though Sam had a problem at the start we bent over backwards and helped her. The bulk of Sam's review is coorect however the details are missed out.
We were downsizing from a two vehicle household to one. I have had one car for fifteen years, my husband has had fifteen vehicles in that time. We eventually decided on a compromise and after being pipped at the post in Inverness we found our dream vehicle in Haddington. Between us we asked all the right questions and were given suitable answers. Payment transfer was easy, sorting out tax and insurance was easy with guidance. Date set and despite awful weather conditions hubby went to collect the car. There was a new MoT on the vehicle, but on arrival home (300miles) there was an issue with steering and the engine management light was on. Phoned the garage to be told it should go back to them for repair, but as we had warranty it could go to local garage for repair. Our local garage was shocked that the car had passed an MoT and although he managed to reset the tracking there was still an issue with the stop/start due to the additive not working properly. This could only be resolved by a Peugeot dealer (80 miles away). Next day the car broke down again and was taken to Peugeot dealership. They had it for a week putting things right during which time we had to pull out of the sale of my previous car as due to disabilities we could not be without a vehicle. The breakdown company were reluctant to take the car that far away but I explained the fault could not be fixed locally. When I spoke to Dunwell they said the car should have gone back to them, but there was no way of getting it there. To add insult to injury the warranty would not pay out because they had not been consulted first. I put my complaint in writing with backup receipts but have so far received no reply, despite the fact the letter was sent recorded delivery and had been signed for. I truly wish I had never heard of this company. The outlay to put it roadworthy has been £1,000 over the £3,000 cost of the car. I have no confidence in it any more and there is now a clonking noise on starting nobody can put a finger on what it is........more anxiety until that gets fixed. The documents came home and the "Two careful owners we have sold the car to"......turned out to be four owners....one of whom was AVIS rent a car, The full service history was a farce too....the pages had been torn out of the service book and Peugeot said it only had a limited service history because of its original owner...AVIS.
Meg in response to Distance no object?
Despite a letter and a few phone calls the owner has still refused to address the issues. His salesman is most apologetic and keeps saying he will ask the owner to call or write a reply. Not good customer relations, to the point of rudeness on the owners part.
Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Distance no object?
Hi Meg, Sorry to hear you have been left unsatisfied, We understand you did'nt have a problem until a number of weeks after collecting the vehicle. But being 300 miles away it was difficult for us to do as much as we would have liked to and that is why we paid for a warranty through a company to help if you had a problem. We don't have any say if they accept to pay or not. We spoke to the warranty company and they mentioned the issue you had was a wear and tear item and because the car had just under 100k miles it was not covered. We don't recall the ownership, as this is something that the public can easily access through a quick search and is not something we would hide. If you would like to phone us to discuss we would be happy to talk to you.
bought a top spec car from them with a years MOT. Wasn't top spec at all, half the stuff listed didn't exist. Asked for a refund under the 2005 consumer rights act...was pretty much told where to stick it. Were very nice and friendly until they get your money. Car had been MOT'd the previous day, yet there was a chip in the windscreen. Took to garage and told it should never have passed an MOT..of course they do their own MOT's. Avoid at all costs..
Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to stay well clear...delboys
This customer is a very unhonest person. She bought a car with no issues, she viewed her car TWICE and test drove it. After 3 days of ownership she phoned up to ask why is didnt have cruise control or heated seats. Dunwell explained it didnt have these options, Karen then demanded £300 for not having these options. Dunwell asked her to bring the car back for a refund if she was not happy but she insisted on wanting £300 or she would write a bad review. We have now taken this to our legal advisor as we don't appreciate lies and threatened with blackmail.
My self and my family have been buying cars from dunwell motor group for several years now And the quality of the cars we have had and the professional service has been 2nd to none keep up the good work guys
Brought this car last week with a promise of new M O T which I got.Once home with car found out the horn wasn't working and the bonnet wouldn't open why then was it given new MOT had it fixed at my own expense of £150 which the company will not pay back.
Marcus Thomson from Dunwell Motor Company in response to Merc
Hi Paul Thanks for you're review but we would appreciate a bit of honesty. Indeed you phoned up mentioning you're horn faulty and bonnet not opening to which we asked you to bring the car back and these would be covered under warranty. 3 times we spoke and booked you in and you failed to turn up. You then phoned up to say you had you're local garage do it and wanted us to pay the bill, we explained work had to be carried out here for the warranty on many occasions. You bought a very nice car but had a couple small issues which we were happy to fix but unfortunately you didnt work with us to resolve them and have left an un honest review.
Dunwell Motor Company in Haddington is one of the two sites that form part this used car dealership who now have over 15 years experience in the industry. They have over 100 cars in stock at any one time and also have on site an MOT and Service centre for any of those tests, checks or repairs that you may need. Some examples of cars that they stock include Toyota Avensis, Vauxhall Corse and Volkswagen Touran.
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Dunwell Motor Company
East Lothian Council
Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership
If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at email@example.com
There aren't currently any photos for Dunwell Motor Company, help complete this page by uploading your own.
What photos are right?
We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £99 per month.
Learn more about how our service works below.
Here is what happens next:
We also offer Pay Per Review service available upon request meaning you can boost your rating overnight
You send us your customers contact details and we call them up and collect those all important reviews straight away.
See your excellent reviews we collect for you dealership broadcast on Car Dealer Reviews in a matter of hours
At Car Dealer Reviews we go further than other review sites, we ensure that you see the most trusted reviews by asking for verification.
By providing a sales invoice or receipt we know these reviewers have visited the dealership. So when you see this icon, you know it’s from a real customer.