30% Reviews
replied to
69% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


53 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for The Car Hut Limited

Click on the stars to start your review

53 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for The Car Hut Limited
Click on the stars to start your review
"Top service, really good car"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

It’s been a couple of months since I bought my Vauxhall Astra from The Car Hut in Hyde and although the car is 9 years old it was in very good condition and as described on EBay. There was no added pressure and the salesperson was highly patient on the test drive while I got used to the drivability. A couple of months later, the car is still in good condition and hasn’t let me down. The staff are very friendly and attentive to my needs - There was a small rip in one of the car mats and without hesitation they replaced all the mats with brand new ones even though only one was ripped. They also picked me up from their local train station, the train was delayed and the driver happily waited for me at the station. I don’t usually write reviews but due to service provided and price I paid for the car I feel that it’s only right to leave one. I highly recommend The Car Hut if your looking for a good used car at at a good price. Thanks

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful
"Decent staff but poor stock"
2.3 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Purchased a Ford Mondeo estate from the Car Hut in December. It had been reduced from forecourt price of £2200 to £1975. I saw the car on AT and went to have a look after phoning ahead. On inspection, I knew I would be taking on a bit of a project as the car had clearly come from auction (lot number still on back of rear view) but wanted the car as it's a rare hi-spec/auto/estate version. During test drive, car drove pretty well. Car had no service history since 2016 and 5 months MOT remaining. Dealer was selling 'as is' meaning a trade sale. Still not a problem for me. I felt the car was overpriced, so I made a perfectly respectable offer but he wouldn't budge below £1950. I turned up on spec over a week later to collect the car and found both front tyres flat and the battery totally dead. I can't really forgive that level of neglect, even if they didn't have the vehicle mechanically inspected they would have known that the tyres kept going flat and the battery wouldn't hold charge. Any respectable dealer should have sorted that as soon as I paid my deposit. Aside from that, I've had to fix leaking rear shocks, buckled rear n/s tyre, reseal all other tyres, give it a really good service and fit a new battery, as the one in the car was beyond help. I will, over time, restore all the other neglect it received at the hands of its last owner, but the above is what I've had to do to get the car in running order. In summary, the money they wanted was right for that car with recent service history, 12 months MOT and in decent running order, but this car didn't tick any of those boxes.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Very helpful dealer - Happy customer"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I purchased a Ford Mondeo from The Car Hut. The salesperson was very helpful throughout the process. A few weeks on and the car is as described and in very good condition. Overall very happy with the service provided

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful
"Lovely motor"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I bought a vw golf from the car hut and it’s a lovely motor, the car is clean and tidy and the price was very reasonable too. I’ve had no trouble with the car so far. The service was pleasant and their salesman is a friendly person. I also bought an extended warranty that they offer through Warranty Wise and it was a lot cheaper than I thought. I’m very satisfied with the purchase.

Respond to this review

+4 Found this review helpful
"Great Car Purchased From The Car Hut"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I purchased a Vw Golf from The Car Hut around 2 months ago and overall I'm very happy with the car and also the service provided from The Car Hut. The car I purchased came with only a few months Mot but the dealer was happy to put a 12 months Mot on it. I decided against this as I wanted to drive it away that day. I have since had it checked over by a mechanic friend who is happy with the car and the only niggly bit was a sticking rear window which was sorted with a little wd40. I would recommend this dealer particularly because the staff are really friendly and ready to go the extra mile for you. I would happily return to purchase another vehicle from The Car Hut. Thanks

