63% Reviews
replied to
78% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


19 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Horsepower Motor Centre

Click on the stars to start your review

19 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Horsepower Motor Centre
Click on the stars to start your review
"very helpful"
4.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

When we went to see a car at Horsepower Motor Centre that we left deposit on,it would not start, we was two hours early so we went for breakfast and went back and test drove the car.It was fine no problems. when we went back to talk over the deal the wife changed her mind and didnt like black. mmmm oh dear. no problem Peter said he had a white one lower spec and cheaper, we never viewed this car as it would be same as black one. we signed the deal and went home thinking we would collect it a week later, on the way out wife saw some stone chips on bonnet and towbar. I was not happy with the towbar and stone chips so we mulled it over the weekend and decided to cancel it.Peter was going to get it all done and ready AA inspection , new MOT etc. I phoned peter up and asked him to cancel it, i really thought there woud be a problem but he was so understanding about agreed to cancel it and return my deposit with no argument., although i have breathing problem and it decided to chuck it down on the day we went didnt help matters. i don't think i would hesitate in buying a car in the future from them if they had the model i wanted. we have decided to put off the purchase untill next spring so you never know.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful
"Deal with caution"
2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Dealt with him who seemed like a very reasonable sales person( be warned) I was told dashboard storage lid could not be fixed due to being very expensive and instead would be glued shut. At the time I thought no problem when I went to pick the car up I was hurriedly given the keys and he dashed off, I noticed the poor job on the storage box bits of glue around the box and instead inside it had been held down with some sort of rubber tar which pops open every so often biggest kicker the replacement lid only costs £40 I would have gladly paid but they couldn't be bothered to fix it.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

Alex from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Deal with caution

Hello Asjad, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience when buying a car from Horsepower Motor Centre. We are truly sorry to hear you have had a bad experience. We take all feedback very seriously, good or bad, and so having looked into this for you I can confirm the following:- When you purchased your vehicle from us a special note was added to your order form referring to a dash pocket lid not closing and for this to be fixed if possible. At the time, your Salesperson (having sold many of these vehicles before, knew that a new replacement part direct from Ford was over £200 – that’s 10% of the value of the vehicle you bought. As a result, it was an uneconomical request and so pre-empting this you were pre-warned that it might not be replaced but instead glued shut to keep the lid down. You were happy with this at the time and signed the order form which stated this. In the week between you paying your deposit and then collecting the vehicle, our Workshop Department as promised contacted our local Ford main-agent, and as previously thought, a brand new dash pocket lid would indeed cost over £200. Having already told you that it was likely that it would not be replaced and that you were happy for us to glue it shut, to later find that you are now unsatisfied comes as a genuine surprise you are disappointed it was glued shut and contrary to your thoughts we did ‘bother’ and delivered a vehicle as per the agreement which you signed. Nevertheless, we are genuinely delighted you have managed to locate a replacement lid for only £40 – that is great news. Further to that, as a token gesture we would like to reimburse you the cost of this. All you need to do is contact your original salesperson to confirm how you would like this paid to you. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we hope that you will come to us again whenever you next need a car. Happy motoring from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Regular customer"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

This is my 7th car from horse power and I have always been very pleased with the deal's I have received and as a regular customer they have given me good part exchange on my purchase and after sales are second to none on couple of occasions when problem has occured it has been sorted no quibble at their expense thank you team I will be back Colin J

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Regular customer

Hello Colin, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent purchase of a car from Horsepower Motor Centre. We really appreciate it and it's great to hear you are very happy and a returning customer that has bought many times before. We rely on repeat custom and knowing people are coming back for their second, third, fourth cars etc is fabulous to hear. Please remember to come back to us to take full advantage of your Free MOT 4 Life also! Until then, happy motoring from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Honda Jazz"
1.8 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I was interested in buying a Blue Honda Jazz RE12MLF from Horsepower. The car was over priced at £8355 and still is at their present price of £8215. For anyone who’s interested I had a full report and valuation done (available to anyone who wants it) where it’s value is £7850 on the forecourt. The car has outstanding finance and registration issues plus there is no service book or history to back up the low mileage where I had been told that there was during a telephone conversation with their salesman at the start. Originally I was interested in a part exchange, however as all Horsepower would offer was less than half the trade in value so I declined the part exchange in favour of a straight purchase. When I pointed out that the car was over priced their salesman was greedy wanting the full £8355! I offered £8000 which was an excellent offer, I would have gone to £8100 as my wife and I liked the car however he wasn’t interested and lost the sale. It’s interesting that now the price has dropped by £140; if Horsepower were smart they could have sold it to me and still could if smart, sadly greed has got the better of them. It’s annoying when I went there especially to see the car twice, second time with my wife and it’s not exactly on the door step to get there from Sutton to Tonbridge. This is not a dealer to do an over the phone purchase either.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Honda Jazz

