Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


26 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Fords Of Winsford
Leave a review

26 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Fords Of Winsford
Leave a review
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Did not advertise mods, Ignored me after"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Where to begin, if Fords didnt have the exact colour and spec of car I wanted I would of walked many times I made an appt to view a car and trade in my car, I gave all details and within the week leading up to the viewing 4 people from FoW called to confirm our appt. One gave a valuation for my vehcile which I was happy with. On the day we turned up our appt was "not on the system", he had gotten a babysitter and driven 2 hours for an appt that had been confirmed at a minimum 4 times. We were then sat down with a woman named jenna after almost an hour of waiting. jenna clearly had no interest in discussing the car with us, several times while trying to get information she got up and walked away from us to talk to another customer in the waiting area without so much as an excuse me, she offered no info about the car or paperwork to see and stated "you have obviously checked the listing online and all of the info is there". She then went to check my vehcile and came back with a valuation almost £2000 less than what I had been given over the phone, when I mentioned this she said there was no log of that valuation in the system and refused to talk to the man who had given me this valuation. Over the next week or so after dealing with another member of the FoW team I decided to purchase the vehicle. In the week following me buying the vehcile fords called to tell me the tyres needed changing, I didnt forsee this as a problem but asked several times if the new tyres would match the performance tyres on the vehcile, eventually I was informed 3 budget tyres had been fitted to a £30,000 car so i cancelled the purchase. A manager named Tony then contacted me and agreed that a "prestige" vehicle should not be given with budget tyres and assured me that brand new performance tyres would be fitted to the vehicle so the purchase was back on. everything went smoothly until we collected the car. We soon discovered that the rear tyres were not new as Tony had told us, they were clearly used and sun bleached like they had been sat out for a long time. Pictures were sent to fords to have this rectified, it was then that a "manager" named Stephen wrote in an email "those tyres are brand new, they clearly have 5-6mm of tread" (new tyres have 8mm of tread Stephen). The big issue is that after a few weeks of owning the car we discovered it was modified, nothing on the autotrader or fords website mentioned the mods. I stopped using the vehicle immediatly and contacted fords, I had to chase them up alot for any response and kept getting passed between members of staff, i had the vehicle inspected by a local manufacturer garage (FoW offered to pay for this and have yet to despite me sending a receipt) and they confirmed the mods and how they were negatively impacting the vehcile, evidence of this was forwarded to Fow. We then discovered a folded receipt in with the service paperwork for the mods, FoW knew the vehicle was modified and did not advertise it. That paperwork was not given to us until after we had purchased the car. Its been 2 months, i still have not actually received a response regarding the unadvertised mods to the vehcile, not so much as an apology. FoW will not comment on the tyres other than claiming they are brand new. I constantly have to chase FoW for a reply to emails and have been informed today that my case is being passed to yet another "manager" still with no resolution. I would certainly never deal with FoW again, the reputation they once had seems like it is now being milked. It looks like I will have to take legal action to even have FoW take this serioulsly. Fortunatley I took copies of all adverts and will be sending these to trading standards and the motoring ombudsman.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Electric car no Cable"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought an electric car with them 2 weeks ago. They delivered it without any cable to charge it. I reached out to them almost daily for 2 weeks and still nothing, just "I will chase this" over and over. Horrible costumer service. Avoid

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Car nice and shiny o but full of s**t in"
1.2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

It was the worst experience ever. "gang of thieves" After purchasing the car to speak and deal with a manager or whoever is in charge, it's impossible, a part of the receptionist on the phone. To receive all the documentation, the rac warranty, the gap, and the rest had to call and send so many requests. Even the car is a mass of s**t .. nice and shine outside, full of s**t inside.. After 1 month and 10 days, the car started to be noisy and went to the garage 1st time. £330 (not covered from RAC 3y warranty) After more 15 days, the car was sold as "serviced," but in reality, nothing was made, other £305 After a few more days, yellow light in the dash and limp mode" Egr faulty". The intake manifold,the egr and the whole system are full of s**t. "Mercedes b class 4y old with 26kmiles on the clock" Went to the Rac warranty again, and they refused to pay as it s is not covered under the terms of the policy . They argue it was an existing fault when the policy was taken out and which mean that FOW knows about the car. When I discussed with RAC there isnt nothing to do a part to repair the car with my own money. They reccomand to speak with F.O.W but after 3 months what they can do... F.O.W look so big, so professional, so nice but they are scammers as other so be aware that the surprise its behind the corner.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+3 Found this review helpful
"WHAT IS POINT OF BOOT LID OPENING BUTTON"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

