18% Reviews
replied to
45% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


11 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Georgesons Car Sales
Leave a review

11 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Georgesons Car Sales
Leave a review
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Poor Service, Badly prepared car"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Georgesons prepared the vehicle for sale but when I received the car, the onboard stated a service was due also there were bodily fluid stains on the passenger and drivers seat, missing trim all down the drivers side, badly sprayed rear quarter panel, badges missing from the tailgate. Georgesons told me to ignore the service reminder as they didn't have the equipment to reschedule the onboard and that the next service would be in 18 months. Ok now we're up to date: Had the car serviced by a independent garage and the garage called me in to show me the oil as it was like Tar and that they had never seen oil that bad and the oil filter had totally collapsed on itself - reflective of a vehicle that had done a good 50.000 plus I called Georgeson and asked if they could checked their records in the way of a invoice for the unique part number for the filter and confirm that it was the case that they didn't have the test equipment to reset the onboard. I told Joseph I need my fears allayed, as the service garage told me that this would had definitely shortened the life of the Turbos Initially Joseph was polite and replied he would obtain it for me, but out of nowhere Joseph came back and said he's not going to give it to me as it wouldn't be the end of it. I find Joseph childish behaviour very unprofessional, I've emailed Joseph on numerous occasions throughout Sept 2023 and he chooses to ignore all my emails. I phoned Joseph today and again I politely requested if i could have a copy of the invoice and acknowledgement that the only reason my car onboard was calling out a service upon taking delivery was that Georgesons didn't have the test equipment. Sadly Joseph took the same stance , he won't be bullied into giving this information. Honestly it's like dealing with a 5 year old. Personally his behaviours reinforces my worst thoughts, the car wasn't serviced and it was also evident the car hadn't been properly prepared as I mentioned above and I also forgot to mention the tailgate didn't operate properly. Yes they paid to have the stains removed, sent the missing trim parts, fixed the tailgate but they can't retrospectively service the car and this is the issue. There's no question this car was badly prepared and things were missed. However their behaviour to avoid this awkward situation is beyond beggars belief.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful

Chris Bentley from Georgesons Car Sales in response to Poor Service, Badly prepared car

Dear Mr Hendy, our response to this negative review is the same as the response to the multiple reviews you have recently posted on Google, and previously on this platform. Originally we had flagged your multiple reviews with Trustpilot and Google, as we felt that the false content and your unreasonable actions may have some impact on our business, however we are confident that any reasonable person reading your reviews will see them for exactly what they are. We will not be blackmailed by the threat of you leaving persistent negative reviews unless we provide you with an upgraded 3 year warranty free of charge. In reference to some additional false claims made within this most recent review, we welcome the opportunity to clarify the following. All vehicles we supply will be serviced before handover if required within 3 months or 3,000 miles from the point of sale. The vehicle supplied in this instance was no different, we carried out a minor service and a gearbox oil service as per the documentation provided - this information was provided before any decision to purchase the vehicle was made. Within your original email to us you stated that your technician had suggested that the oil filter looked like the car had covered approximately 40,000 miles without having been replaced. This was a reasonable estimate by the technician as the fact of this matter is that you had actually covered well over 30,000 miles without having changed the oil and filter. It is a fact that you have failed to maintain the vehicle as was prescribed, and your attempts to cloud the issue does not alter the facts. You have been informed by your technician that the vehicle now has poor quality oil and that this can cause further issues. It would be entirely reasonable for anybody to conclude that your failure to maintain the vehicle is the cause of the poor oil quality, and it would not be reasonable for you to expect to pass on any burden for an issue caused as a direct result of your own neglect, The complaint which has prompted this review campaign occurred outside of the 12 month warranty term, and after the vehicle had covered over 30,000 miles in the vehicle without you having serviced it at all. This was the rationale applied when we refused your original request to upgrade your warranty to a 3 year term free of charge. You have stated within your previous reviews on public forums that you have escalated this matter to Mercedes Benz Uk, The AA and to the finance company you used in order to fund your purchase of the car. We are happy to fully co-operate with any enquires made by each of these organisations, and we look forward to the outcome of these enquiries, and we will be happy to update our responses to all of your reviews with the official conclusions. Georgesons have signed the AA dealer promise and are approved by the Chartered Institute Of Trading Standards. Businesses who are approved by the Chartered Institute of Trading Standards are regularly audited and monitored to ensure they comply with the high standards set by their approved code of practice. By using an approved trader, consumers will have protection above and beyond normal consumer law. We have provided you with a final written response to your complaint, and whilst we are happy to clarify our position in the public domain every time you leave a negative review, we have no obligation or inclination to respond to you any further.

