62% Reviews
replied to
81% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


16 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Horsepower Motor Centre

Click on the stars to start your review

16 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Horsepower Motor Centre
Click on the stars to start your review
"Honda Jazz"
1.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I was interested in buying a Blue Honda Jazz RE12MLF from Horsepower. The car was over priced at £8355 and still is at their present price of £8215. For anyone who’s interested I had a full report and valuation done (available to anyone who wants it) where it’s value is £7850 on the forecourt. The car has outstanding finance and registration issues plus there is no service book or history to back up the low mileage where I had been told that there was during a telephone conversation with their salesman at the start. Originally I was interested in a part exchange, however as all Horsepower would offer was less than half the trade in value so I declined the part exchange in favour of a straight purchase. When I pointed out that the car was over priced their salesman was greedy wanting the full £8355! I offered £8000 which was an excellent offer, I would have gone to £8100 as my wife and I liked the car however he wasn’t interested and lost the sale. It’s interesting that now the price has dropped by £140; if Horsepower were smart they could have sold it to me and still could if smart, sadly greed has got the better of them. It’s annoying when I went there especially to see the car twice, second time with my wife and it’s not exactly on the door step to get there from Sutton to Tonbridge. This is not a dealer to do an over the phone purchase either.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Honda Jazz

Hello Gordon, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and share your feedback with us. Good or bad, we value all feedback, and so firstly please accept our apologies that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations. We price-check all of our cars using AutoTrader and CarGurus to ensure the customer receives a fair and transparent cost-to-change. At present, the price of the Honda Jazz is now £8,255, and according to both AutoTrader and CarGurus this is a ‘Great Price’, meaning this car currently represents great value-for-money according to the UK's two largest used car classified listing websites. They use the vehicles year, mileage, make, model, colour and derivative and then compare this information on a like-for-like basis across the UK and come to a median average retail price. I hope this clarifies the process of pricing of the vehicle. In relation to your comments regarding this specific transaction and experience, I can see that you did commit to buy the car initially and paid a £500 deposit. Four days after paying a deposit you visited our dealership and attempted to renegotiate the terms of the sale. We respectfully declined and subsequently cancelled your order and a full deposit refund was issued. Looking at the precise figures of this specific vehicle, and we are happy to share this publicly, the purchase price of the vehicle was £7,580. Once you factor in the costs of preparing the vehicle for collection, including an MOT Test, a service, the 128-point AA Inspection, not to mention the general costs associated with running a business of our size, you will quickly come to the conclusion that Peter was not misinforming you when he said he did not have room to negotiate. Although you say you would never purchase from us, we hope that in the fullness of time you will consider all of the above and revisit your conclusion as all that ultimately stood in between you buying a lovely car and us having our next happy customer was the sale price, which on its own should not stop us from doing business in the future. I am aware Peter has personally contacted you by telephone earlier today to explain all of the above and until such time that you wish to get back in touch with us, we wish you all the very best and hope to hear back from you! From all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Viewing a car"
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Booked previous day to see a car at the Horsepower Motor Centre, On phone told car lovely, hand on heart. Suggested I could buy it on line without making the long journey, given AA Warranty etc. but decided to view it, who wouldn't? So I drove the 160 mile round trip to see it, Car, a Disco 2, was crammed in a corner, dusty, bird poo etc. The rear door wouldn't open, the fuel cap cover was broken, the sunroof had leaked causing water ingress, mildew and damp throughout the car, on the seatbelts, the carpets, the headlining. The leather seats has worn and with some tears. Totally shocked to have travelled to see a car in this state, which had been advertised, so hardly surprising to them someone might turn up to view. Response was it needed a valet, frankly it needed a lot more than that, including a massive price reduction. Oh, and some customer respect.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Viewing a car

Hello Lucy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent experience when viewing a vehicle here at Horsepower Motor Centre. We are genuinely sorry to learn that on this occasion the vehicle did not live up to your expectations. Please rest assured that this is not what we hope for when a prospective customer arrives on-site for a viewing. We would like more details about this particular visit if that is at all possible so that we can do all that is possible to ensure it doesn't happen again. Please call us and speak to After Sales on 01732 357182 when you get a spare minute. Please once again accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to hear back from you. All the best, from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Accommodating & Friendly"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Recently spent a few days on holiday in area. Couldn't make return journey home to Norfolk as our car needed attention. Thanks to Horsepower's prompt attention (same day) we were able to travel home. Replaced water pump and fitted new belt. Staff at Horsepower Motor Centre were accommodating and friendly. A big thank you!

