61% Reviews
replied to
65% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


55 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Canfield Garage
Leave a review

55 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Canfield Garage
Leave a review
"Paul M5"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Thank you Garry and Matt at Canfield Garage for the great service and the awesome m5 that I bought from you.

Garry from Canfield Garage in response to Paul M5

Thanks Paul hope you are enjoying the M5

"Simon"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Phoned this dealership twice on 23.6.15 to confirm open and car in stock, NO REPLY on both occasions. As we are 20 mins drive away, went anyway but were unable to test drive car due it not having a current MOT. Arranged with Matt to return 3 days later to test drive when MOT done so basically had made an appointment. Phoned Matt the day after we had first seen car to discuss a couple of details only to be told he had sold it to a buyer who did not test drive it and took it without an MOT just after we had visited. I told him what a terrible dealer I thought he was and he actually tried to justify his actions as REASONABLE. Why not just tell the alleged buyer that there was already an interested party and that the car would only be available if I declined it following the ARRANGED test drive. I should have read this review site prior to wasting my time as It probably gives an accurate feel of how Canfield Garage operates. They do not appear to have a clue about how to treat a genuine potential customer. My advice is to GO ELSEWHERE.

Unknown from Canfield Garage in response to Simon

Thank you for your review Simon and I am sorry you didn't like our garage however we feel it a little unfair that you have left such a review in the circumstances, from what we recall you arrived without an appointment to view a number of cars and liked an Audi A4 we had in stock you said you had no time to test drive the car and would return in 3 days time for a test drive we clearly asked for your contact details which you refused to give us we also asked if you wanted to leave a refundable deposit to secure the car which you also point blank refused you then left the garage. After you left a customer walked in later that day liked the car and purchased it with an MOT and took delivery the same day. The following morning you phoned and we told you it had sold you then became very abusive towards us and hung the phone up we immediately returned your call using BT 1471 and tried to explain that we had no obligation to hold the car for you on the off chance that you might return in 3 days time! We even offered you another lower mileage example for the same price. Im not not sure what we have done wrong in the situation or why you would want to damage our business online.

"Steve McDermott"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

The Jeep I purchased from Canfield Garage was supposed to come with a soft top. I was told that it would be forwarded, however it never arrived. I was then promised a cheque in settlement but I am also still awaiting this after several months.

Unknown from Canfield Garage in response to Steve McDermott

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on the car you purchased in May 2013, some 2 years after you took delivery. We do not feel it is justified as we have explained on numerous occasions your Jeep only comes with one roof, I am sorry but we cannot supply a spare roof.

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Brian"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Buying my Mercedes C180 was a really easy no fuss transaction. The quality of vehicles being sold is exceptional. I would highly recommend Canfield Garage to any one seeking their next quality motor. Gary is easy to deal with and has a very professional operation. I will be recommending your garage.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+0 Found this review helpful
"Dr"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Spoke to garage to organise time of arrival on a Sunday, drove the 110 miles - to find a few people queued all turned round and left becuause he wasn't there as promised. Thanks I love wasting my time and money!!!!

Unknown from Canfield Garage in response to Dr

I am really sorry you missed us, this was an extremely unfortunate incident. We were open 10am until 3pm Sunday, maybe you missed us when we were on a test drive or getting some fuel, I have no messages or contact from you that you were at the garage or were even coming to us. Maybe a phone call, text, email or even a note and we could have contacted you on our return. We would never knowingly waste any potential customers time who has come to visit our dealership.

"Jayne"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I am very pleased with the Lexus RX300 i purchased from Gary i got a very good deal and took the car on the same day and would recommend them to friends and family

Garry from Canfield Garage in response to Jayne

Hi Jayne Thanks for the review much appreciated

"Ann"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Excellent customer service It was a pleasure visiting your garage last week - you've got some amazing cars!

Garry from Canfield Garage in response to Ann

Hi Ann glad you liked us and the Honda

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Thruster763"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought a Dodge Journey Automatic KT08 GKA From Canfield (Listons Ltd). Went to pickup car and not all work promised was done and they lost the handbook since I paid deposit and only one key. Promised to sort it out so took car. A transmission fault became apparent on trip home. Canfield failed to keep appointments to repair, the alloy wheel refurbishment was a paint blow over not the stated powder coat, they had not registered the warranty, the key was faulty and drivers electric window won't go up on a cold day. Transmission issue is a known fault costing about £2000 to repair. Garry refused to refund my money. Thad to take court action which was successful despite Canfield delaying in every way possible. Got our money back plus costs and expenses. Avoid Canfield, They promise the world but once they have your money they don't want to know.

Get Car Finance

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

+2 Found this review helpful

Lynn in response to Thruster763

The fact that the reviewer's statement was 'verified' is the truer indicator of who should be embarrassed here. The verification process rigorously evaluates factual material. I'm more likely to trust the reviewer.

Garry from Canfield Garage in response to Thruster763

Dear Customer, I think we both know the true events however I will not humiliate you on the Internet and let you have your moment posting negative reviews on this website and others.

"Neil"
5 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Most friendly positive sales team I have ever met. Bought my car here and got an amazing deal and exceptional customer care. Couldn't recommend more, no job is too much hassle for these guys! Will certainly be coming back! Thanks Gary

Garry from Canfield Garage in response to Neil

Thanks Neil for the kind feedback

"ipswich"
1 out of 5 stars
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

i went down to see a BMW 3 SERIES 320 D ES 5 DOOR IN RED. all the way from ipswich,the ad was misleading it said the car had 135,00 miles it had 146,000 and the last time it was serviced was 2010,which the ad said full service history . very misleading and a complete waste of my time going to have a look. would suggest that before going down to see any car you make sure that it is all they say it is and get them to send by email deatails first signed saying that it is true first.very dissapointing,shame on you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Garry from Canfield Garage in response to ipswich

This review is not based on any factual evidence a brief glance through our website would be enough to show do not sell cars of this age and mileage

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

From a family runaround to a prestige car; Canfield Garage has them all in stock. Located in Great Dunmow, they have cars which include Audi, BMW and Land Rover amongst other big names in the car industry. They also offer part exchange and finance on site too if you need a little help making your purchase.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
55 reviews3.7 out of 5 stars — Rated Very Good
Excellent
36
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
4
Terrible
14

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Canfield Garage
High Cross Lane
Dunmow
Essex
CM6 1TQ

Get in touch

01371 872211
http://www.canfieldgarage.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

65%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
61%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Canfield Garage

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information

Working with Car Dealer Reviews

We offer UK dealerships an excellent opportunity to collect those all important reviews on your behalf for as little as £99 per month.

Learn more about how our service works below.

Find out more