Chris Hendy in response to Poor Service, Badly prepared car

Georgesons never ceases to amaze me to how low they will go to diminish the truth. And yes, thankfully Trading Standards will be looking into this, good or bad, I will share the outcome on line as that’s the kind of person I am and not the one Georgesons is portraying me to be as a threatening, lying, blackmailing person. Georgesons; they call this digital character assassination and in its own right is not acceptable. In response to Georgesons response below: Service History: Service 3: 29/09/2017 @ 38,659 last service before Georgesons took ownership. Service 4: 26/05/21 @ 70,947 Carried out by Georgesons prior to sale. This Service was for Oil & Filter!!!! And as you can see the car had covered 32,288 miles since the last service and also no Gearbox Oil was Changed by Georgesons. Service 5: 07/07/21 73,930 this service was carried out by the new owner at MB Wirral Mercedes Specialist and this Service included Dust Filter , Air Filter, Fuel Filter, GEARBOX OIL and Engine Oil. NOTE: I ask the QUESTION; why 7 weeks after the said Georgesons service; did the new owner need to do a an expensive full service and the Mercedes specialist felt the need to change the oil and Filter after only 7 weeks of Georgeson so said oil and filter change. Service 6: 06/12/21 85,738 Georgeson took the car back in and serviced the car car prior to my purchase. The service was for the so said Oil & Filter and now Georgeson are also claiming a GearBox Oil change and this is my problem, when I had the car serviced, the Garage made the point that they believed by the the state of the Oil and Filter the car wasn’t serviced at 85,738 miles So yes, with this chequered and rather strange history of servicing this vehicle alongside Gorgesons story of not having the right equipment to update the onboard computer system, I don’t feel I’m being unreasonably or deserve Georgesons slander or to have my emails ignored when I’m only asking for the purchase invoice for the Oil Filter which is an Unique Part for my vehicle and when they purchased the equipment to update onboard computer systems.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Extremely Poor Quality "
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I paid the full price for Mercedes ML just shy of 20k . Georgesons told me they will service the car too. When the car arrived,, it had missing window trim all down the drivers side, all badges removed from the tailgate, the seats were badly stained and the rear drivers side panel had been resprayed.. Georgesons posted out the missing trim and payed to have the seats cleaned and the repaired bodywork was take it or leave it and what do expected for an old. 5 year old car. The shipping cost to return it would had cost me about £700 which I couldn’t afford. Well a couple of weeks later whilst playing with the onboard computer, it flagged up that the car required a Service, so I call Georgesons and they said that’s ok just ignore as we couldn’t reset the onboard computer as we don’t have the right equipment. The sales rep then told me I’m good for 18 months. Fast forward 18 months I took the car in for a service and Wow what an absolute shocker, the garage kept the oil and filter to show me, the oil filter had totally collapsed on itself and the oil was like thick tar, they also stated that the car hadn’t been serviced for an easy 50,000 miles plus. I phoned Georgesons and I explained I accept mistakes happen and I believe my car had’’t been serviced and could they check to see if they have an invoice for the Oil Filter, which they agreed. Well a few days later they apologised and explained that they buy filters in bulk and therefore couldn’t link an invoice to my car service This didn't seem right to me; first they couldn’t reset the cars onboard service schedule and now they are saying they buy filters in bulk. So not happy, I phone Mercedes only to find out that my Filter wasn’t a universal Filter that Georgeson tried to lead me to believe. Mercedes provided me with the unique part number for my oil filter. I phoned Georgesons with this information and oh boy their toned changed, Telling me they didn’t have to do the Service and they certainly don’t have to prove to me that’s they had done a service in way of providing an invoice for the part in question, they stated they updated the Main Dealer database that’s it. They were also extremely short in the mitigation of their responsibility by saying I signed their sales document now go away. Even though I have the specific part number for the Oil filter they refuse to provide any invoice singular or multiple - Basically they don’t have it as they didn’t actually service the car. More frighteningly they apparently had done the last few services as they as they have sold the car twice. I will continue my fight with them leaving reviews etc until I get answers. They are extremely good at ignoring your emails but they do respond to reviews to try and cover their tracks

