4% Reviews
replied to
71% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


21 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Derby Trade Cars

Click on the stars to start your review

21 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Derby Trade Cars
Click on the stars to start your review
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Very poor aftercare"
2.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a car from Derby Trade Cars, advised them of issues within 2 weeks of purchase, they made every excuse not to put the car through the warranty and had to pay for the repairs myself, now given excuse that although they advised me to take the care to a dealer to get it fixed, the supposed warranty company won't accept the receipt submitted, have refused to return my calls regarding the issue. I would suggest being very careful when buying a car from them, they told me that, the money they had spent to put the vehicle through an M.O.T was part of the warranty, how can you advise that you have submitted a claim when the vehicle hasn't been sold....the old saying is very true with this company BUYER BE AWARE.....!!!

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

DO YOU NEED CAR FINANCE?

Apply Now
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Very efficient! "
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Everything went perfectly! I Bought A Maserati from Derby Trade Cars at a good price, that was very clean. The service there was very efficient made the whole transaction very quick. I would recommend them!

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Excellent service"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Recently purchased 2nd merc e class cabriolet from Derby Trade cars. Excellent service from Tom and was happy with trade in valuation on original car purchased 18 months ago. Both cars valeted extremely well. Would recommend the company.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Disastrous purchase"
1.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Eight faults with the car I bought from Derby Trade Cars within the first month. Including oil leaks, spoiler flying off, alarm faulty, brakes badly worn. Neither the dealer nor the AA warranty covered the faults and my 12,000 pounds buy was the worst I have made in 40 plus cars. I cannot recommend this garage. I am so angry.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+7 Found this review helpful
"First Class Service and after service! "
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I found a lovely 2006 RS4 in Derby Trade Cars online so i reserved and travelled a long distance to pick up and take away. Everything was in order, Tom came to pick me up from the train station and let me test drive from there which was a help. Price was agreed and i was on my way for a long journey home, several hundred miles ahead. One hour into the journey i lost power and had to pull in to hard shoulder, feared the worst and called AA and Andrew at Derby cars to try and confirm the next steps. Time was of the essence and relayed this to Andrew and from there he went into overdrive, he was on the phone with the AA roadside assist pretty much all day going through the diagnostic machine and calling the Audi main dealer trying to help me get on my way, unfortunately we had to admit defeat and return to base. He was waiting for me at his depot at 7;30 pm (with his young child i may add) ready to look at the car himself and organise it with main dealer first thing in the morning which in itself was only possible because of his contact. Next day is Andrews day off so over to Simon and Tom, who both go into the same overdrive mode trying to source a spare part all day, while in the back ground Andrew has spent his day off at the Audi garage overseeing the work and not only that he manage to source the part which was not off the shelf and somehow had me back on the road on the 11th hour with 8 new coils fitted and a car running perfectly. The morale of this story is that when you buy a used car, no matter how much care and attention is spent preparing the car for us, at any point a fault can occur. For me it is how you react in the given situation, treat people as you would like to be treated yourself and these 3 gentlemen could not have been anymore helpful, in fact i would say they went over and above the call of duty, i can see it means a lot to them for their customers to be satisfied. So thank you to the whole team for looking after me for the two days! (Even fed me). Neil Crichton.