FOW car viewed YD18 RTP 28/10/23 FOW car viewed YD18 RTP – I leave £99 refundable deposit; no email on 29/10/23 as promised by Ryan or call back despite messages left on 30 & 31st October then on 1/11/23 I ring up Amy and ask for REFUND of £99 deposit as no-one called me after messages left on Mon 30/10/23 for Ryan, Tues 31/10/23 for Ryan, nor did I get call back on Wed 1/11/23 from Sophie – PLUS BMW say water in boot causing short circuit hence boot lid not opening with key fob NOR is boot lid shutting with Tailgate lock switch & they will not get repaired by 4/11/23 which was the premise upon which sale was agreed. Funnily enough, I did get a call back on 1/11/23 after I requested a REFUND but I could not take the call. 2/11/23 Ryan rings & says he was off Mon & Tues, but his colleagues said he was busy with customers! Ryan calls back 2hrs later but after speaking to his engineers to say boot lid opens and closes manually and not with key fob. WHAT IS POINT OF BOOT LID OPENING BUTTON ON KEY FOB + CLOSING BUTTON ON ACTUAL TAILGATE IF THEY DO NOT WORK? I ask for refund of £99, Ryan said he will process refund. 4/11/23 12:29 I ring FOW and Lucy says a manager will call me to advise whether refund has been processed as Ryan is on Holiday – he told us on 28/11/23 that he would be releasing car to us?!! Ryan seems to have a lot of holiday time!! STILL WAITING FOR REFUND. Dodgy car.

"Shocking service with no comeback"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Saw early advert that a car I wanted was coming into stock. Contacted FOW straight away to ask that I be told when it was in. Was assured that I would be and there followed a week of emails and calls around this. Then saw 2 photos had been uploaded so phoned to ask if it was there? It was indeed now there although I had not been contacted as promised? Never mind, could I please reserve as per their 48 hour policy and make an appointment to come and view. Yes no problem so appointment made. Myself and wife took day off work and 4 hour round trip to go and see car. Arrived at appointed time only to be told that cars had been sold ?!?! What a total waste of my time and money. Tried to escalate my frustrations up the line but the end result was the same, no car and no compensation unless I wanted to buy an alternative car from them. My time is just as valuable as theirs not withstanding the round trip cost. Feeling very annoyed, wronged and out of pocket.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful
"Poor - just poor. "
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

