53% Reviews
replied to
57% Recommend
to friend


Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an
official partner of Auto Trader


49 reviews from our car dealer reviews community
Leave a review for Phantom Motor Company

Click on the stars to start your review

49 reviews from our car dealer reviews community

Leave a review for Phantom Motor Company
Click on the stars to start your review
What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"DO NOT BUY FROM THIS GARAGE"
2.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

During the initial viewing of the car the sales man at Phantom Motor Company promised the below: • Inside door sills will be replaced due to heavy scratches • Locking wheel nut will be added as missing in the boot compartment • Car cover • Scratches on inner sills and bonnet • Service book will be updated as missing entries • Black logo lettering to be replaced with silver • Rear air vent to be fixed All were promised to be completed before drop off. When the bank details were requested for the payment the wrong details were given which meant nearly putting a large sum of money in the wrong bank account. When the vehicle was dropped off I immediately noticed the rear lettering was not even straight and the person dropping it off just pulled off with credit card and stuck back on The sills had not been replaced Scratch on bonnet not repaired Now there were chips in the window screen not before present. The second key thob did not work and no locking wheel nut. No sign of the car cover promised The sales man then called me to say there was no log book with the car because an issue with the private reg but a new one would be posted out in less than 4 weeks and also I was given a number to call to get the tax sorted without log book. After 4 weeks and calling the DVLA multiple times to which they kept telling me the company had not sent off the log book I had to again request myself and pay 25 pound and the company refunded. I received log book approx. 10 weeks after purchase. Upon complaining that there was no locking wheel nut in the boot as promised I was told to go to the nearest land rover garage and ask them for a spare. When they looked there was not even any locking nuts fitted. After a few days of driving the suspension fault light would come on, the wheels needed balancing and the passenger side window wiper did not work correctly. The oil level was showing it needed 1.5ltr adding even though a full service was supposed to have been carried out. The service book had not been updated and was still missing 3 service entries and an entry for only a check signed for instead of full service. The service manager just ticked the full service book when given to him and I asked how do I know its been done and he just said it has After calling the garage the response to the oil was that it must not have been topped up properly and to go and get some oil myself and fill it up and they will refund. The oil cost 18 pound exact but for some reason I was only refund 17.99 after sending copy of receipt. Phantom motors state that a 126 point check is done on every motor! I eventually was told to return the car for all other items to be carried out to which I was given a courtesy car After a few days and many ignored calls and messages I was told everything had been carried. When I collected the car the window screen was actually worse and now had a crack in it, the sills had not been replaced and the scratches on the bonnet not repair and also told there was no fault on the suspension. After driving the car again the suspension light came on and the wheels had not been balanced again. I was told to bring the car back again when the fault light was on. So at any point I would have to drive an hour with the fault light on! When I took the car no courtesy car was given and myself and wife dropped off at the retail park for 6 hours. On return Still the sills had not been done nor the crack on the window but they told me a suspension level sensor had been replaced. I was promised the sills would be sent out and was still waiting on car cover. 6 weeks after purchase still waiting on all these items. Still the suspension light came on and I was told to get the window replaced and claim on my insurance and they would refund the access not sure if this is a fraud issue but I did it anyway. The 5th time the car went back it was in the garage for 9 days to which they said they were waiting on a part and replaced the suspension arm. Then the sills were replaced and the window wiper replaced. When the car was dropped off again but this time the driver seat was covered in oil to which I called the garage and was told to just use a cloth and clean it, it took 45min to clean. Also, the locking nut was missing. The garage send they would send it over and when they eventually arrived it was the wrong one to which they wanted to take the car away again but I refused as I needed it. The car still has suspension problem. I arrange the garage to collect the car on a Tuesday as I was away for work for a few days and they agreed but on Monday after calling all day and no reply I then called off a different number and the service manager immediately answered but would not to my number! I was told they had no drivers and it would be the end of the week. Still they did not collect and said maybe the following Monday or Tuesday and said would only be able to give an hour notice before hand. My wife was sat in waiting for two days waiting with no updates. I have raised my issues and complaints to the director, Cole, and sent numerous messages and emails to which I have had no reply. I have no other option to get the car repaired myself putting me out of pocket and going down the small claims and trading standards route.

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

leon brydon in response to DO NOT BUY FROM THIS GARAGE

Update 19/9/2018 Finally got a reply from the director after i put this review up. He told me that he would try and repair my car but only if i take it to his garage, which is an hour drive, and would not give me a courtesy car or time frame for repair, Leaving me no way to get home or return to collect unless i paid for a taxi. I stated that the car had been 5 times already and that it was obvious they could not fix. When i purchased the car i was told by the salesman that the warranty covered being able to take to local garage. This is not true. The director is now refusing to refund any repair out of his garage. In a email he even called me 'Silly'. I now feel that my only option is to get the repair done and ask trading standards to investigate. This has turned buying my dream car into an absolute nightmare.