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful

Chris Bentley from Georgesons Car Sales in response to Extremely Poor Quality

Dear Mr Hendy, our response to this negative review is the same as the response to the review you have recently posted on Google and Trustpilot Our tone remains consistent, in that whilst we would much prefer to deal with any customer concerns in private, we are also prepared to respond in the public arena when appropriate. We welcome the opportunity to demonstrate to any potential future customers that we are entirely reasonable people. Before agreeing to purchase the vehicle in question, we provided paperwork which clearly illustrates the date and mileage for all of the vehicle's previous 5 services - including the services we had carried out. We maintain that this information is accurate and that we have provided all appropriate documents required to demonstrate this, You have been provided the full report from the mechanical inspection which was carried out whilst the vehicle was serviced. This report is digitally time and date stamped and includes pictures of the vehicle taken at the time, including one of the odometer. It shows all of the items which have been checked and included a technicians narrative which clearly states the items replaced. You have clearly demonstrated, that when we do respond to your requests with evidence which contradicts your narrative you simply call us liars. The vehicle you purchased from us in Dec 2021 was a 2014 Mercedes Benz ML which had covered 85784 miles. You were provided a 12 months warranty, and you elected not to purchase the extended 3 year warranty you were offered at the time. The vehicle was delivered to you at your home address and it was agreed that if you did not like the car you could return it to us within 14 days - you did not choose to do this. You contacted us post sale on 3 occasions with issues, and contrary to your narrative these issues were all resolved at our expense. You signed a document prior to the vehicle handover which you have referred to within your review, however you have not clarified that the document clearly states that you have acknowledged that is your responsibility to ensure that the vehicle is serviced as prescribed once it was in you possession. Your recent complaint occurred when you were outside of the 12 month warranty term, and after you have covered over 30,000 miles in the vehicle without having the oil and filter changed. Within your original email you stated that your technician has suggested that the oil filter looked like the car had covered approximately 40,000 miles without having been replaced. This 40,000 mile mark was a reasonable estimate by the technician as the fact of this matter is that you had actually covered well over 30,000 miles without having changed the oil and filter. It is not a surprise that the original oil filter which was fitted to the car when we supplied it to you is now in the condition you have described, as you have failed to maintain the vehicle as was prescribed. You have been informed by your technician that the vehicle now has poor quality oil and that this can cause further issues. It would be entirely reasonable for anybody to conclude that your failure to maintain the vehicle is the cause of the poor oil quality, and it would not be reasonable for you to expect to pass on any burden for an issue caused as a direct result of your own neglect, This was the rationale applied when we refused your original request to upgrade your warranty to a 3 year term free of charge. You have stated within your previous reviews on public forums that you have escalated this matter to Mercedes Benz Uk, The AA and to the finance company you used in order to fund your purchase of the car. We are happy to fully co-operate with any enquires made by each of these organisations, and we look forward to the outcome of these enquiries. We have provided you with a final written response to your complaint, and we have no obligation or inclination to respond to you any further.

Chris Bentley from Georgesons Car Sales in response to Extremely Poor Quality

Dear Mr Hendy, our response to this negative review is the same as the response to the review you have recently posted on Google, and previously on this platform. Our tone remains consistent, in that whilst we would much prefer to deal with any customer concerns in private, we are also prepared to respond in the public arena when appropriate. We welcome the opportunity to demonstrate to any potential future customers that we are entirely reasonable people. Before agreeing to purchase the vehicle in question, we provided paperwork which clearly illustrates the date and mileage for all of the vehicle's previous 5 services - including the services we had carried out. We maintain that this information is accurate and that we have provided all appropriate documents required to demonstrate this, You have been provided the full report from the mechanical inspection which was carried out whilst the vehicle was serviced. This report is digitally time and date stamped and includes pictures of the vehicle taken at the time, including one of the odometer. It shows all of the items which have been checked and included a technicians narrative which clearly states the items replaced. You have clearly demonstrated, that when we do respond to your requests with evidence which contradicts your narrative you simply call us liars. The vehicle you purchased from us in Dec 2021 was a 2014 Mercedes Benz ML which had covered 85784 miles. You were provided a 12 months warranty, and you elected not to purchase the extended 3 year warranty you were offered at the time. The vehicle was delivered to you at your home address and it was agreed that if you did not like the car you could return it to us within 14 days - you did not choose to do this. You contacted us post sale on 3 occasions with issues, and contrary to your narrative these issues were all resolved at our expense. You signed a document prior to the vehicle handover which you have referred to within your review, however you have not clarified that the document clearly states that you have acknowledged that is your responsibility to ensure that the vehicle is serviced as prescribed once it was in you possession. Your recent complaint occurred when you were outside of the 12 month warranty term, and after you have covered over 30,000 miles in the vehicle without having the oil and filter changed. Within your original email you stated that your technician has suggested that the oil filter looked like the car had covered approximately 40,000 miles without having been replaced. This 40,000 mile mark was a reasonable estimate by the technician as the fact of this matter is that you had actually covered well over 30,000 miles without having changed the oil and filter. It is not a surprise that the original oil filter which was fitted to the car when we supplied it to you is now in the condition you have described, as you have failed to maintain the vehicle as was prescribed. You have been informed by your technician that the vehicle now has poor quality oil and that this can cause further issues. It would be entirely reasonable for anybody to conclude that your failure to maintain the vehicle is the cause of the poor oil quality, and it would not be reasonable for you to expect to pass on any burden for an issue caused as a direct result of your own neglect, This was the rationale applied when we refused your original request to upgrade your warranty to a 3 year term free of charge. You have stated within your previous reviews on public forums that you have escalated this matter to Mercedes Benz Uk, The AA and to the finance company you used in order to fund your purchase of the car. We are happy to fully co-operate with any enquires made by each of these organisations, and we look forward to the outcome of these enquiries. We have provided you with a final written response to your complaint, and we have no obligation or inclination to respond to you any further.