First off - found a lovely Mercedes on the Trafford Park website. Lovely- would’ve bought immediately. Your “Sales Advisor” gave me a part-ex price for my car based on no Service History and said it would hugely impact the part-ex price. After producing the Service History- he only offered £200 pounds more - oh, by the way, his sales tactics were rubbish. He didn’t even give me the chance to view the Merc I’d enquired about never mind the chance to test drive. My car is a 2016 model with only 20500 miles on it. Went to a “proper” car dealer in Preston the next day and accepted £1000 OVER your “Sales Advisors” offer. You lost a sale and I have already recommended other people to pitch in Preston. 2 are ready to buy already. You need to train your “Sales Advisors” on customer service skills.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Never again, what a nightmare!"
2.6 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I came to view a car on 15/02/2023 and liked what I saw so went ahead and part exchanged my car purchasing the new one from Megan (who was great to deal with). It was arranged to come back and collect the car the following week. So the following week comes round and I collect the car on the Wednesday and from here is where the issues start. By the Friday of the same week I notice that the clutch is slipping and revving to excess when slightly pressing the accelerator a sign of issues with the clutch. There was also a loud knocking/creaking noise which could be heard when braking and cornering at low speeds. All of which should have been identified if Fords of Winsford carry out the “complimentary 88 point inspection” as advertised with the car. Failing that anybody who would have moved the car around the forecourt would have been able to hear the noise. So having spoken with James Brown from Aftersales they advise me to take the car to a local garage to get a quote for the repairs due to the distance I live from the forecourt. I than arrange for the car to be inspected at a local garage and a quote is sent to Fords of Winsford on 08/03/2023 by the garage. After nearly a week of chasing a decision is finally made by Fords of Winsford that they want the car back to repair themselves. So I arrange for the car to go back to Fords of Winsford for the necessary repairs to the clutch to be completed and this is booked in on 22/03/2023 so that I would receive a courtesy car. I then get my car back on 06/04/2023 having been in for the repairs and was hoping this would be the last time I had to take it to a garage for a while, well was I wrong. After driving the one hour journey home I get about five minutes away and low and behold the knocking/creaking noise begins again. So I get back on to the phone to try and speak with James Brown but he was on the phone with someone else and was told he would ring back once finished. About forty-five minutes later and still without the call being returned I ring again asking to speak with James but was again told he was on the phone so I told the woman on the phone that I was on my way back to them with the car and that I would see James face-to-face. In all honesty I was going there go get my money back as with the amount of money being spent you expect to buy a car that is fit for the road on the day of collection. So I return to Fords of Winsford followed by a relative to take me home once I had returned the car and got my money back. On arrival James had gone for his lunch and I was told to return home and that he would give me a call once he had finished his lunch. Instead I waited to see him like I intended. After his lunch James appeared and went to get a mechanic from the garage to go for a test drive in the car to listen for the noises. The car did make the noises on arrival back into Fords of Winsfords car park but the mechanic was unable to diagnose what the issue was without lifting it up on the ramps. James then suggests that I take it back to a local garage and get them to look for a cause fort the noises now. So I agree to that and return home. After speaking to many garages local to me, with little luck, I was unable to get them to look at the car. They say this is due to the time they have to wait out of pocket waiting for Fords of Winsford to pay the invoices they send for the work they have carried out. I then speak with Steve Andrews (as James is on leave) from Aftersales who tells me to try an ATS Euromaster garage as they have an account with them. So I book the car in the be inspected at an ATS garage on 09/05/2023. They look at the car and advise me that the subframe has been removed and not put back into the correct location which they believed would be causing the noise. ATS then advise me that the car would need to be taken to Audi for them to realign the subframe with the necessary location pins needed to put it back in correctly. I then advise Steve of this and get the car booked into Audi on 01/06/2023. I took the car to Audi yesterday for them to inspect it and put the subframe back in correctly. When they have lifted the car onto the ramps they have noticed that the under trays were loose with ‘only a few screws holding the under trays on’. They then noticed that the many of the bolts on the subframe were loose. The bolts connecting the subframe to the steering rack were all loose as well as all of the bolts on both of the back sides of the subframe. They have then noticed one of the top bolts on the subframe was continually turning as the captive nut which sits inside has come away from the welding and will not tighten up at all. This was described as being ‘majorly concerning’ on the Audi Cam video from the technician. They also noted that some of the other washers and bolts are the wrong way round, the air intake ducting is broken and the heat shield is missing from the car. Audi have advised me to get back in touch with Fords of Winsford as it seems when they have replaced the clutch they have not fitted the subframe correctly and the captive nut has been broken when replacing it. This then brings me to today. I have tried calling three times throughout the day to speak with James or Steve but on all three occasions they “were on another call”. This seems to be a reoccurring theme with the staff at Fords of Winsford not being able to speak with them. After over three months of ongoing issues with the car I am ready to visit Fords of Winsford next week to return the car and get my money back before not retuning there again.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+5 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Cowboy car sales, AVOID!!!"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Firstly I want to say that Steven Parsley needs to go on a serious customer service training programme, how he’s a group general manager is beyond me! I bought an Audi A7 for £23k and the very next day after buying I almost had an accident on the motorway due to the ABS kicking in, the resulting ECU check came up with 29 faults. After 2 weeks of being told I needed to sort out the car at a local garage myself and no one wanting to touch it due to the major faults on the ECU I told FOW I was going to Audi direct to which they reacted by offering to take the car (obviously not wanting to foot the main dealer bill). 7 weeks of them having the car and multiple false promises of the car going to be returned to me and it not materialising the car was delivered. The immediate thing I noticed was the front passenger alloy had been badly kerbed and a chunk taken out of the tyre, I got in the car and the resulting kerb hit had put the tracking out so much I had to hold my hands at 20 past and 10 to, that though wasn’t the worst of the problems the car vibrated so violently and there was knocking so load from the engine it was like someone had a sledgehammer smacking the engine. The car was again back at FOW to which I was told it was the injectors, 5 days later I then get an email telling me I can’t have the car back as they don’t feel happy with it and I could have a refund or exchange for a car 2 years older, not even the decency to pick up the phone and call me! I told them I wanted the car to go in to Audi to which I was told I couldn’t have it back, bearing in mind I paid in full to them through a separate finance lender they have held my car ransom for a week refusing to release it giving me no choice but to take the refund. Im now financially worse off by around £2k after paying 2 months finance, insurance, tax, I’ve had to cover the cost of removing my private plate and now have an early penalty clause to cover to get out of the agreement. Steven Parsley basically didn’t give a crap over this and explained it’s not their problem. FOW are the epitome of cowboys they DO NOT care about anything but churning unsafe cars out and making money on them, the whole experience from start to finish just didn’t feel right and I wish I had trusted my gut and walked away when I could, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+6 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"If you’re looking for a good level of af"
1.2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Absolute shambles. Bought a Tiguan R Line from FOW in January and traded in my car. The car went into emergency mode within a week or two of pick up so I returned it. Had to battle a bit for a courtesy car and was given a car that was completely substandard to what I’d bought. Made it known I wasn’t happy to Ken in aftersales and was fobbed off with ‘this is all we have’ Bearing in mind I was 25 weeks pregnant at this point and bought something high up to get myself in and out of easily there wasn’t any real help or understanding. Ended up having to email the managing directors to actually get someone to listen to me when they eventually swapped the courtesy for an Audi Q2 after leaving me with the terrible courtesy for 4 weeks. Was much happier after that point and can say that Lias was a credit and the only reason this isn’t a 1 star. I said that I didn’t have confidence in the car I’d bought and Ken in after sales said ‘they don’t make them like they used to’ which was very helpful. In total, I owned the car 8 weeks and 6 of those it was with FOW in repair. They sold my car for a decent profit and I’m left in no man’s land meanwhile getting more and more pregnant. 6 weeks in to them having it I rejected the car and to be fair some of the actual mechanical issues were out of FOW’s hands and they did agree to the refund relatively quickly - not that there was much grounds to refuse it. I explained they needed to prioritize my refund and make sure it was sent ASAP in the day to avoid leaving me without a car as I needed the trade in money to pay for my new vehicle the following morning. Ken was his usual helpful self and didn’t really seem to take this on board, ignoring my chase email and meaning I had to contact him multiple times. He didn’t provide me with specific confirmation the money had been sent and overall the delay meant the funds didn’t arrive for me to go and collect my new car the following day. The only saving grace with the shambles was Lias the Sales Director who was useful and actually sorted things when he said he would. I should have known it would all go back down hill as soon as Ken was involved. The communication and customer care from FOW was a shambles by all accounts and after being a returning customer it’s safe to say I wouldn’t recommend or consider going back to them again. Actually getting someone to answer the phone is impossible - the amount of times I’ve had to phone them only to be left on hold for 10 minutes at a time waiting for it to be answered is countless.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+4 Found this review helpful
"Waste of time "
1.5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Arrived this morning to look at a few cars. Tedious, time consuming having to wait for the keys to a car sometimes up to 10 mins is annoying. Then you have to do it over and over for each car you want to see. None of the cars have been valeted, are dirty and not even touched. Despite this we did eventually find one we liked. Went to sort a test drive only to be told you cannot test drive. You have to buy the car first! Without driving it!??? Madness. Plus no one told us this before we wasted 3 hrs looking. Won’t be going back. Stop using Covid as an excuse when you let anyone sit in the cars at any time but you can’t test them out because of social distancing. Avoid.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+3 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered
Auto Trader Get a Quote