Hello Gordon, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and share your feedback with us. Good or bad, we value all feedback, and so firstly please accept our apologies that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations. We price-check all of our cars using AutoTrader and CarGurus to ensure the customer receives a fair and transparent cost-to-change. At present, the price of the Honda Jazz is now £8,255, and according to both AutoTrader and CarGurus this is a ‘Great Price’, meaning this car currently represents great value-for-money according to the UK's two largest used car classified listing websites. They use the vehicles year, mileage, make, model, colour and derivative and then compare this information on a like-for-like basis across the UK and come to a median average retail price. I hope this clarifies the process of pricing of the vehicle. In relation to your comments regarding this specific transaction and experience, I can see that you did commit to buy the car initially and paid a £500 deposit. Four days after paying a deposit you visited our dealership and attempted to renegotiate the terms of the sale. We respectfully declined and subsequently cancelled your order and a full deposit refund was issued. Looking at the precise figures of this specific vehicle, and we are happy to share this publicly, the purchase price of the vehicle was £7,580. Once you factor in the costs of preparing the vehicle for collection, including an MOT Test, a service, the 128-point AA Inspection, not to mention the general costs associated with running a business of our size, you will quickly come to the conclusion that Peter was not misinforming you when he said he did not have room to negotiate. Although you say you would never purchase from us, we hope that in the fullness of time you will consider all of the above and revisit your conclusion as all that ultimately stood in between you buying a lovely car and us having our next happy customer was the sale price, which on its own should not stop us from doing business in the future. I am aware Peter has personally contacted you by telephone earlier today to explain all of the above and until such time that you wish to get back in touch with us, we wish you all the very best and hope to hear back from you! From all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Viewing a car"
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Booked previous day to see a car at the Horsepower Motor Centre, On phone told car lovely, hand on heart. Suggested I could buy it on line without making the long journey, given AA Warranty etc. but decided to view it, who wouldn't? So I drove the 160 mile round trip to see it, Car, a Disco 2, was crammed in a corner, dusty, bird poo etc. The rear door wouldn't open, the fuel cap cover was broken, the sunroof had leaked causing water ingress, mildew and damp throughout the car, on the seatbelts, the carpets, the headlining. The leather seats has worn and with some tears. Totally shocked to have travelled to see a car in this state, which had been advertised, so hardly surprising to them someone might turn up to view. Response was it needed a valet, frankly it needed a lot more than that, including a massive price reduction. Oh, and some customer respect.

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Viewing a car

Hello Lucy, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent experience when viewing a vehicle here at Horsepower Motor Centre. We are genuinely sorry to learn that on this occasion the vehicle did not live up to your expectations. Please rest assured that this is not what we hope for when a prospective customer arrives on-site for a viewing. We would like more details about this particular visit if that is at all possible so that we can do all that is possible to ensure it doesn't happen again. Please call us and speak to After Sales on 01732 357182 when you get a spare minute. Please once again accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to hear back from you. All the best, from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Accommodating & Friendly"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Recently spent a few days on holiday in area. Couldn't make return journey home to Norfolk as our car needed attention. Thanks to Horsepower's prompt attention (same day) we were able to travel home. Replaced water pump and fitted new belt. Staff at Horsepower Motor Centre were accommodating and friendly. A big thank you!

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Accommodating & Friendly

Hello Mrs. C, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit to Horsepower Motor Centre. We are very pleased to hear that your experience was positive and merited a 5 Star review. We have passed your feedback onto all of our Workshop Team who are very pleased too! Thanks again and best regards, from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Great Service - Would highly recommend"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I recently purchased a car from Horsepower Motor Centre and would definitely recommend. Great service from all the guys there. Lovely car as advertised on the website and they offered a fair price for my car as part exchange. I actually put a deposit down without seeing the car in person so I was placing a lot of trust in what was being said over the phone. I'm really pleased I did. All paperwork sorted out without any stress. No hard sell to purchase additional warranty etc. It was a real please doing business with them and I would not hesitate in recommending to others. p.s. Peter was a lot better looking in person. Sorry Peter I did warn you that I would do this when you jokingly asked me to :)

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Great Service - Would highly recommend

Hello Debbie, Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience when buying a car from Horsepower Motor Centre. We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with the experience and have given us 5 Stars. Please remember to come back to us to take full advantage of your Free MOT 4 Life! Until then, all the very best from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Very pleasant"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Very pleasant experience, would recommend Horsepower Motor Centre based on that.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Very pleasant

Hello Hugo K, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent experience when buying a car from Horsepower Motor Centre. We are very pleased you have rated your experience 5 Stars and your kind words have been fed back to all the team who are equally very happy. We wish you many happy miles in your new car and look forward to welcoming you back as and when you next need us. Best wishes from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Great Dealership in Tonbridge"
4.6 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

From my initial telephone call to buying the car I wanted was easy. Peter was extremely helpful and the purchase went through effiently. Josh sorted out the collection and followed up with missing manuals.. I would recommend Horsepower Motor Centre. No pressure to buy .

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Great Dealership in Tonbridge

Hello Geoff K, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent experience when buying a car at Horsepower Motor Centre. We are very pleased to learn you have had a great experience and that Peter in particular was excellent. We wish you all the very happiest of future motoring in your car and welcome you back whenever you next need us. All the best, from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

"Awesome!"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Really happy with everything from start to finish will definitely be back to the Horsepower Motor Centre when the time comes.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Alex K from Horsepower Motor Centre in response to Awesome!

Hello Guy B, Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, it means a lot to us! We are very pleased you found the process from start-to-finish all great and we welcome you back with open arms. All the best from all the team @ Horsepower :-)

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Free Car Valuation
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Free Car Valuation

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

Horsepower Motor Centre is an Independent dealership that is based in Tonbridge. If you’re the owner or employee of this business, please send us a little bit of information about your dealership and why customers should come and visit.

Alternatively, if you’re a customer and you’ve had an experience at this dealership, please leave a review below.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
19 reviews4.3 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
14
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
1

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Horsepower Motor Centre
Sovereign Way
Tonbridge
Kent
TN9 1RH

Get in touch

http://www.horsepower-motor-centre.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

78%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
84%
Thought the dealer was knowledgeable and helpful
88%
Thought issues were resolved quickly and easily
63%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Horsepower Motor Centre

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information