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+5 Found this review helpful
"Car already sold"
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I asked the Car Hut Limited to view a car on a Tuesday at 5 pm they did not accommodate me but agreed Wednesday was fine when I arrived after bookin time of work and making people travel to the car hut I was told the car had already been sold but he wasn’t allowed to tell me. Erm he told me to my face so why couldn’t you ring me on my contact number on the Wednesday and tell me it had been sold very poor business very unprofessional.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
"I bought a car from this dealership"
4 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Generally I don't write reviews on any purchase I make but after reading some of the reviews already posted I thought I should detail my experience of The Car Hut Hyde. The car I bought had been advertised on eBay Motors it was the third Mk 4 Ford Mondeo hatchback I had seen in as many days......and clearly the best of the bunch because I bought it for the advertised price. The salesman at The Car Hut was pleasant and reasonably knowledgeable about all the car for sale, there was no hassle or up selling and I was left to inspect the car and later take it for a guided tour of Hyde! No problem with the car and it drove really well after paying a 'non refundable deposit of £200' six days later the balance was paid, [a[erwork and road tax sorted and the car was mine, must admit the dealership did tidy the car up and give it a brilliant valet prior to collection but alas even though I was told they would put enough fuel in the car to get me home (approx. 50 miles) there was barely enough to get me to the nearest supermarket petrol station which is less than a mile away from the dealership. I am writing this review less than a week to go before my one month warranty expires and although there are issues, some I missed when I inspected the car before purchase and others which I have discovered once I managed to get the car onto an inspection ramp at a local garage. As I said at the time of purchase I took a punt on the car and its been fine, after the car was detailed it looks a million dollars, the damage to the lower parts of the passenger door and door behind it which I missed on my initial inspection will be repaired and repainted, the headlight bulbs which had been installed incorrectly had been sorted, the clouded front fog lights have been removed cleaned and replaced, the drivers seat which was rocking has been repaired, the damaged glove box light assembly had been replaced, and a tyre on the rear was loosing pressure which needed re-seated on the rim, so apart from those little 'glitches' which I have sorted myself at my expense the car runs and drives great. Its difficult to find Mk4 Ford Mondeo's with below average mileage at a sensible price but I managed to find one at The Car Hut Hyde, some customers might be a little put off with a 'snagging lists' but that's part and parcel of buying a secondhand car.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

mal cammack in response to I bought a car from this dealership

three months on and the car is going great, just passed its MOT with no issues !!

"Very helpful always took calls patient "
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I bought 435i from these guys I am very happy with the car and also very happy with the service. The car was exactly as stated and the process was very easy and jay was warm and I felt comfortable and confident that they would deliver as advertised. Thumbs up!!!

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
"Great Seller.....Recommended Dealer A++"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I purchased a Landrover from this dealer and have been extremely pleased with the car. I traded in my car and was offered what I was looking for in exchange for the new car. The dealer was very helpful throughout the whole sale process and allowed me to test drive two vehicles on his forecourt. My car was priced very reasonably and I am satisfied for the price and service I received. I would recommend this dealer to any one wishing to purchase a vehicle. Thank you

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"buyer beware"
2.5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

On face value this secondhand car dealership appears to sell popular model vehicles at reasonable prices although if you take the trouble to do your own research you will see many vehicle are priced at the top end of the pricing bands used by company's such as Parkers Guide, Autotrader, Motors.co.uk and the like, On inspection the vehicles offered for sale are generally described correctly but on closer inspection you may find they don't match up to your expectations. As many of the previous comments posted on this site the sales team at The Car Hut are friendly, personable, reasonably knowledgeable about what they are selling but and a big but when you try to point out specific issues or potential problems they seem to adopt a very negative and disrespectful manner with a 'well if you're not interested - close the door on the way out' attitude. Vehicles presented for sale in their yard are generally dirty and in need of a deep clean and full valet, if you are brave enough to make comment about the vehicles cosmetic appearance you are greeted with the stock answer of 'we'll sort all that out - no problem' As a rule of thumb if you point out minor body damage and ask if they are prepared to have the damage repaired prior to purchase as you are willing to pay the asking price you will get 'well what do you expect for a car of this age' which roughly translated from car salesman talk to someone handing over their hard earned cash is a NO! If you attempt to negotiate a deal or if you think the vehicle is priced reasonable and are looking for some freebies they will not engage .... the price is the price even to the point they won't ensure you have enough fuel to get you to the nearest petrol station let alone home. Although this post appears to be a negative one, I must say The Car Hut Hyde do have some sensibly priced vehicle with reasonable mileage all around the 8 to 10 yrs old mark. You just have to do your homework before you part with your cash but if you don't like playing Russian roulette or have not happy with 'pay your money and take your chance' go somewhere else...............problem is at this budget end of the car market most dealers are tarred with the same brush!! and it's difficult to find 'Honest John' as most are sharks chasing targets and profit. Reading many of the comments left on this site I read with great interest customers concerns about not being supplied with 2 keys when they have bought a vehicle or the after sales warranty company rejecting claims because vehicles are over 10 yrs old or vehicles sold with only 30 days and/or 500 mile warranties or vehicles being sold with full MOT's only to be fund to have defects that would prevent the issue of an MOT. So buyer beware........... these vehicles offered for sale by The Car Hut Hyde are effectively 'Sold as Seen'