"No customer aftercare"
2.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Went to see a ford focus st for sale at Phantom Motor Company. Great car, absolutely fell in love with it. The sales person who i was talking to Mike was great, very friendly and very helpful. Front left headlight on the car was all scratched where someone scratched it on a wall or concrete post or something, i was told that this will be repaired before i collect the car, there was also a small funnell for the fuel tank missing but Mike promised me that he will get me a new one from Ford before i collect the car as well. When i came to collect the car the light was not done as apparently the guy who was supposed to do it was not in but i can come back in few days to have this done and there was no funnell for the fuel tank but i forgot to check. I kept on ringing mike every douple of days to have my light repaired but he kept on fobbing me off saying the guy is not in or that he needs to speak to the guy first and will ring me back, then he said its nothing to do with him and told me to ring someone else. Horrible experience, will never buy from them again and i hope no one else will. After you sign the papers for the car they dont care anymore about you.

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful
"Avoid!!!"
2.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Travelled over 5 hours and £75 fuel in total to an arranged appointment on Saturday to be told the car had just been sold! No contact previous to say needed deposit to hold it or any other correspondence to think anything other than the car would be there for us to view as we had every intention of buying it. If this is Phantom Motor Companys idea of customer service and communication I would stay well clear!

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+2 Found this review helpful

Lewis from Phantom Motor Company in response to Avoid!!!

Hi Steve, Thank you for your valued feedback. We are deeply sorry that the vehicle you came to see had already been sold. Unfortunately we can only work on a first come first serve basis due to the nature of our business and we are always accommodating when possible. We do not take exclusive appointments from customers unless a fully refundable holding deposit is left prior to visiting us and this service is offered to every customer. We are a very high turnover business selling in excess of 100 cars per month and this is the only way we can operate sales. If you can email us your details I will send you £100.00 to cover the costs of your travel so you aren't out of pocket. Hopefully we haven't damaged your view of our company as our reputation means a lot to us. I look forward to hearing from you. Kindest regards, Phantom Motor Company. Sales@phantommotorcompany.co.uk

What is a verified review?
Reviewer has successfully provided either proof of ID or proof of purchase
Learn More
"Terrible Service"
1.4 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Let me tell you about our experience with phantom Motor company, we were looking for a Range Rover Evoque saw that this dealer had one so went to have a look, car looked good, John took us out for a test drive all seemed ok, we agreed on this car still all seems fine...John said he would ring us next day with an update, he never rang so we rang him, we were constantly chasing him for a date to collect this car, as we have a private plate we decided to get things moving ourselves so got in touch with DVLA who asked for the Reg of this Evoque, they then asked what colour is this car, we were then told that this vehicle was not assigned to this car, they advised us not to pick the car up as it wasn't the correct plate to that car, we then put the reg into a car insurance quote and this came up as an error, the reg for this is't assigned to the vehicle, we tried on a number of occasions to get in touch with John to discuss this but he was always on another call? so i rang with a different name and yes finally got to speak to him, his answer was " i don't know why DVLA have told you this, but i will ring them and ring you back" again no call from John, So i rang him and emailed to tell him we were not going to pick up the car as we wouldn't be able to get insurance on a vehicle that wasn't registered to that plate, he said "just give me one more chance on this" i refused and demanded my deposit back, eventually after another phone call i got back my deposit, i see this car is back in the showroom for sale, good luck to who every fall for this like we did, Phantom motors have never rang or emailed me with any explanation as to why this problem happened. So i advise anyone buying from these to get the reg first and check it out!

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+3 Found this review helpful
"An awesome experience"
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Purchased a Golf R from Phantom Motor Company today. I have to say the service from JOHN was first class from start to finish. A true professional and credit to the business and a totally awesome car!

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

Lewis Mort from Phantom Motor Company in response to An awesome experience

Hi Dave, Thank you so much for your very kind review of our company. Your kind words do really mean a lot to the team, especially John. We are glad you are enjoying your new purchase and that your experience with us met your standards. If there is anything you need don't hesitate to call us. Enjoy the new car. Kindest regards Phantom Motor Company.

"Great buying experience"
4.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Impressive cars and professional service with friendly people ! Kelly was very good and helpful !

Respond to this review

+0 Found this review helpful

Lewis Mort from Phantom Motor Company in response to Great buying experience

Hi Russell, Thank you for your review of our company. We are happy to hear that you found our service professional as this something which we strive for at our company. If there is anything you need don't hesitate to call us. Many thanks Phantom Motor Company.

"Fantastic Service "
5 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

I have just completed the purchase of my 3rd vehicle from Chris @ Phantom Motors, I have also previously sold them 2 cars. I have to say everytime I have been treated professionally, swiftly and haven't had any problems with the cars. I would use again & recommend. Josh

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+1 Found this review helpful

Lewis Mort from Phantom Motor Company in response to Fantastic Service

Hi Josh, Thank you for your review of our company, We are glad to hear from you again. Your reviews mean a lot to the team as it shows are hard work is paying off. Enjoy your new car and we look forward to seeing you for your next purchase. If theres anything you need don't hesitate to call. Kindest regards Phantom Motor Company.