Respond to this review

+3 Found this review helpful
"Very helpful"
4.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I was looking to buy a car for my son who had just passed his test, after looking online I found one in Derby Trade sales. I placed £100 deposit over the phone. I travelled from Runcorn to view the car, I was early arriving in Derby as the car was getting an MOT done so decided to stop at a local pub for tea. I enquired about directions to Derby Car sales only to be told by the locals not to bother as all his cars are of a poor quality and they had been investigated by Watchdog and Rouge traders. I had travelled so far and was only five minutes away so decided to go ahead and view the car with caution. I arrived and was dealt with by a gentleman named Dave (Delboy lookalike). The fiesta drove and sounded well but I wasn't happy with the n/side wing so decided to not go through with the deal, I explained this to Dave and he wasn't to pleased as he thought it was a done deal.I asked over my deposit and he said the boss had to sign all cheques off so my deposit would be sent on. I left Derby thinking that would be the last time I would see my £100 and returned home .I received a call the next day off John ( nicely spoken man ) who I believe owns the company asking me why I wasn't happy with the car and how could he help. I explained about the wing and he said that at a cost to him he would get the car inspected by the RAC or AA whoever I chose then to save me travelling back to Derby he would have the car delivered to my home address if I was still interested. We decided to not go ahead but John couldn't of done anymore to help me. I am full aware of Watchdog and Rouge traders but I believe John is trying to get his business back on track and he was more than helpful and refunded my £100 deposit. I can only go by the way I was looked after by John and hope that his company have turned a corner and wish him all the luck . Ste.

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Nick in response to Very helpful

It’s not the same garage that watchdog featured! That garage was on Derwent Street this one is nothing to do with that one. Pays not to listen to local people. I bought a car from here it was excellent I can’t fault the dealer.

"John redmond"
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a car from Derby Trade Cars late last year and paid 14000...it's been a nightmare and cost me a fortune in repairs,an absolute piece of rubbish and I'm sorry I went near the place. I'm still stuck with it as I owe finance...worked out cheaper to park it up go and buy a cheap car to use rather than fork out any more money on it!..thousands wasted!!!!!

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Derby Trade Cars from Derby Trade Cars in response to John redmond

Hi John, thank you for leaving us feedback its very important for us to understand and communicate with all our customers whether it be for a positive or negative reason then we can understand and make the necessary adjustments to our business to ensure we are constantly listening and improving our service. before leaving this reply we have tried contacting you on several occasions the last being 23rd November at 9.52am and left two messages, we would have liked to have a conversation and understand your issues, we have also contacted your finance company to enquire if you have ever raised any concerns with them, to which they have never received any communication from yourself as far as faults or repairs are concerned. So whilst we are upset to hear you have had issues by your own accounts you have had the vehicle for over 12 months and we have never heard from you since purchasing for any reason and you have raised no issues with the finance company as a consumer you have statutory rights and all our vehicles come with a warranty. We find it very difficult and disappointing that we receive such a negative review when you have not raised an issue and over a year has gone by. Therefore we have not had the chance or opportunity to help remedy any issues you may of experienced. We go to great lengths and lots of expense to ensure that all our vehicles are independently inspected and come with a fresh 12 months MOT with no advisories this ensures all our vehicles are fit for purpose for the foreseeable future. We would still like to discuss this with you in person as we would still like to try and assist you with any issues you may have, we are great believers in talking through any issues. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience to see if we can assist you in any other way, kindest regards Derby Trade Cars.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Nissan buyer"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I bought a Nissan Navara from here in august. I have had no issues with it at all and it was in lovely condition when i received it. Couldn't fault it at all. the dealers were really helpful and friendly and i would happily recommend this dealership to my friends and family.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"really good experience"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Really good value for money and excellent car! I bought a Ford Fiesta back in June and I love it! had no issues with it at all and the dealers were great. Happy to help with anything. I would highly recommend Derby Trade Cars.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Geoff Wheat"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Recent purchase of Merc E Class, superbly valeted and very happy with purchase Staff friendly and knowledgable Have had no issues

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

At Derby Trade Cars you will find a variety of different makes and models including those that sit within the luxury and prestige end of the car industry. Ferrari, Aston Martin, Bentley and Porsche feature alongside popular makes such as BMW, Fiat and Mini to offer a varied selection of used vehicles. This Derby based dealer also offers finance and warranty options too. 

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
21 reviews4.1 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
15
Very Good
1
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
2

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Derby Trade Cars
Ascot Drive
Derby
Derbyshire
DE24 8ST

Get in touch

01332 344192
http://www.derbytradecars.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

71%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
4%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Derby Trade Cars

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information