"Nice garage"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Georgesons Car Sales is a nice garage selling affordable cars.

"Great sale from Georgesons "
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I got my car from Georgesons, overall everything was good. I met with Laura C. and she was absolutely kind, helpful, aware about all information. I could recommend to everyone this dealership and also Laura. Thank you again.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
"Bought Toyota Yaris from Georgesons"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Fantastic sales service from Steve at Georgesons car sales...very genuine..no hard sell talk..would definitely recommend anyone to browse their web page. Steve went out of his way to find me the best car to suit me....lovely man. Thanks. Sandra.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+1 Found this review helpful
"Awful aftersales"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a Vauxhall Astra from them within 4 months the clutch pedal had become really loose, good job I had paid £300 extra for warranty😡 loads of messing getting it fixed to be told my car was in bits after 3 days got it back. Then 10 months later same problem happened again to be told warranty has run out and they don't want to know. Bad attitude, not professional at all, never get a car from Georgesons again.

Get Car Leasing

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+9 Found this review helpful
"Kia sportage"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Went to georgesons today wasn't expecting much but got there greeted by James got a very nice car indeed no pressure what so ever I was given all the information I needed over all would totally recommend this dealership 100 percent satisfaction thanks to James

"San"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I brought a Jag XF & after 1 week I found out that the wheel allignment were wrong and because of that the side of the front tyre is cracked. I contacted them and the sales person who don't even know anything about cars told me that the Manager will call me back which never happened.

"ako"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a 62 plate car from this car dealer a year ago. They couldnt help enough at the time but a year later and the engine has blown and the help and answers I get from them is to blank my calls and messages.

"jh"
2.2 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Do not use this dealership, their website is totally misleading. When we arrived at Georgesons we wanted to buy a car but was totally un - impressed with the under hand tactics of the salesman by quoting a monthly price much higher that the website says, even before checking my credit details which are impeccable. Also on different websites the car is £1000 cheaper then on the forecourt to attract cash buyers supposedly, is my cash not as good as anyone else's. However when he did check my credit details which came in just above the figure on the site he, valued my car to part ex. Remember the website says they will give you true value of your car (which is excellent condition by the way). However they came in considerably less than we buy any car and wouldn't match it. They basically said take it to we buy any car and sell it there we've already got one of them. But the final nail in the coffin was the wheels advertised on the car aren't the wheels they come with they were an extra £850 and if you don't pay it comes with bog standard smaller ones... I was gobsmacked. So it was 1k dearer and an extra £850 on top. Avoid Georgesons Used Cars like the plague.

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered
Auto Trader Get a Quote

Want a quote for PPF? Highly competitive quotes on Paint Protection Film for your car

Car Leasing Deals

Kardi Powered

Dealership Information

Georgesons Used Car Specialists is a well established used car dealership that is based in the Anfield area of Liverpool. Having reviewed their website we can see that they sell over 300 cars at any one time and offer typical dealer services such as used car sales, part exchange, finance and warranties. 

If anyone has had an experience at this dealership then please share it with us by leaving a review below.

Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership founded in 1955

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
11 reviews2.9 out of 5 stars — Rated Average
Excellent
5
Very Good
0
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
5

Add Review

  • Submit new information

  • Contact Information

    Address

    Georgesons Car Sales
    2-18 Breck Road
    Liverpool
    Merseyside
    L4 2RA

    Get in touch

    0151 260 9575
    http://www.georgesonscars.co.uk

    Opening times

    Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

    If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

    Dealership Statistics

    45%
    Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
    18%
    Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

    Additional Information About Georgesons Car Sales

    Company Formed: 1955
    Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
    Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
    Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
    FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
    FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
    Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
    Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
    VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


    Are we missing anything?
    You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

    Submit new information

    Working with Car Dealer Reviews

    We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £79 + VAT per month.

    Learn more about how our service works below.

    Find out more