"Bad service "
1.2 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

It’s been 6 months now. And Phantom Motor Company haven’t paid towards all the problems with the Range Rover Vogue that I had from them I paid cash for the car and once I drove away that was it from there veiwing. Do not make the same Mistake I made go somewhere else also I have called trading standards for this and they r looking into it spend your money on a good car from a better garage.

Respond to this review

+5 Found this review helpful

Lewis Mort from Phantom Motor Company in response to Bad service

Hi Garretth, Thank you for your review of our company. We have checked our online system and we don't appear to have you on our system. Please can you contact us at your earliest and we will endeavour to rectify any issues you have with your car. We cannot understand why you have not been dealt with in 6 months if you have contacted us with any issues. We always look after our customers to the best we possibly can. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Lewis Mort After sales support.

"Really let down"
1 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

Bought Range Rover last month from Phantom Motor Company got told it had certain amount miles on clock ! Was 14000 over stated! On advertising! Problems started surspention broke ! Air con broke CD player broke ! Off road unable to drive it!! It’s gone in for repairs! Nearly a wk now! So no car! Taxis everywhere! Will definitely look in to we’re I buy a car next time!! I decided to buy car....

Respond to this review

+3 Found this review helpful

Lewis Mort from Phantom Motor Company in response to Really let down

Hi Kieth, Thank you for your review of our company. My name is Lewis I am the after sales support at Phantom Motor Company and if possible I would like to know more about the problems you have had with your new vehicle and if possible try to rectify them for you. We take customer services very seriously and our director is very keen to try to resolve your issues. We have checked our system and cannot ascertain your details to contact you directly. Please can you call me on 01942 50 22 88 or emails me at sales@phantommotorcompany.co.uk. We look forward to hearing from you. Kindest Regards Lewis Mort After sales support Phantom Motor Company.

"Shocking!!!! "
1.4 out of 5 stars See
Dealer's knowledgeable
Vehicle cleanliness
Value for money
Resolving issues

They advertise themselves As ‘5 star customer service’... experience .... shocking !!!! complete lack of customer engagement - once deposit paid... constantly chasing for confirmation of collection date ..... sale cancelled after 10days of chasing.... would advise caution prior to completing purchase !!!

Reviewer has confirmed their email address

Respond to this review

+3 Found this review helpful

Lewis Mort from Phantom Motor Company in response to Shocking!!!!

Hi Simon, Thank you for your review of our company. Please can you provide us with more information in relation to your purchase we don't appear to have you on our system. Hopefully we can get this issue resolved immediately. We look forward to hearing from you. Kindest regards Lewis Mort After sales support Phantom Motor Company.

Auto Trader

Car Dealer Reviews is an official partner of Auto Trader

Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Free Car Valuation
Get Car Finance

Zuto Powered
Free Car Valuation

Find cars for sale in your local area

Dealership Information

Phantom Motor Company are a used car dealership based in Wigan, Lancashire. Specialising in sports and prestige models, they stock such makes as Bentley, Jaguar, Lamborghini and more. All vehicles are Experian checked and any car for sale can be reserved and nationwide delivery is available. Part exchanges are accepted at up to the minute market prices and finance options can be arranged. The showroom is open 7 days a week and viewing appointments can be arranged.

Deals in: Cars
Manufacturers: Sells a variety of makes and models
Independent Dealership

Services available
Car Hire
Car Leasing
Car Repairs
Car Sourcing
Finance
GAP Insurance
Motorbike Sales
New Car Sales
Part Exchange
Sell Your Car
Servicing
Used Car Sales
Van Sales
Warranty
Ratings
49 reviews3.5 out of 5 stars — Rated Average
Excellent
27
Very Good
1
Average
7
Poor
8
Terrible
6

Add Review


Contact Information

Address

Phantom Motor Company
Hindley Industrial Estate Coupland Road
Hindley Green
Wigan
Lancashire
WN2 4GS

Get in touch

01942 502288
http://www.phantommotorcompany.co.uk

Opening times

Sorry, we don't have opening times for this dealership

If you're the business owner, you can update this page by getting in touch with us at info@cardealerreviews.co.uk

Dealership Statistics

57%
Would recommend this dealer to family and friends
65%
Thought the dealer was knowledgeable and helpful
53%
Thought issues were resolved quickly and easily
53%
Percent of reviews responded to by this dealer

Additional Information About Phantom Motor Company

Company Formed: XXXXXXXXXX
Company Registration: XXXXXXXXXX
Dealer Group: XXXXXXXXXX
Directors: XXXXXXXXXX
FCA Ref: XXXXXXXXXX
FCAStatus: XXXXXXXXXX
Premises Type: XXXXXXXXXX
Registered Name: XXXXXXXXXX
VAT Number: XXXXXXXXXX


Are we missing anything?
You can help complete this section by emailing us any additional details.

Submit new information