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Accommodating & Friendly

Hello Mrs. C, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit to Horsepower Motor Centre. We are very pleased to hear that your experience was positive and merited a 5 Star review. We have passed your feedback onto all of our Workshop Team who are very pleased too! Thanks again and best regards, from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Great Service - Would highly recommend"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I recently purchased a car from Horsepower Motor Centre and would definitely recommend. Great service from all the guys there. Lovely car as advertised on the website and they offered a fair price for my car as part exchange. I actually put a deposit down without seeing the car in person so I was placing a lot of trust in what was being said over the phone. I'm really pleased I did. All paperwork sorted out without any stress. No hard sell to purchase additional warranty etc. It was a real please doing business with them and I would not hesitate in recommending to others. p.s. Peter was a lot better looking in person. Sorry Peter I did warn you that I would do this when you jokingly asked me to :)

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Great Service - Would highly recommend

Hello Debbie, Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience when buying a car from Horsepower Motor Centre. We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with the experience and have given us 5 Stars. Please remember to come back to us to take full advantage of your Free MOT 4 Life! Until then, all the very best from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Very pleasant"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Very pleasant experience, would recommend Horsepower Motor Centre based on that.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Very pleasant

Hello Hugo K, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent experience when buying a car from Horsepower Motor Centre. We are very pleased you have rated your experience 5 Stars and your kind words have been fed back to all the team who are equally very happy. We wish you many happy miles in your new car and look forward to welcoming you back as and when you next need us. Best wishes from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Great Dealership in Tonbridge"
4.6 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

From my initial telephone call to buying the car I wanted was easy. Peter was extremely helpful and the purchase went through effiently. Josh sorted out the collection and followed up with missing manuals.. I would recommend Horsepower Motor Centre. No pressure to buy .

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Great Dealership in Tonbridge

Hello Geoff K, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience when buying a car at Horsepower Motor Centre. We are very pleased to learn you have had a great experience and that Peter in particular was excellent. We wish you all the very happiest of future motoring in your car and welcome you back whenever you next need us. All the best, from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Awesome!"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Really happy with everything from start to finish will definitely be back to the Horsepower Motor Centre when the time comes.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Awesome!

Hello Guy B, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, it means a lot to us! We are very pleased you found the process from start-to-finish all great and we welcome you back with open arms. All the best from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Very happy"
4.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Really friendly and efficient service at the Horsepower Motor Centre. No pressure placed on me to purchase and a great product. The car is superb and the one minor issue was sorted out straight away. I am a long time customer of the service department and would definitely now also recommend sales.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Staff from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Very happy

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and to leave what is valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the whole process and look forward to assisting you with your future motoring needs as and when required. Until then, happy motoring from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"good after sales"
4 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I bought a Mercedes back in June. Unfortunately its back in the garage at the moment as the rear suspension has gone but they have been quite quick and efficient at getting it resolved. The car was very good value for money and was clean and in good condition. Overall I would recommend this dealership

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Land Rover Discovery 4 in response to good after sales

After being told that my car had gone through AA inspections and given assurance that the suspension had been fixed and there was nothing wrong with the car. It took me a day to realise that it had not been fixed. I complained to the garage who almost 3 weeks to date still haven't replied to my complaint. What I got was a very rude phone call. Salesman Paul also lied about the green slip I was saddened by his lies I couldn't tax the vehicle until I paid £25 paid at the post office for Registration.

Staff from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to good after sales

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business. We are pleased you found not only our Sales Team but After Sales Team helpful and efficient. We totally understand that the excellent service delivered to you at point of purchase shouldn't stop there and needs to continue throughout ownership, so we are extra pleased that we were able to carry-on serving you post-collection in the right way. Excellent service is a process of continuous improvement and so we fully recognise there are aspects we can make better for your next visit, which we fully intend on doing so. In the meantime, happy motoring from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"poor"
4.4 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I purchased a Land Rover Free Lander form this dealership in May, I sent a colleague to collect the car and all because the car wouldn't fit on the trailer they way they treated him was disgusting. They also accused him burning out the clutch. The one salesman I worked with in the beginning was great but the others were terrible. I would not recommend this dealer at all. They also didn't tell me that I only had 24 hours to active my 1 years warranty so I lost out on that.

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Staff from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to poor

Hello there, Thank you so much for sharing your driver's experience with us. We are grateful you have taken the time to leave a review on their behalf. For the benefit of our readers, having looked into this, our team have confirmed that the driver you booked to collect your vehicle and deliver it to your address nearly drove your vehicle off of the side of the trailer he was trying to load it onto, furthermore the Land Rover Freelander 2 HSE you purchased was too wide to fit between the channels of the trailer, resulting in the tyres being caught, your driver rather carelessly continued with the uphill loading whilst the clutch was clearly burning (you could smell it!). So, to summarise, the driver you paid for and sent to collect your vehicle was completely inexperienced in loading your vehicle onto a trailer you hired and so they were asked to do it somewhere away from our premises as we did not want to be responsible for such careless actions. Actually focusing on the vehicle you purchased from us, we trust you are satisfied with it as per your review rating, and wish you the happiest of motoring, from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Free Car Valuation
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Free Car Valuation

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

Horsepower Motor Centre is an Independent dealership that is based in Tonbridge. If you’re the owner or employee of this business, please send us a little bit of information about your dealership and why customers should come and visit.

Alternatively, if you’re a customer and you’ve had an experience at this dealership, please leave a review below.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
16 reviews4.3 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
12
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Horsepower Motor Centre
Sovereign Way
Tonbridge
Kent
TN9 1RH

Get in touch

http://www.horsepower-motor-centre.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

81%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
87%
Thought the dealer was knowledgeable and helpful
87%
Thought issues were resolved quickly and easily
62%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Horsepower Motor Centre

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information