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Staff from The Car Hut Limited in response to buyer beware

Hi Anonymous reviewer We are sorry you feel you’ve had to write this review. Have you actually purchased a vehicle from us? Are you a mere spectator? Or do you go round to different dealerships and write reviews according to the experience you’ve had? Do you simply read the reviews of a company and then draw your own conclusions... based on reviews (in a review of your own?) You have given us no indication of who you are or which vehicle you are referring to. For all we know this could be a fake review from one of our competitors (please confirm providing more details). As of today we do not have of any outstanding after sales issue with any of our customers as we like to deal with any issues promptly and as effectively as possible in order to satisfy our customers. We are always available for you to come and visit and sit down and discuss any issue you may have. Please care to share further details of who you are or which vehicle you have purchased from us and we will hopefully find a way forward for you in resolving any outstanding issues. We look forward to hearing from you. Many thanks

Jonny Cammack in response to buyer beware

Very interesting the response from the owner (one can only assume it was the owner because he is the sole Director and also the company Secretary) seems he as been doing some copy and paste from previous replies to comments posted because he is sticking to the same answers. For the record, this is not FAKE news from one of your competitors they don't need to waste time trying to discredit your business, your. dismissive attitude and arrogance does that for you. Equally I don't generally write reviews but felt I needed to share what I've experienced at The Car Hut Hyde. I have been in your premises and listened to the sales patter and politely asked if you would like to negotiate on the price of a car I was interested in only to be told 'sorry, that's the price and I haven't much profit on the price shown anyway' Mmmmmm.......... well I could at this point exercise my Anglo Saxon rights and say a swear word but I will refrain because this is a public arena. I think my review was a very accurate assumption of your business and how you, the sole proprietor conducts it. I wish you all the best in the future but if you don't change your business model you won't have a business to run. and finally I stick to my original comment BUYER BEWARE I

Staff from The Car Hut Limited in response to buyer beware

Hi sorry but we just want to get this right. You've not actually purchased a vehicle from us? Your just leaving this review because you could'nt purchase a vehicle from us for the price you wanted? Wow! What can we say? Sorry to hurt you? Good luck in life my friend Regards

Jonny Cammack in response to buyer beware

WOW! lots of question marks in your most recent reply 'my friend' and clearly from your responses you're not getting the point.....but I guess that's your arrogance. The review was written to warn others simple as.... When buying a car you as the purchaser expects to 'haggle a little' guess its part of the script, you know the sort of thing, pay the road fund, throw in a set of cat mats and give an extended parts warranty ...........however, you Sir! won't even ensure there is sufficient fuel in the car to get to a petrol station, nor do you give any substantial warranty or guarantee other then one month from date of purchase and/or 500 miles whichever comes first, but the biggest negative is you don't even put the vehicle through an MOT to give people the peace of mind that the vehicle they are buying from you is roadworthy! shame on you! You are so right I haven't bought a car from you but you can rest assured I have spread the word 'wide and far' to my circle of friends and associates to give The Car Hut Hyde a wide berth For me the subject is closed and I won't be entering into any more response but hope the time I have spent is time well spent and has given prospective buyers food for thought.

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

The Car Hut Limited is an Independent dealership that is based in Hyde. If you’re the owner or employee of this business, please send us a little bit of information about your dealership and why customers should come and visit.

Alternatively, if you’re a customer and you’ve had an experience at this dealership, please leave a review below.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
53 reviews3.9 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
35
Very Good
3
Average
2
Poor
10
Terrible
3

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

The Car Hut Limited
Norfolk Street
Hyde
Cheshire
SK14 1NA

Get in touch

0161 368 7474
http://www.thecarhut.com

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

69%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
30%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About The Car Hut Limited

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information