Want a quote for PPF? Highly competitive quotes on Paint Protection Film for your car

Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered

Dealership Information

With over 1500 cars in stock, Fords of Winsford boast a huge range of cars for sale from their Cheshire based car supermarket. Since being established in 1989; Fords of Winsford has sold cars throughout the most popular ranges and provides hatchback, saloon and even 4X4 options for those who are looking to purchase a new or second hand car. 

Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
26 reviews3.1 out of 5 stars — Rated Average
Excellent
11
Very Good
2
Average
2
Poor
5
Terrible
6

Add Review

  • Submit new information

  • Contact Information

    Address

    Fords Of Winsford
    Wharton Retail Park Weaver Valley Road
    Winsford
    Cheshire West and Chester
    CW7 3AL

    Get in touch

    01606 866199
    http://www.fow.co.uk

    Opening times
    Mon 09:00 - 19:00
    Tue 09:00 - 19:00
    Wed 09:00 - 19:00
    Thu 09:00 - 19:00
    Fri 09:00 - 19:00
    Sat 09:00 - 18:00
    Sun 10:00 - 17:00

    Dealership Statistics

    50%
    Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
    0%
    Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

    Additional Information About Fords Of Winsford

    Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
    Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
    Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
    Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
    FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
    FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
    Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
    Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
    VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


    Are we missing anything?
    You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

    Submit new information

    Working with Car Dealer Reviews

    We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £79 + VAT per month.

    Learn more about how our service works below.

    Find out more